1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Cruise control drove me crazy last trip

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas' started by mmatheny, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. mmatheny

    mmatheny [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Member:
    #4818
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Dickinson, Tx
    Vehicle:
    DC PreRunner SR5
    Popn'Lock, RollBak hard tonneau cover, DTRL mod
    Let me know if yours does this - I set a speed, then I have to brake or slow down. When I resume, the speed control keeps power on until it reaches 5mph OVER the set speed, then lets off. So if it's set for 75, and I resume, it will accelerate until 80, then let off.
     
  2. MikeS.

    MikeS. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Member:
    #7207
    Messages:
    288
    Far Eastern WVa
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC LB 4x4 in Speedway Blue.
    Undercover bed topper, Nerf style step bars, Python alarm, Ham radio with 250 watt amp and chrome wheel well bling.
    Not mine
     
  3. lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Thor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,097
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    not mine.
     
  4. EquinsuOcha

    EquinsuOcha Bourbon

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Member:
    #5368
    Messages:
    3,670
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Casey
    Ft Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner
    AFE Drop-in filter, Wet Okole seat covers, Hifonics 6.5" components in front, MA Audio midbasses in rear, Kicker 8", RE Audio 2 channel for components, Elemental Designs bridged 2-channel for sub, CB, Devil Horns, Rancho QuickLift, Rancho RS9000XL rear shocks, Toytec AAL, stickers, things and stuff.
    Mine might overshoot by 1 or 2 miles per hour, but nothing more. I use my cruise 6 days a week to and from work.
     
  5. mws4ua

    mws4ua I'll try being nicer if you try being smarter.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Member:
    #6624
    Messages:
    6,515
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Birmingham
    Vehicle:
    Sold my truck Jan '13... Still hang around.
    Mine's never done that either
     
  6. gavonder

    gavonder She's Kickass!

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Member:
    #3825
    Messages:
    383
    Gender:
    Male
    Bethel, Ct
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Sunroof, Leer Cap w/ Thule rack, Factory Running Boards, Fog Light Mod, Hood Struts, Scangauge, w/homemade mirror mount, AC/Defrost mod, Rear Spring TSB, TRD Center Caps
    Mine does that all of the time. It's very annoying. If I'm driving on an undulating road, it goes both ways - speeds up 5 mph past and slows 5 mph below before going back to the set speed. I've already asked the dealer, and they said it was normal.

    I have a V6 auto

    GA
     
  7. it's in coma

    it's in coma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Member:
    #6047
    Messages:
    621
    in the desert
    Vehicle:
    06 trd off road
    intake and exhaust
    mine does...but i can live with it, it is not worth my time to go and yell at the stealer about this...
     
  8. missileman125fw

    missileman125fw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Member:
    #3912
    Messages:
    2,735
    It has never happened to me. I use mine every once in awhile.
     
  9. TorenApart

    TorenApart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Member:
    #6665
    Messages:
    524
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Double Cab SR5 TRD Sport
    Toytec Ultimate Lift Kit, Total Chaos UCA's, 18'' Black XD Monster, 285/60R18 Cooper Zeon LTZ, OEM Skid Plate, Weather Tech Floor Mats, Lund Tonneau, Custom 2-tone gray leather, Aero Turbine 2525 muffler with AR25 resonator, Aero Turbine Exhaust Tip, Mr. Marv subwoofer enclosure w/ 2 JL 10W3v2's, AFE Pro Dry S, TRAIN HORNS, Eclipse AVN-6620, Pioneer PRS-D2100T, Hybrid Audio Clarus 6.5'' Front Components, Black Headlight Mod, Tinted tail lights, PL5300 with Eclipse BEC-109
    No problem in that respect, but I am not a fan of this cruise control generally speaking. I find it letting the speed drop to 5 or so below before it does anything and then down shifting and RPMing way high to compensate as quickly as possible.

    This weekend I was able to get 19-20 MPG while canceling the cruise when I was starting to go up hills and just manually keeping the speed. I was astonished. I know the gas gauge is not right through the 1st quarter tank, but I was over 100 miles on that tank when I finally hit 3/4 full!
     
  10. concrete jedi

    concrete jedi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Member:
    #3142
    Messages:
    2,747
    Rochester N.Y
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma 4 door indigo blue
    Broken and scratched tailgate, cracked rear tail light lens, coffee stain in driver seat.
    mine does not do that, might want to have it looked at.
     
  11. chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Thor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,627
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, lots of buttons, and yellow flashing lights on the dash.
    X2
    Mine seems to hold speed just fine. :confused:
     
  12. WilsonTheDog

    WilsonTheDog Kylie's dad

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Member:
    #3496
    Messages:
    4,839
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Myrtle Beach SC
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunner SR5 DC/SB V6
    Magnaflow 12576 muffler & chrome tip, Westin step bars, 27% tint, Pop N Lock, AFE ProdryS, bed mat, Husky liners, D-rings added, Access Literider tonneau, Pioneer 4-ways all around, GY Wrangler Duratracs 265/75/16, 5100's @ 1.75", 1.5" AAL
    ^Same here. 1150 miles round trip to NJ a couple weeks back and no problems.

    Under warranty? Bring it in.
     
  13. bambooshoots

    bambooshoots Be a fountain, not a drain.

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Member:
    #7645
    Messages:
    719
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kevin
    College Station, TX
    Vehicle:
    2015 Honda Accord Sport
    I did it again. Got tired of paying truck payments and gas and traded in for a 2015 Honda Accord Sport since I enjoyed my 2013 Sport so much.
    Were you going up a hill or something like that?

    Whenever I cruise with my Mazda3 and it needs to downshift (say I set it at 70mph) it'll go up to 75 or so. Probably something to do with the gearing.
     
  14. Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    13,567
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2007 4.0L 4x4 TRD Sport Access Cab A
    Advantage Torza top (tri-fold), Husky floor mats, RuffTuff seat covers, C2C hood struts, Homelink mirror, USA Spec PA15-Toy (120gig Classic & 8gig nano), Garmin Nuvi 660, Protecta Bed mat, Pop-n-lock, TSB Springs, Scangauge II, Heated drivers seat, Fumoto drain valve, Aries pushbar, PIAA 540 fog lights, Hood scoop grahics, Flowmaster 50 series dual catback exhaust, RainX Latitude windshield wipers, Husky rear floor liner (ontop of folded down seats). Console Vault.
    Same here.... and mind keeps up with set speed nicely. I'm always watching the MPH on the scangauge.

    (07 auto 4.0)
     
  15. mmatheny

    mmatheny [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Member:
    #4818
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Dickinson, Tx
    Vehicle:
    DC PreRunner SR5
    Popn'Lock, RollBak hard tonneau cover, DTRL mod
    Maybe I didn't express myself clearly - it is after I disengage the cruise control (either by tapping the brakes or the lever on the wheel) and then push the lever to Resume, that it overshoots the set limit by 5 mph, all the while under power, then lets off and it goes back to the set limit. It's not that it cuts the acceleration off at the set limit and it moves 5mph high because of inertia - it actually has the power on until 5mph over the set limit, then cuts the power to glide back to the set limit.
     
  16. mainerinexile

    mainerinexile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Member:
    #6529
    Messages:
    105
    Gender:
    Male
    central Maine
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 Access cab I4 4x4 5 spd
    Man, am I glad I have a 5 speed and not an auto transmision with all the complaints about cruise control revving, jerking at stop lights, and Tacomas that start up by themselves.
     
  17. Finsterino

    Finsterino Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Member:
    #6343
    Messages:
    38
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD
    My cruise control is OK, but not great. About +- 2 mph during normal use. The Silverado was always spot-on.

    5 mph error is too much.
     
  18. nagelg

    nagelg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Member:
    #5184
    Messages:
    444
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Northern Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    '08 Black, acc. cab, 4x4, 2.7
    x2...I hear ya!
     
  19. nd

    nd Radical Town. It's a hell of a place!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1047
    Messages:
    12,738
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nate
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    07 TRD Off-Road 4x4 debadged
    De badged, 5100's, Black Toyota Baja wheels
    not mine
     
  20. wiscdave

    wiscdave Lets Do It!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Member:
    #5392
    Messages:
    2,551
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Rock Warrior
    Past ride - 3" OME 885s&Shocks/ TSB 1.5AAL/ AX184 Rims 285 Firestone destination ATs/ 2 Shallow mount P310s in Supercrew Box - Punch 601s, Beefed up Hunter Brush guard, Tint, Fog light mod, AFE Drop in, AC and Fog light mods, scangauge
    ok that makes sense...yes mine is spot on but seems to act like that if/when I resume.
     
To Top