1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

COLORADO OHV PERMIT REQUIREMENTS!

Discussion in 'Off-Roading & Trails' started by NYCO, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. Aug 3, 2011 at 6:56 AM
    #1
    NYCO

    NYCO [OP] ┌∩┐‹(ಠ_ಠ)›┌∩┐

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Member:
    #40842
    Messages:
    17,325
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    bOb
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    Blue Betty - '06 TRD OR
    dents & scratches
    Information provided by Stay the Trail...

    http://staythetrail.org/news/?p=643

    State Parks, Feds to Enforce Permit Requirements on Plated Vehicles

    Posted on August 1, 2011 by Glen
    Monday, August 1, 2011 — Colorado Parks and Wildlife has announced its intent to enforce an existing OHV permit requirement for all licensed, plated motor vehicles operated on designated OHV routes in the state of Colorado. This existing provision in the law has not been enforced in the past. Previously, only the parts of the law requiring a registration or non-resident permit for unlicensed off-highway vehicles have been enforced.
    Colorado Parks and Wildlife issued the following statement:
    Colorado Parks and Wildlife has announced its permit requirements for OHVs and motor vehicles using designated routes. Please read closely and carefully. If you have comments, please call Tom Metsa of Parks and Wildlife at the number listed below.
    The statute:
    33-14.5-112. Off-highway use permit
    (b) On and after January 1, 1991, the owner of every vehicle required to be registered pursuant to article 3 of title 42, C.R.S., and the owner or operator of every motor vehicle and off-highway vehicle from another state or country, when such vehicle is being used for recreational travel upon designated off-highway vehicle routes, shall obtain and display on such vehicle an off-highway use permit.
    This statute would require plated vehicles on designated OHV routes to have a permit. A vehicle registered pursuant to article 3 of title 42 would be a street legal, plated vehicle. OHV registrations and OHV permits both cost $25.25, but are not the same thing.
    33-14.5-101. Definitions.
    (4) “Off-highway vehicle route” means any road, trail, or way owned or managed by the state or any agency or political subdivision thereof or the United States for off-highway vehicle travel.
    Funds collected from OHV registrations and permits go into a dedicated fund for the State OHV program and last year over $4,000,000 of grants were given out to the FS, BLM, state and local governments for OHV trail projects.
    This season:
    State Parks OHV Trail Rangers began an educational effort on plated vehicles who do not have a “permit” as the statute requires. CO statute requires both residents and non-residents to purchase an OHV “permit” if they have a plated vehicle traveling on a designated OHV route or have an OHV with an OHV registration from their home state and they will be in CO for less than 30 consecutive days.
    FS MVUMs identify trails for all vehicle types including “trails open to all Vehicles” (full size included), “trails open to vehicles 50″ or less” or “trails open to motorcycles only”. State Parks officers are considering these “trails” as the routes at a minimum which will require a CO OHV Permit for travel on with a plated vehicle of any type. Educational efforts and any verbal warnings will be limited to these routes that are designated as “trails”. No citations have been issued by State Parks officers and any warned users have been given a copy of the statute or had the statute explained. Parks officers have also visited powersport dealers when possible to discuss statute and its requirements.
    The CO State OHV Program has been in contact with several FS Ranger Districts to discuss and interpret these statutes to gain consistent enforcement. Some FS and BLM LEOs may or could interpret these statutes differently than each other or the state. We are in the process of working with the FS and BLM on an MOU to identify which types routes will be enforced consistently as designated OHV routes and needing permits. This is one reason State Parks has began educating instead of writing citations.
    This does not mean a citation cannot or will not be written by other LE agencies. Currently most fed LEOs are making the distinction between a “road” and a “trail” with roads open to all vehicles not needing a permit and trails needing OHV registrations and permits (this is my opinion).
    Once an agreement (MOU) has been reached with FS and BLM, I will be able to provide information on consistent enforcement information from all agencies. State Parks will then implement a educational program on permits and the requirements. People who are concerned about possible citation should consider or not purchasing a permit or registration after reading the statute.
    I am more than happy to answer questions or hear people’s concerns on this issue….I can be reached at 303-791-1957 x 4132
    Tom Metsa
    Colorado State Parks
    State OHV/Snowmobile Program Manager
    303-791-1957 x 4132
    303-470-0782 Fax
    Our interpretation:
    This existing law gives state and federal law enforcement officers great discretion and power to write tickets against any vehicle with a motor operated on any road or trail open to off-highway vehicles. We strongly recommend purchasing an OHV permit or OHV registration for any vehicle operated on any road or trail open to off-highway vehicles.
    What you need to purchase:
    1) If you’re a Colorado resident and your vehicle is a licensed, plated vehicle:
    You need an OHV permit from Colorado Parks and Wildlife to operate your vehicle on any road or trail open to off-highway vehicles.
    2) If you’re a Colorado resident and your vehicle is not licensed and plated:
    You need an OHV registration from Colorado Parks and Wildlife to operate your vehicle on any road or trail open to off-highway vehicles.
    3) If you are not a resident of Colorado:
    Regardless of whether your vehicle is licensed or not, you need an OHV permit from Colorado Parks and Wildlife to operate your vehicle on any road or trail open to off-highway vehicles.
    Permits and registrations are different. Permits do NOT require a VIN verification. Registrations require a VIN verification.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Aug 3, 2011 at 6:56 AM
    #2
    NYCO

    NYCO [OP] ┌∩┐‹(ಠ_ಠ)›┌∩┐

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Member:
    #40842
    Messages:
    17,325
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    bOb
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    Blue Betty - '06 TRD OR
    dents & scratches
    For information on obtaining OHV Permit, see http://www.parks.state.co.us/ohvsan.../OHVregistrations/Pages/OHVRegistrations.aspx


    Off-Highway Vehicle Registrations
    Off-highway vehicles must be registered with Colorado State Parks. Off-highway vehicles (OHVs) include motorcycles, dirtbikes, three-wheelers, ATVs, and dune buggies that are operated on public land or trails in Colorado. To register your OHV in your name for the first time, complete the OHV Registration Form and return it to:
    Colorado State Parks - Registration Unit
    13787 South Highway 85
    Littleton, CO 80125
    (303) 791-1920
    You may also register your vehicle at various OHV dealers or many State Parks offices. View our OHV Registration Agent Locations List to find the registration location nearest you. Always call ahead to ensure services are available.
    Registration Fees
    The annual registration fee is $25.25. Registrations are valid from April 1 through March 31 each year. This is a flat administrative transaction fee – it cannot be prorated for a partial year’s registration, and will not be subject to refund if the vehicle is sold or stolen.
    OHV Registration Renewals
    Registration renewal cards are mailed to currently registered owners each March. You may also renew your registration online by going to the link on the back of the registration card.
    Purchasing an OHV
    Dealers are required by law to complete the registration application for you and collect the registration fee before the vehicle leaves their premises. The dealer will forward the application to our office where we will process the request. Colorado residents who purchase an OHV from a private party may use their dated bill of sale as a temporary registration for 30 days during the registration application process - see the link to the application form above. The Bill of Sale must be carried on the OHV while riding until the decals and registration card get to you in the mail. Sorry, at this time, on-line registrations for a new machine is not available.
    Out-of-state OHVs
    Out-of-state residents who bring OHVs into Colorado must purchase a Colorado Non-Resident OHV permit which is valid from the date of purchase through the following March 31. These permits can be purchased anywhere you get your hunting/fishing licenses in Colorado, via mail-in request, or you can order one online at the Colorado State Parks E-Store.
    Once purchased, this sticker should be placed on the vehicle’s outside face of the right front fender or fork. Since this is only a use permit, no renewal notice will be sent to non-resident permit holders; you must purchase a new permit each year you come to Colorado with your OHV.
    Decal Placement
    Registration decals must be affixed permanently on the upper forward-half of the OHV in a location where the decal can be easily seen. Suggestions: On ATVs the decals could be placed on the outer side of the fenders, on the tank or on the cowling. On bikes, place a decal on each of the outside faces of the upper end of the forks or on the tank. OHV operators must carry their registration card and show it to any peace officer on request. For general decal placement instructions for all types of OHVs and boats, see the Registrations Decal Placement Brochure. View the specific decal placement illustrations for these vehicles:

     
  3. Aug 3, 2011 at 7:02 AM
    #3
    NYCO

    NYCO [OP] ┌∩┐‹(ಠ_ಠ)›┌∩┐

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Member:
    #40842
    Messages:
    17,325
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    bOb
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    Blue Betty - '06 TRD OR
    dents & scratches
  4. Aug 5, 2011 at 5:11 PM
    #4
    06rubi

    06rubi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Member:
    #36309
    Messages:
    806
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kenney
    Pueblo West, CO
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM (wife's truck)
    Debadged, tinted windows, 7 pin relocated, bed lights, 12 volt socket in bed of truck, on board air, auxiliary fuse box, grill craft, hella 500's, t-rex eyelids, pink budbuilt skids, icon remote resi coil over, camburg uca, alcan rear springs, ubolt flip, icon 2.5 remote rear resi shocks
    Thats crazy! I always understood it as it if it's plated you arre good. Looks I'll need to make a few phone calls!
     
  5. Aug 5, 2011 at 8:17 PM
    #5
    maxamillion2345

    maxamillion2345 Go home if you don't like guns liquor and whores.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Member:
    #31761
    Messages:
    7,880
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Max
    Nevada
    Vehicle:
    80 series LC
    Too many
    No offense, but I always wanted to go to Telluride area, not so much anymore. Other areas to wheel, good luck fighting this guys. Let me know if theres anything I can fax.
     
  6. Aug 9, 2011 at 10:20 AM
    #6
    NYCO

    NYCO [OP] ┌∩┐‹(ಠ_ಠ)›┌∩┐

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Member:
    #40842
    Messages:
    17,325
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    bOb
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    Blue Betty - '06 TRD OR
    dents & scratches

    you make those phone calls?

    sounds like they won't be enforcing until 2012 anyway but would be good to know for sure
     
  7. Aug 10, 2011 at 7:08 AM
    #7
    BigRedToy

    BigRedToy ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Member:
    #15885
    Messages:
    2,045
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    07 Regular Cab SR5 4x4
    It seems the maximum fine is $25.00. May as well register for $25.25.
     
To Top