1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Component Speaker Question

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Tacopig, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. Sep 18, 2012 at 9:25 PM
    #1
    Tacopig

    Tacopig [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Member:
    #81656
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Durham, NC
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport 4x4 V6
    Hey all, I have scoured the posts on here and I can't seem to find an answer to this: I am installing new component speakers (6.5, seperate tweeters, and passive crossovers), dual amps, 2 10" subs, and a pioneer avh-p8400bh. My question is, if the preouts coming from the head unit go into the amps, which in turn are wired into the crossovers and then the component speakers, do the speakers themselves need to be connected via speaker wire to the rear of the head unit (via stock harness or otherwise)? I apologize in advance if this is a bonehead question, it's a little late :)
     
  2. Sep 18, 2012 at 9:40 PM
    #2
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    7,391
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    Your question is a tad confusing? I need a little more info.
     
  3. Sep 18, 2012 at 9:45 PM
    #3
    Tacopig

    Tacopig [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Member:
    #81656
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Durham, NC
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport 4x4 V6
    If I wanted to utilize the existing harnesses already in the door panels (so as to not have to run more speaker wire) where would I splice into the factory wires? I am planning on mounting both amps and crossovers under the seat and running the preouts, remote, and speaker wires from the crossovers up the center console.

    In my head I am seeing the new component speakers plugged into the factory harness in the door, then the factory speaker wires are going from the door into the factory harness/pioneer harness that will be plugged into the head unit, which is where I am wondering where to connect the speaker wires coming from the crossovers....

    Am I just over complicating things? I feel so confused....
     
  4. Sep 18, 2012 at 9:52 PM
    #4
    Tacopig

    Tacopig [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Member:
    #81656
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Durham, NC
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport 4x4 V6
    If I run wires to the doors from the crossovers, will the speakers need to be connected to the factory wiring going back to the hu? If not, what do you do with the factory wires that go into the harness?
     
  5. Sep 18, 2012 at 10:08 PM
    #5
    SoCalTacos

    SoCalTacos Turd runner

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Member:
    #66543
    Messages:
    3,717
    Gender:
    Male
    socal
    Vehicle:
    2017 4Runner TRD Pro
    Led head/dtr lights.
    The only thing you head unit should be connected to is your amps. Everything gets wires accordingly from the amps.
     
  6. Sep 18, 2012 at 10:13 PM
    #6
    t4daddy

    t4daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Member:
    #39041
    Messages:
    7,391
    Gender:
    Male
    North Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2008 PreRunner Double Cab
    Yep, this.
     
  7. Sep 18, 2012 at 10:17 PM
    #7
    Tacopig

    Tacopig [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Member:
    #81656
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Durham, NC
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport 4x4 V6
    Thanks everybody, I think you can sometimes read too many posts about this and get confused...hopefully all will go well, I'm also building custom sub boxes, and installing the viper 4207 as well....maybe I won't blow myself up...pics to come
     
  8. Sep 24, 2012 at 9:32 PM
    #8
    Space Junk

    Space Junk Flight Ready

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Member:
    #83705
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    Silicon Valley
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma access Cab TRD Off Road
    Is it customary to mount an amp under the seat or is there a better place for one?
     
  9. Sep 25, 2012 at 6:17 AM
    #9
    Beach Taco

    Beach Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Member:
    #82870
    Messages:
    69
    Gender:
    Male
    Virginia Beach, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    12' SR5 4x4
    WeatherTech Ventvisors, Dealer Sprayed Underliner, Aries black 3" side bars, Front windows 35% tint
    The factory front door speakers run thru the tweeters first then split off to the 6x9. if you are running components they are going to have one wire to tweeter and one wire to midrange both from crossover(Iputmine in front kick panels plenty of room. My amp is in the back one wire (+,-) to each crossover in kick panel then 2 wires(1 tweet, 1 mid)out of crossover to the corresponding mid and tweet via the rubber boot going to door. Only one wire into front door from factory then splits to 2 when ran thr tweeter so if you use factory you still have to run another wire or put crossover in door (not recomended). The rear can be used but Idecided when Idid the front I mines well do the back. Used big zip tie with a lil bit of car wash liquid for lube to make it easier to go thru rubber boot. easy except for drivers door (the most wires going into door for switches). I have pics if needed.:)
     
  10. Sep 25, 2012 at 6:39 PM
    #10
    Space Junk

    Space Junk Flight Ready

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Member:
    #83705
    Messages:
    87
    Gender:
    Male
    Silicon Valley
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma access Cab TRD Off Road
    Try rubbing alcohol (isopropyl alcohol) next time you need to run wires through a rubber boot or sleeving. You WILL be amazed how much easier it is to push wires through and best of all when it dries it will not leave a residue.
     
  11. Sep 25, 2012 at 8:53 PM
    #11
    Tacopig

    Tacopig [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Member:
    #81656
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Durham, NC
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport 4x4 V6
    Well tomorrow is the big day...I have finally received everything I ordered. The install will consist of:

    Viper 5204
    Xpresskit PKALL
    Window module
    Glass Break Mic module

    Pioneer AVH-p8400bh
    JL C5-650 comp. speakes
    JL W1 10 (2) in a custom box (access cab)
    JL XD200.2
    JL XD600.1
    Axxess SWC
    Metra 70-8114 SWC interface

    I hope I can get it all done in a day, I already prepped all the wiring on the alarm and stereo harnesses...I finished building the boxes today...I'll try and do the picture/write up thing for the install...
     
  12. Sep 29, 2012 at 7:59 PM
    #12
    Tarpon24

    Tarpon24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Member:
    #81214
    Messages:
    230
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frankie
    Fl
    Vehicle:
    Trd
    Leveling kit, 20 in rims, flowmaster true duals, bullying watch dog,
    are you installing the viper system your self ? i looked at it and said f that and brought it up to best buy. and also if you wire the viper alarm yourself they dont warranty is at least that what they told me. you have to be a "viper certified installer" install ran more then the alarm.
     
  13. Sep 30, 2012 at 8:09 AM
    #13
    jinxed77

    jinxed77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Member:
    #22841
    Messages:
    71
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 4.0L TRD SR5 4x4

Products Discussed in

To Top