1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Crossover Location

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by insomnizac, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. Aug 27, 2009 at 2:09 PM
    #1
    insomnizac

    insomnizac [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Member:
    #19422
    Messages:
    52
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zack
    Dayton, OH
    Vehicle:
    10 TRD Sport DC
    Hey guys...been reading the forums a while so its finally time to pop the cherry and make a post. Great stuff here btw!

    I had a question about the location for passive crossovers. Many of the systems I've seen posted here have the crossovers mounted next to the amps with 2 sets of wires running to the doors. I was always under the assumption it was better to place the crossover close to the speaker because it helps with signal loss as well as cut down on the cost for speaker wire. Is this the case or does it not matter as much with a truck (only installed in a car til now)? Are there space limitations with these trucks that make door installation of the crossovers more difficult?
     
  2. Aug 27, 2009 at 8:45 PM
    #2
    KAPendley

    KAPendley Best Hack I Know

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Member:
    #20407
    Messages:
    127
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andy
    Hickory, NC
    Vehicle:
    96 2WD V6 Extended Cab
    Shaved, Lowered,Airbrushed (some)
    If you HAVE to place it in the door, do everything you can to make sure it will not get wet. Kickpanels are usually optimal. If you place it further from the amps, you will not suffer any signal loss. Just use a larger gauge speaker wire, like 12 AWG for example.

    Under the seats, over your head. Really, wherever you want. Just do your best to make sure they are securely mounted and you will not have any problems.
     
  3. Aug 28, 2009 at 2:01 AM
    #3
    aleok

    aleok Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Member:
    #20073
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    What if you are using the stock amp and stock wiring?
     
  4. Aug 28, 2009 at 8:42 AM
    #4
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,955
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Same applies. Either install in the doors or pull the stock wires back through the door so you can install the crossover inside the cab.


    Most likely the wires that come with the speakers are going to be too short to reach from inside the cab to the speaker mounting area, so you may need to buy wire.
     
  5. Aug 28, 2009 at 8:42 AM
    #5
    sweater914

    sweater914 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Member:
    #12597
    Messages:
    228
    Gender:
    Male
    North Dakota
    Vehicle:
    '09 I4 5spd Access Cab Timberland Mica SR5
    Using the stock wiring for the passive crossovers isn't a big deal, especially if you're still using the stock amp. The signal loss of the speaker wire in a vehicle is minimal given the short distances involved.
     
  6. Aug 29, 2009 at 7:08 PM
    #6
    Monarch

    Monarch Threadkiller

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Member:
    #18635
    Messages:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 AC 4X4 2.7L 5 speed SR5 barcelona red
    Readylift, Roadmaster, Bushwacker, Pop & Lock, Redline, Weathertech, Crappy Tire
  7. Nov 25, 2009 at 12:48 AM
    #7
    futonpimp

    futonpimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Member:
    #14164
    Messages:
    66
    Gender:
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma 4WD

    nice link btw! those pics are perfect for the db6501's i'll be installing myself on friday. Couple questions for ya :)

    Did the tweeters mount easily and did you need to purchase any special mounts?

    Also,

    where did you mount the amps and run their wiring through to get to the crossover?
     
  8. Nov 25, 2009 at 5:22 PM
    #8
    Monarch

    Monarch Threadkiller

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Member:
    #18635
    Messages:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    09 AC 4X4 2.7L 5 speed SR5 barcelona red
    Readylift, Roadmaster, Bushwacker, Pop & Lock, Redline, Weathertech, Crappy Tire
    The tweeter mounts had to be custom made. No big deal. They are made from strap aluminum bought from a hardware store. Readily available at Rona or Home Depot.

    I don't need an amp with the Kenwood head unit.
     
  9. Nov 25, 2009 at 11:20 PM
    #9
    Gitmo

    Gitmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Member:
    #24884
    Messages:
    470
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    I mounted a crossover under each seat in my access cab along with a 4-channel amp. Quality sounds great :).
     
To Top