1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

check engine

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by 01BAMF, May 2, 2007.

  1. 01BAMF

    01BAMF [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Member:
    #1391
    Messages:
    4
    Put in a new Afe cool air intake. Since I installed it my check engine light has been on. Why? I did everything right and followed installation guidelines to a tee. Any advise?
     
  2. 2003greenbean

    2003greenbean Carolina Alliance Costal Div

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Member:
    #672
    Messages:
    913
    socaste,sc
    Vehicle:
    03 trd
    cold air intake, step bars, custom grill, 3in lift,12 in audiobahn sub, 285/75/16 procomp tires, 20% tint,
    what year tacoma
     
  3. 01BAMF

    01BAMF [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Member:
    #1391
    Messages:
    4
    Its an 07 tacoma dbl cab 4x4 just wondered if anyone had any ideas before I take it to the dealership?
     
  4. 2003greenbean

    2003greenbean Carolina Alliance Costal Div

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Member:
    #672
    Messages:
    913
    socaste,sc
    Vehicle:
    03 trd
    cold air intake, step bars, custom grill, 3in lift,12 in audiobahn sub, 285/75/16 procomp tires, 20% tint,
    the dealership might have a prob with the intake did it void your warr
     
  5. SPOWERS07

    SPOWERS07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Member:
    #816
    Messages:
    104
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    base 4wd lifted 33's
    make sure your maf (mass air flow) sensor is connected and if air is leaking around the intake gaskets, if your engine is taking in more air than your maf sensor is saying it is then that would set off your check engine light
     
  6. Steve762us

    Steve762us Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1144
    Messages:
    65
    If he left the MAF unplugged, that alone should throw a CEL.
     
  7. SPOWERS07

    SPOWERS07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Member:
    #816
    Messages:
    104
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    base 4wd lifted 33's
    sometimes not right away it may take a little while
     
  8. Steve762us

    Steve762us Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1144
    Messages:
    65
    A little while, like 5 seconds :p

    Bamf, you can take it to Autozone/Discount and have the codes read for free. Otherwise, the usual warnings apply: double check the instructions and your installation.
     
  9. SPOWERS07

    SPOWERS07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Member:
    #816
    Messages:
    104
    Gender:
    Male
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    base 4wd lifted 33's
    no i forgot to plug in a customers maf sensor and the light dident come on till a week later
     
  10. TRDeity

    TRDeity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Member:
    #774
    Messages:
    465
    ATX
    Vehicle:
    '07~TRD Offroad~Idigo Ink~Access Cab~4.0~6speed
    I wouldn't bother with that, they use really cheap readers and they rarely come up with the correct diagnosis. They usually say it's an O2 sensor or you have a leak in your exhaust.
     
  11. twoarezee

    twoarezee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #20
    Messages:
    277
    esco, ca
    Vehicle:
    00 Dropped Mini
    rims,tires,3"/6" drop, 4x4 front end, 01 tails and corners, prerunner buckets,tenzo r steering wheel w/ momo hub, b&m shifterw/ jdm trd knob, alpine system, tint, 3 3/4" autometer tach, jardine cat back, k&n, debaged, hellwig rear sway bar, kyb monomax shocks, tundra v8 oil filter w/ mobil 1 in ever
    whenever i use the ones at autozone they give me the correct codes for my probs. i dont see how they can tell you the wrong codes because it just reads the codes the are stored in the ecu.
     
  12. TRDeity

    TRDeity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Member:
    #774
    Messages:
    465
    ATX
    Vehicle:
    '07~TRD Offroad~Idigo Ink~Access Cab~4.0~6speed
    I've gone to them three times and each time they have been wrong. Twice they told me it was an O2 sensor that was bad and it turned out to be something with my mass air and then with idle air bypass. The third time they told me it was an exhaust leak which was close but wrong, my evac. canister had been knocked off somehow. I talked to friend of mine who owns a shop and he said something about the read only generic codes or something like that, and in order to get an accurate read you need one of the instruments a shop would have.
     
  13. Steve762us

    Steve762us Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1144
    Messages:
    65
    Just get the codes, and look em up yourself ;-)
     
  14. TRDeity

    TRDeity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Member:
    #774
    Messages:
    465
    ATX
    Vehicle:
    '07~TRD Offroad~Idigo Ink~Access Cab~4.0~6speed
    It's the code readers that are flawed not the people reading them. In order to get an accurate diagnosis you need more than just codes off the ECU usually.
     
  15. Steve762us

    Steve762us Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1144
    Messages:
    65
    You're kinda-sorta there. The codes are generated by the ECU and read by the reader, period. Their usually not pinpoint-specific, and that sounds like your experiences---the code interpretations given by the Autozone guys (or whoever) are probably "best guesses", and that's to be expected---those guys read codes off all different types of vehicles. You'll generally get a more accurate "guess" from a community of folks who all deal with the same vehicles...like here in a forum. If you get a bunch of folks together, you can develop a sort of institutional knowledge that "P1059 is your fuel cap is loose" (which I'm making up, just for an example), which will usually be the right "guess" for that vehicle.

    I'm still new to Toyotas, and haven't found this in a forum yet...but I'm sure it's here somewhere...with as many Toyotas are sold!!

    I suspect this is what your friend was describing as well. All manufacturers use a basic set of "generic" OBD standard codes, but are allowed to expand on the basic set with their own proprietary codes. In that "generic' code set, the same code means the same thing for each auto maker. Once you move into the proprietary codes, the same code could be used by Ford, GM, Toyota, and Subaru, and will likely mean something different in each maker's usage. In the proprietary code range, your likely to get a "best guess" from the parts shop guys...which will probably be "oxygen sensor", most of the time.
     
  16. TRDeity

    TRDeity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Member:
    #774
    Messages:
    465
    ATX
    Vehicle:
    '07~TRD Offroad~Idigo Ink~Access Cab~4.0~6speed
    Yes, that's kind of what I was trying to say, and thank you for the well written explanation. But my point was that the instrument a mechanic uses does not only read the codes off the ECU. It will check timing, amps and current, ignition, fuel rates, temperatures, ect... this is how you get an accurate diagnosis.
     
  17. lane338

    lane338 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Member:
    #1902
    Messages:
    2
    I have taken my to dealership and they have reset the check engine light three times and even replaced the maf but it the light came back on within ten miles of driving. They do not know how to fix it.
     
  18. Spyder327

    Spyder327 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1677
    Messages:
    204
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 X-Runner
    Aquamist 2D meth/water injection kit, URD Exhaust, DT Long Tube Headers, Hood Struts, and lots of other miscellaneous stuff...
  19. numchild

    numchild Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Member:
    #1706
    Messages:
    9
    sometimes on the intakes when installed they are over coated with oil, your maf will become coated in oil (happened on my 02) toyota will clean it for $220 or you can take it off and clean the tiny little sensor carefully for about 1/10 of a penny of tissue.... be careful, it is delicate. anybody know of any high heat o2 sensors available for an 06? i installed headers and they do not dissapate heat good enough, the check engine light always pops on!
     
  20. Spyder327

    Spyder327 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1677
    Messages:
    204
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2005 X-Runner
    Aquamist 2D meth/water injection kit, URD Exhaust, DT Long Tube Headers, Hood Struts, and lots of other miscellaneous stuff...
    CEL comes on with what code? what headers do you have?
     
To Top