1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Confusion With Trim Kit

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Goose8651, Feb 7, 2014.

  1. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:29 PM
    #1
    Goose8651

    Goose8651 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Member:
    #99870
    Messages:
    1,007
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2013 Double Cab
    Hopefully someone here can really help me out. Today I received my Alpine CDE-HD149BT single din head unit from Crutchfield. With the shipment, they sent me the wiring harness, antenna adapter, and the Metra 99-8235CHG.

    Let me first say this is my first audio install so I apologize in advance. The first step of the trim kit is to install the cubby. Ok, that is really easy. Then they say to mount the head unit and you are good to go. This is where I am confused.

    If I attempt to mount the head unit straight out of the package, the unit is to wide and I have a partial bend from the plastic mount from the trip kit (see below)

    image-18_1b013b92dfda40ebea809c0152d800618a95971f.jpg

    Here is my first question. 1.) do I need to remove the black plastic trim ring around the head unit. 2.) do I need to remove the silver casing as in the below photo?

    image-15_e5c520c4844fba99ae92aa03c92a1877607d36c1.jpg

    If I remove this casing, I can slide the unit in between the trim kit mounts. But I ten run into another problem. I do not have any bolts that will fit to mount the head unit. The bolts that come with the trim kit are WAY tool small. But, alpine includes four bolts as pictured below:

    image-16_8fc36d7a4af7c13abc4e7d8ed81a76e9eb5292d5.jpg

    The issue with these bolts is that they are not long enough to mount to the trim brackets.

    Finally, if I have the black plastic trim ring around the head unit, it will not fit properly around the dash trim kit. But, if I remove the black plastic trim ring around the head unit, I have some really big gaps.

    I hope this stuff makes sense, but I am really lost. I apologize if this is a dumb question, but I have no idea what to do. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:37 PM
    #2
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    3,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    here is a similar video but you dont need the silver stock radio cage. you need the brackets and use the holes that lines up and screw them to the deck in the side and add the cubby and should be good to go (FF to about 14 min):
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VkSWfNfDBRI
     
  3. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:43 PM
    #3
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    3,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    You'll prolly need to ditch those plastic brackets and use your stock metal ones.
     
  4. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:45 PM
    #4
    Goose8651

    Goose8651 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Member:
    #99870
    Messages:
    1,007
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2013 Double Cab
    Awesome. Thanks so much for the video. I looked around for a while and could not find anything like that.

    I do have one more question though. If I use the Metra bolts to screw in the head unit, they will not work as they are too long. These bolts are only working to screw in the cubby. But, if I use the bolts that came with the alpine deck, they are too short. I have not taken apart my dash yet, but would I be using screws from my existing unit like the guy did in video?
     
  5. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:47 PM
    #5
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    3,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    Yes use your stock bolts for the bracket.
     
  6. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:48 PM
    #6
    Goose8651

    Goose8651 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Member:
    #99870
    Messages:
    1,007
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2013 Double Cab
    Since I am going from a double din to a single din, would the OEM bracket allow me to use the single din cubby as well? I am having an alarm installed in my truck tomorrow and don't want to take apart my truck prior to this, but wanting to prep as much stuff as possible so when I get my truck back on Sunday I can install everything.
     
  7. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:49 PM
    #7
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    3,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    Yes it will. It's like when you sammich the cubby it's a replica of a double din stock deck if that makes sense.
     
  8. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:53 PM
    #8
    Goose8651

    Goose8651 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Member:
    #99870
    Messages:
    1,007
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2013 Double Cab
    Man, you are a lifesaver. I really do appreciate. So basically with the Metra trim kit, I am just going to use the trim ring and the cubby, everything else will be OEM. Also started to question everything because Crutchfield sent me two trim kits.

    This was just killing me. Started to freak out thinking if I can't even figure out how to mount the head unit, I am screwed on this install.

    Thanks again for all of the help, I do appreciate it. Attempt number two will happen on Sunday.
     
  9. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:57 PM
    #9
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    3,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    You got it. Use the stock brackets off your current stock deck and save the screws. Transfer the bracket to your aftermarket deck and use the stock screws. Add the bottom cubby no metal cage from aftermarket deck used or plastic metra bracket used and screw the cubby to it. Plug the harness after you crimp or solder and put deck assemble in stock hole. And go drive and head bang.
     
  10. Feb 7, 2014 at 7:59 PM
    #10
    Goose8651

    Goose8651 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Member:
    #99870
    Messages:
    1,007
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2013 Double Cab
    Perfect! Thanks again.
     
  11. Feb 7, 2014 at 8:01 PM
    #11
    sirsaechao

    sirsaechao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Member:
    #17772
    Messages:
    3,076
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Commifornia
    Vehicle:
    2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 3.4L 4X4 V6
    To much to list...see sig for more...
    No problem. Post some pics when you get done. As you can tell I'm a car audio junkie.
     
  12. Feb 7, 2014 at 8:03 PM
    #12
    Goose8651

    Goose8651 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Member:
    #99870
    Messages:
    1,007
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2013 Double Cab
    Absolutely!
     
  13. Feb 7, 2014 at 8:04 PM
    #13
    Goose8651

    Goose8651 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Member:
    #99870
    Messages:
    1,007
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2013 Double Cab
    Awesome setup by the way. I bet the truck sounds amazing.
     
  14. Feb 7, 2014 at 9:44 PM
    #14
    Riverdog

    Riverdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Member:
    #90152
    Messages:
    697
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Collin
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    '05 Double Cab PreRunner
    I just sent you a PM and then saw this. Guess I'm a little late to the party. Sorry.
     
  15. Feb 7, 2014 at 9:52 PM
    #15
    Goose8651

    Goose8651 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Member:
    #99870
    Messages:
    1,007
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2013 Double Cab
    No worries at all. Thanks for the private message, the videos are really helping me out. Wish I would have found this stuff earlier.
     
  16. Feb 8, 2014 at 11:21 AM
    #16
    Goose8651

    Goose8651 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Member:
    #99870
    Messages:
    1,007
    Gender:
    Male
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2013 Double Cab
    Got it figured out! Thanks again guys for the help.

    image-19_d87aed85d795acdf9c8d3b56a9afb43ef0385ec0.jpg
     

Products Discussed in

To Top