1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Computer Reset

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by jblair, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. Apr 6, 2011 at 7:56 PM
    #1
    jblair

    jblair [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Member:
    #53770
    Messages:
    137
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    99 taco 2.7L I4
    lift, big boy tires, deck plate, no more sway bar, painted stuff
    What does the computer adjust after you reset it? I've been wondering exactly what for a bit now, but my friend just reset his after putting new plus, big tires, and a k&n air filter in. He says it's way different, and what's it doing anyway? It's not just fuel/air is it?
     
  2. Apr 6, 2011 at 10:22 PM
    #2
    Digiratus

    Digiratus Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Member:
    #34006
    Messages:
    13,760
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Roaming the PNW
    Vehicle:
    The RedHead
    2002 XtraCab TRD 4x4 Auto Trans With Lots of Mods King Extended Travel COs Camburg Uniball UCAs Alcan Custom 8-Leaf Rear Spring Packs Fox 2.0 Resi Rear Shocks FrankenFab Rear Shock Relocate All-Pro U-bolt Flip w/Timbren bumps Toytec 1" Extended Shackle 4.88 Nitro Gears ARB Front Locker ARB Twin Compressor 15x8 D Window Steelies 33" BFG KM2s Limited Edition Relentless Front Bumper Smittybilt X2O 10K Winch Rugged Ridge 3" LED Pods w/Amber covers Mini D2S Projectors XB35 Ballasts + 4500K Bulbs Badland Sliders FrankenFab Tire Carrier Swingout bumper w/kitchen BudBuilt Front & Bellypan Skids BAMF Rear Diff Skid Whynter 65 qt. Fridge/Freezer CVT Mt Bachelor RTT Badland Custom Bed Rack GM 140 amp alternator Dual Northstar 24F AGM batteries BlueSea 7622 ML-ACR Battery controller Peak DBI Dual Battery Voltage Monitor Magnaflow 18" Muffler Braided Steel Brake Lines AFE Pro Dry S air filter ScanGauge II OBDII Scanner Kenwood TM-71A Dual Band Ham Radio Larson 70CM/2M Antenna Uniden 520xl CB radio 3' Firestik Adjustable tip antenna Pioneer DEH-P9400BH HU Alpine Amps & Type R components (F) and coaxials (R) Wet Okole Seat Covers Weathertech Digital Liners Deck Plate Mod 1" Diff Drop Carrier Bearing Drop
    I've read that the ECU "learns" your driving habits and style and that gets reset when you remove battery power for more that 20 minute. I'm not certain whether all that is true or not but your right, sometimes resetting makes for a big change. I guess if it does learn, then it will eventually get back to where it was unless you radically change how you drive.
     
  3. Apr 6, 2011 at 10:26 PM
    #3
    S.B.

    S.B. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Member:
    #18838
    Messages:
    3,566
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Sean
    SD, CA Now in Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    08 Taco 4x4 TRD OffRoad Rugged Trail
    SAW 2.0s, Wheeler's 3-leaf AAL, On Board Air, 255/85/16 Cooper Discover S/T, CBI Sliders, Built right UCAs, 6" Harbor Freight Lights (converted to HIDs), KC Slim Lights.
    yup.
     
  4. Apr 7, 2011 at 6:12 AM
    #4
    tlh178

    tlh178 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Member:
    #48535
    Messages:
    337
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    terry
    mich
    Vehicle:
    2012 4WD reg cab/ 02 SR5 Prerunner/07 FJC 4WD
    i just replaced my ignition coil and wires, should i reset ecu?
     
  5. Apr 7, 2011 at 5:25 PM
    #5
    jblair

    jblair [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Member:
    #53770
    Messages:
    137
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    99 taco 2.7L I4
    lift, big boy tires, deck plate, no more sway bar, painted stuff
    sure, I can't imagine there are downsides to it.
     
  6. Apr 7, 2011 at 5:34 PM
    #6
    shitroc

    shitroc Master of War

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Member:
    #24315
    Messages:
    1,406
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ant
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tacoma TRD 4X4
    Listed in sig.......
    yah id reset it,i usually reset mine anytime i tinker with any part of the truck that is to do with the electrical. even after cleaning the MAF ill reset the ecu.
     
  7. Apr 7, 2011 at 5:44 PM
    #7
    maineah

    maineah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Member:
    #53641
    Messages:
    4,145
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    4X4 SR5 V6 6spd
    Doesn't matter the operating info is non volatile memory only thing that will change it is a reflash of the chip.
     
To Top