1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Check Engine Light after CAI install

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by lembowski, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. Feb 13, 2010 at 12:45 PM
    #1
    lembowski

    lembowski [OP] Rompin Around

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Member:
    #20347
    Messages:
    6,996
    Gender:
    Male
    Rolando
    Vehicle:
    09 LT, Caged, 4WD
    Anyone who has installed the CAI did you throw a CEL afterwards?

    I installed a CAI on my previous car and the CEL light eventually went away, but I wanna check as I don't want to unplug the battery and reset all my settings on my navigation.

    Any ideas guys?
     
  2. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:13 PM
    #2
    YumaTRD

    YumaTRD Chewie is my Co-pilot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Member:
    #21219
    Messages:
    2,937
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    El Cajon, CA hometown Yuma, AZ
    Vehicle:
    SAS Yota
    SAS, Flat bed, 22R, BFG Muds,
    I'm having a CEL problem right now with my CAI.
    But it didn't appear till six months after install.
    It's a MAF sensor problem
     
  3. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:17 PM
    #3
    05PreRunner

    05PreRunner "Living life in the FAST lane..."

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2675
    Messages:
    4,968
    Gender:
    Male
    <-(714)-> SO-CAL
    TRD intake, JBA "shorty" headers, URD y-pipe
    Find someone local w/ a Scangauge and have them clear the code

    You can use mine...but im all the way in Buena Park....
    ^^Long drive
     
  4. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:24 PM
    #4
    JAG

    JAG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9847
    Messages:
    1,771
    You can clear codes with a scanguage?!?!?
     
  5. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:25 PM
    #5
    05PreRunner

    05PreRunner "Living life in the FAST lane..."

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2675
    Messages:
    4,968
    Gender:
    Male
    <-(714)-> SO-CAL
    TRD intake, JBA "shorty" headers, URD y-pipe
    Yup:cool:
     
  6. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:28 PM
    #6
    JAG

    JAG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9847
    Messages:
    1,771
    Dang son!! Thats awesome... does it tell you what the code means too or does it give you a number and then you go look it up online?
     
  7. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:31 PM
    #7
    05PreRunner

    05PreRunner "Living life in the FAST lane..."

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Member:
    #2675
    Messages:
    4,968
    Gender:
    Male
    <-(714)-> SO-CAL
    TRD intake, JBA "shorty" headers, URD y-pipe
    It just gives you the code...
    you have to check online what the code means.
    Still pretty cool though
     
  8. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:46 PM
    #8
    lembowski

    lembowski [OP] Rompin Around

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Member:
    #20347
    Messages:
    6,996
    Gender:
    Male
    Rolando
    Vehicle:
    09 LT, Caged, 4WD
    The code is P0101. Any ideas?
     
  9. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:46 PM
    #9
    Dane-Taco

    Dane-Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Member:
    #24403
    Messages:
    120
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justus
    Wasilla, AK
    Vehicle:
    '10 Doublecab 4x4 TRD Off-Road
    Bilstein 5100s set at 0, OME 886 coils, Camburg Ball-Joint UCAs, 295/70/17 Nitto Trail Grapplers on 17x9 Moto Metal 957s, 2" Tuff Country AALs, SX8000 Gas Shocks (Rear), Homemade Satoshi Grill, Redline Hood Struts, Locker Anytime Mod, Map Light Mod, Diff Breather Mod, Fog Lights Anytime Mod, Extra Bed D-Rings, Sock's Badges and Decals, PIAA 520's, Illuminated 4x4 Switch Mod
    Depends on the guage, many will tell you the problem as well.
     
  10. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:47 PM
    #10
    skulltacoma

    skulltacoma Make more better!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Member:
    #29555
    Messages:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    BEN
    Calgary, AB, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2009 toyota tacoma trd modified
    CAI, dynomax turbo exhaust system,tinted windows medium on the fronts to match the backs, hid kit hi and low beam, pop and lock tailgate, painted calipers red with caliper paint, put 2.25' leveling kit in front and a 1" block in the rear. its now level and rides WAY better (readylift)>way nicer than the revtek my buddy has i think its garbage imo<, hurst "T" shifter, 18 x 10 american racing (can't remember the name) chrome rims with badass 5 inch lip :), 12 inch rockford fosgate punch with rockford fosgate 600 watt amp, bushwacker fender flares (cheaper than replacing the one i wrecked lol) ,kc light bar with kc lights, toyota aluminum stamped skid plate, and a skull front license plate. More mods to come, thinking a 6 inch lift and arb bumper etc etc.
    i put an airaid cai on my 09 taco and no problems still after 60 K + and an exhaust somewhere along the line aswell.
     
  11. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:56 PM
    #11
    JAG

    JAG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Member:
    #9847
    Messages:
    1,771

    Just did a search....

    taken from other article....


    "I just got my second P0101 code since owning my truck. The first time was apparently due to a dirty K&N filter after driving through a very dusty area. Cleaned the filter and the code went away. That was about a year or so ago. Since then, I've also switched the K&N filter on my CAI for an AEM Dryflow that uses no filter oil.

    Today, I got the P0101 code again. I suspect it may again be due to a dirty air filter. I drive by the beach every day and also work by the beach. The truck gets dirty very quickly every week, so odds are the filter is due to be washed."
     
  12. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:57 PM
    #12
    MurphMan

    MurphMan Senility Rocks!

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Member:
    #5413
    Messages:
    679
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Murph
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    '08 Tacoma TRD Sport
    * AFE Stage 2 XP CAI System * Westin Platinum Series Black Step Bars * TruXedo Lo Pro QT Soft Roll-Up Tonneau * Dee Zee Heavyweight Truck Bed Mat * WeatherTech Extreme-Duty Floor Liners * EGR In-Channel Window Visors * Sony Xplod CDX-GT81UW Receiver * Sony Xplod 2-way speakers * Boss Audio BASS600 Amplified Subwoofer * HID Conversion Kit - 6000K BiXenons
  13. Feb 13, 2010 at 1:59 PM
    #13
    lembowski

    lembowski [OP] Rompin Around

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Member:
    #20347
    Messages:
    6,996
    Gender:
    Male
    Rolando
    Vehicle:
    09 LT, Caged, 4WD
    P0101 OBD-II Trouble Code

    Technical Description

    Mass Air Flow (MAF) Circuit Range/Performance Problem

    What does that mean?

    Basically this means that there is a problem with the Mass Air Flow (MAF) sensor or circuit. The PCM detects that the actual MAF sensor frequency signal is not within a predetermined range of the calculated MAF value for more than 4.0 seconds. Other MAF sensor circuit DTC trouble codes are P0100, P0102, P0103, and P0104.


    OBD-Codes.com on Facebook
    Symptoms

    You will likely not notice any serious drivability problems, although there may be symptoms.

    Possible Solutions

    The simplest thing to do is to reset the code and see if it comes back. Then start with the cheapest, easiest repair procedures:

    Inspect for the following conditions:
    An incorrectly routed harness--Inspect the harness of the MAF sensor in order to verify that it is not routed too close to the following components:
    - The secondary ignition wires or coils
    - Any solenoids
    - Any relays
    - Any motors
    A low minimum air rate through the sensor bore may cause this DTC to set at idle or during deceleration. Inspect for any vacuum leaks downstream of the MAF sensor.
    A wide open throttle (WOT) acceleration from a stop should cause the MAF sensor g/s display on the scan tool to increase rapidly. This increase should be from 6-12 g/s at idle to 230 g/s or more at the time of the 1-2 shift. If the increase is not observed, inspect for a restriction in the induction system or the exhaust system.
    The barometric pressure (BARO) that is used in order to calculate the predicted MAF value is initially based on the MAP sensor at key ON.
    When the engine is running the MAP sensor value is continually updated near WOT. A skewed MAP sensor will cause the calculated MAF value to be inaccurate. The value shown for the MAP sensor display varies with the altitude. With the ignition ON and the engine OFF, 103 kPa is the approximate value near sea level. This value will decrease by approximately 3 kPa for every 305 meters (1,000 feet) of altitude.
    A high resistance on the ground circuit of the MAP sensor can cause this DTC to set.
    Any loss of vacuum to the MAP sensor can cause this DTC to set.
     
  14. Feb 13, 2010 at 2:00 PM
    #14
    YumaTRD

    YumaTRD Chewie is my Co-pilot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Member:
    #21219
    Messages:
    2,937
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    El Cajon, CA hometown Yuma, AZ
    Vehicle:
    SAS Yota
    SAS, Flat bed, 22R, BFG Muds,
    I have that P0101 code too. So far I haven't found a solution
     
  15. Feb 13, 2010 at 2:02 PM
    #15
    lembowski

    lembowski [OP] Rompin Around

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Member:
    #20347
    Messages:
    6,996
    Gender:
    Male
    Rolando
    Vehicle:
    09 LT, Caged, 4WD
    I had them clear the code, I will see if it comes back.

    Hopefully it wont.
     
  16. Feb 13, 2010 at 2:18 PM
    #16
    YumaTRD

    YumaTRD Chewie is my Co-pilot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Member:
    #21219
    Messages:
    2,937
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    El Cajon, CA hometown Yuma, AZ
    Vehicle:
    SAS Yota
    SAS, Flat bed, 22R, BFG Muds,
    Let's say the MAF sensor is bad.
    How much would a new one cost or would the URD calibrator fix it?
     
  17. Feb 13, 2010 at 2:20 PM
    #17
    GT_Taco

    GT_Taco Newbie here

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Member:
    #12982
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    Marietta, GA
    Vehicle:
    11 4x4 LB Sport
    factory step tubes, scangauge ii, redline EZ Lift, redline EZ Down, LED Dome light + LED Map Lights, Plasmaglow Firestorm LED bar, HID Projector Headlights + HID Foglights 6000K, 'always on' foglight mod, maglite addition, glovebox gun vault, ValentineOne BlendMount, Westin Sportsman Brushguard/Push Bar, 'angry' eyelids, DTRL switchback LED mod, replaced almost all exterior lights with LED.
    If the sensor is indeed faulty, recalibrating the response to it wouldn't do you much good. You'd have to replace the sensor or the related circuit. No idea what that would run ya though..
     
  18. Feb 13, 2010 at 2:26 PM
    #18
    lembowski

    lembowski [OP] Rompin Around

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Member:
    #20347
    Messages:
    6,996
    Gender:
    Male
    Rolando
    Vehicle:
    09 LT, Caged, 4WD
    I'm curious what would make it go bad? I have 5k on my truck and I was very careful when installing the intake this morning.
     
  19. Feb 13, 2010 at 5:02 PM
    #19
    tussery

    tussery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Member:
    #13216
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Corpus Christi, Tx
    Vehicle:
    09 PreRunner SR5
    Magnaflow muffler, TRD CAI.
    Try cleaning the MAF sensor with rubbing alcohol before you replace it. It may have gotten filter oil on it which will cause it to throw a code.
     
  20. Feb 13, 2010 at 6:59 PM
    #20
    lembowski

    lembowski [OP] Rompin Around

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Member:
    #20347
    Messages:
    6,996
    Gender:
    Male
    Rolando
    Vehicle:
    09 LT, Caged, 4WD
    Well after having the CEL cleared I drove 125 miles and the CEL hasn't came back. So hopefully thats it.
     
To Top