1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Clearing fault codes: dealer vs others

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Mog, Jul 31, 2017.

  1. Jul 31, 2017 at 8:50 AM
    #1
    Mog

    Mog [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Member:
    #39401
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    05 DC TRD Sport 4x4 Silver
    Is the dealer able to clear fault codes in a way that is different than what AutoZone/local mechanic shops can do? I am specifically interested in clearing an airbag light that I have on my dash. I installed a head unit and turned the ignition on to see if it worked prior to plugging in all the other components, and I am thinking this may be the cause of my crazy electrical issues.

    Dealer wants $130 to clear these codes from the computer, I'm willing to give this a shot if it has a chance of working!
     
  2. Jul 31, 2017 at 8:53 AM
    #2
    TacoJova

    TacoJova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Member:
    #177914
    Messages:
    1,066
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 White DCSB Offroad
    Supercharger Hybrid audio stage 3 and stage 2 rear with 2 image Dynamics IDQ10's and alpine amps Bilstein 5100 with OME 887 Dakars and Icon 2.0 in the rear URD SPEC U Headers URD Y Pipe Borla muffler 18" Magnaflow Resonator Morimoto fogs
    Did the same thing once and all I did was unplug the battery and airbag light went away
     
    boogie3478 likes this.
  3. Jul 31, 2017 at 9:10 AM
    #3
    boogie3478

    boogie3478 Tacomaholic & Hollywood

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Member:
    #140179
    Messages:
    22,682
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Virginia
    Vehicle:
    14 TRD Off-Road V6
    All the mods
    This. If it's a serious code where something is actually wrong with the truck then the code will pop back on. Otherwise you should be in the clear.
     
    TacoJova likes this.
  4. Jul 31, 2017 at 12:36 PM
    #4
    Mog

    Mog [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Member:
    #39401
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    05 DC TRD Sport 4x4 Silver
    I have unplugged the battery many time without any luck, most recently had a buddies shop pull the code and it was a passenger occupancy airbag sensor code.

    Just FYI, the airbag light comes on, radio completely dies, fob stops working, and dome light all stop working for about 10-30 mins each day, then magically all come back on.
     
  5. Jul 31, 2017 at 12:52 PM
    #5
    TacoJova

    TacoJova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Member:
    #177914
    Messages:
    1,066
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2015 White DCSB Offroad
    Supercharger Hybrid audio stage 3 and stage 2 rear with 2 image Dynamics IDQ10's and alpine amps Bilstein 5100 with OME 887 Dakars and Icon 2.0 in the rear URD SPEC U Headers URD Y Pipe Borla muffler 18" Magnaflow Resonator Morimoto fogs
    Then I think you have a bigger problem and I don't think clearing the codes will help
     
    cliffyk likes this.
  6. Jul 31, 2017 at 12:53 PM
    #6
    igno1tus

    igno1tus How does this site know about everyone's member ?

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Member:
    #216359
    Messages:
    1,232
    Lehigh Valley Area , PA
    Vehicle:
    '07 Tacoma Access Cab TRD Off Road
    You don't need to be here on TW , you need a exorcist
     
  7. Jul 31, 2017 at 12:54 PM
    #7
    igno1tus

    igno1tus How does this site know about everyone's member ?

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Member:
    #216359
    Messages:
    1,232
    Lehigh Valley Area , PA
    Vehicle:
    '07 Tacoma Access Cab TRD Off Road
    A ultragauge or scangauge would clear the codes
     
    Avsfreak18 likes this.
  8. Jul 31, 2017 at 3:12 PM
    #8
    stickyTaco

    stickyTaco Fuck Cancer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Member:
    #92904
    Messages:
    3,506
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    '12 DCSB TRD-OR
    Fox/Dakar with Relentless goodies
    Sounds like a short. Loose connection maybe?
     
  9. Jul 31, 2017 at 8:47 PM
    #9
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    9,825
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Sometimes the dealer does need to clear an SRS Airbag Fault for the reason you stated... But this statement:

    " Just FYI, the airbag light comes on, radio completely dies, fob stops working, and dome light all stop working for about 10-30 mins each day, then magically all come back on."

    Makes me think you have other issues triggering the SRS Fault. Go back in and reverse all that you did installing the stereo and see what happens then. I think you have something connected incorrectly or other wiring issue.
     
    TRDSport10 likes this.
  10. Aug 1, 2017 at 6:42 AM
    #10
    WebberLander

    WebberLander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Member:
    #126706
    Messages:
    1,676
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Webberville, TX
    Vehicle:
    2011 SR5 4x4
    Overlanding Rig
    ^^^ This is exactly what I was thinking as well. If before the stereo install you didn't have an issue, its something in the way you wired it. Hook the factory stereo back up with your battery disconnected. Once everything is plugged back in including the plugs for the factory clock etc, hook your battery back up and see if that clears the lights.

    If you still have an Air Bag light on, you're going to need to scan it in order to figure out what fault code is being stored. An ODB Scan from your local parts store most likely will not pull the code nor allow you to clear it.

    With that being said, if you have a laptop with a windows 64 bit Operating System on it, you could go the route of installing TechStream and using a Mini VCI cable that you can get off Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M1R409L/ref=pe_316110_248493510_em_1p_0_ti Installing TechStream is a little tricky to install but if you want to go this route and save a bit of money, you can PM me and I'll help walk you through the install process.
     
  11. Aug 1, 2017 at 7:01 AM
    #11
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Retire from work, but not from life.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    14,354
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Clearwater Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    Any OS? Any better/easier than another?
     
  12. Aug 1, 2017 at 11:09 AM
    #12
    WebberLander

    WebberLander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Member:
    #126706
    Messages:
    1,676
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Webberville, TX
    Vehicle:
    2011 SR5 4x4
    Overlanding Rig
    Windows XP 64bit and up will work. I did it on windows 10 and there shouldn't be that much of a difference between 7, 8 & 10. XP might be another story but I have not used XP in years.

    Here is a link to an install guide: http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73034

    Just make sure and follow it step by step and you can't go wrong. The key part to it is modifying the registry which is easy with one the provided files in the drop box link. Again if you or anybody wants to attempt this, send me a PM and I'll do what I can to help. It was a tremendous tool to have when I was diagnosing a rear wheel speed sensor issue.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top