1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Cruise Control Fuse

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by BakoTruck, Nov 26, 2018.

  1. Nov 26, 2018 at 12:52 PM
    #1
    BakoTruck

    BakoTruck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16674
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    Bakersfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD
    Hello, could anyone tell me which is the Cruise Control fuse or fuses? I've tried looking in the owners manual on pages 386-387 in the fuse section, could not find. My CC works half the time, and goes out. I would like to replace the fuse before I spend the time replacing the CC assembly. Thanks guys.

    2005 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner V6, Auto.
     
    wilcam47 likes this.
  2. Nov 26, 2018 at 12:58 PM
    #2
    Clearwater Bill

    Clearwater Bill Sometimes when I close my eyes, I can't see.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Member:
    #140097
    Messages:
    17,207
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Billy
    Largo Florida
    Vehicle:
    '13 5 lug base AC w/convenience package
    A few OE parts from fancy trucks
    A bad fuse won't work 'sometimes'. It's either working or not.

    Spiral cable under the steering wheel (literally) is a much more likely suspect. Especially if the horn is intermittent as well as the CC.
     
  3. Nov 26, 2018 at 1:09 PM
    #3
    BakoTruck

    BakoTruck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16674
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    Bakersfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD
    Yeah, I have thought of that. The horn seems to work just fine and I had the spiral cable replaced under recall back in 2013.
     
  4. Nov 26, 2018 at 2:52 PM
    #4
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,299
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    Even still... It is the most likely culprit. Spiral Cable.
     
    balljoint likes this.
  5. Nov 26, 2018 at 9:36 PM
    #5
    Zuba987

    Zuba987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2017
    Member:
    #234424
    Messages:
    135
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Parkesburg PA
    Vehicle:
    2006 ACLB V6 auto 4x4
    Bilstein 5100s all around,AAL in rear, Falken Wildpeak AT3Ws on Method Race wheels
    Yes, my truck had this issue and I replaced the spiral cable (clock spring) and it fixed the problem. Just beware a good oem one is pricy. $300ish or so. If you had the recal done back in 2013 see if there is any extended warranty and if they can fix it for you. If not your out of luck. My horn worked fine but my cc would only turn on intermittently.
     
  6. Nov 26, 2018 at 9:37 PM
    #6
    wilcam47

    wilcam47 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Member:
    #176243
    Messages:
    34,630
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    Arizona now!!!
    is it standard or auto?
     
  7. Nov 27, 2018 at 2:15 AM
    #7
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,299
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5

    Good point.

    OP if it is a manual transmission there is a switch on the clutch that will kick off the CC. And for either the brake switch will do the same.
     
  8. Nov 27, 2018 at 2:39 AM
    #8
    06Tacooo

    06Tacooo Earth Czar

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Member:
    #173140
    Messages:
    427
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Earth
    39° 14' N / 83° 13' W
    Vehicle:
    06 Off Road Access Cab Indigo Ink Pearl
    Michelin Defender LTX M/S2, ABS kill switch, Tech Deck, Mirror riser, Ride-Rites
    ...or a bad ground somewhere.
     
  9. Nov 27, 2018 at 11:02 AM
    #9
    BakoTruck

    BakoTruck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16674
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    Bakersfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD
    It's an auto.

    Well crap, yeah I hooked up a cheapo scan tool and it showed nothing. Do you guys think it could be the Cruise Control Switch Assembly? https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IEJFJQ4/ref=nav_timeline_asin?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
     
  10. Nov 27, 2018 at 12:41 PM
    #10
    andrew61987

    andrew61987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Member:
    #156610
    Messages:
    1,263
    Vehicle:
    2008 Access Cab 4WD, 2.7L 5 speed
    My cruise control did that for awhile before stopping working completely.

    While idling turn your wheel all the way to the left and try cruise control, then all the way to the right and try again. Bet it works better in one or both of those conditions because the spiral cable is failing.
     
    Marc70 likes this.
  11. Nov 27, 2018 at 12:50 PM
    #11
    12TRDTacoma

    12TRDTacoma Powered by Ford, GM, VW, and Mercedes

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85133
    Messages:
    14,491
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Concordia
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4 Supercharged
    Boosted
    This is going to sound out there, and even now it is out there to me, but definitely on one of my "top 10 strangest things I've seen in automotive." Fuses do sometimes not work, but are whole, and a simple matter of pulling it then reinstalling it restores functionality to the circuit again barring that the fuse is physically not blown. I have noticed it to be something that affects micro fuse equipped fuse boxes like the ones we have. It has definitely happened on my own truck before.

    So to say they won't work sometimes and that it either works or not is simply not true. At least not true in all the years of my experience.
     
  12. Nov 28, 2018 at 8:42 AM
    #12
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,299
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5

    I think you are mistaken either a fuse is blown or it is not blown. If it is, blown it will not conduct current. If it is NOT blown, it will conduct current . This is not a sometimes thing.

    That being said if it is not blown and not plugged in correctly then that could explain why you thought what you did. And when you unplugged it and re-plugged it back correctly it fixed the problem of not being plugged in all the way.
     
    Reinhardtius likes this.
  13. Nov 28, 2018 at 8:45 AM
    #13
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,299
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
  14. Nov 28, 2018 at 8:48 AM
    #14
    D2.

    D2. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Member:
    #203759
    Messages:
    1,403
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma - access cab 4x4 2TR-FE
    Cruise Control install. Intermittent wipers Hood lights Bed Lights Sliders 3" lift 886's on Billy 5100's Icon AAL 285/75 R16 Falken Wildpeak AT3W's
    Devil's advocate here,
    **what if** there is some corrosion or oxidation on the leads, and by pulling and re-installing you are making a new contact.
    Food for thought.
     
    12TRDTacoma likes this.
  15. Nov 28, 2018 at 8:50 AM
    #15
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    12,299
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5

    Another possibilty...
     
    12TRDTacoma likes this.
  16. Nov 28, 2018 at 9:00 AM
    #16
    bagleboy

    bagleboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Member:
    #226018
    Messages:
    4,533
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Scott
    Norcal, Santa Rosa
    Vehicle:
    2014 5-lug AC 2.7L VVTI
    Snug top Rebel, Thule tracks, ditch tracks, Bagged rear suspension, F/R anytime camera, intermittent wiper switch...
    Awe common, show some imagination. While a fuse is either blown or not, mechanical contact failure is not unknown so why not at least check all the inexpensive possiblities before forking over a roll. I'm not saying how likely it is but it hurts nothing to see. Also, I read in another post how improperly plugging in the spiral cable resulted in a bent pin and malfunctioning CC so try an RI of the cable checking the connector for obvious problems, could be a bad crimp on one of the wires or the tech just didn't push the connector all the way in. CC isnt a critical system so you have the time to get forensic. In the mean time start saving up for the more likely eventuality.
     
    Marc70 and 12TRDTacoma like this.
  17. Nov 28, 2018 at 9:14 AM
    #17
    12TRDTacoma

    12TRDTacoma Powered by Ford, GM, VW, and Mercedes

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Member:
    #85133
    Messages:
    14,491
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Concordia
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4 Supercharged
    Boosted
    A lot of possibilities here really. Sometimes things aren't so cut and dry.
     
  18. Nov 28, 2018 at 1:29 PM
    #18
    Bebop

    Bebop Old fashion cowboy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Member:
    #177835
    Messages:
    4,407
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    Castle rock Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2012 Toyota Tacoma baja
    6inch lift sitting on bilstein coilovers. Lexus is300 studs in front to keep stock wheels, general grabber red letters, nfab front bumper.
    Possible bad brake light switch as well
     
  19. Nov 28, 2018 at 4:57 PM
    #19
    BakoTruck

    BakoTruck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16674
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    Bakersfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD
    Alright, so I agree with all above conversations. If I knew where that fuse was for the CC, I would replace with a new one. Can anyone tell me where it's at? Bad Brake Light switch? I don't know what that is, my brake lights seem to be working fine to me. Anyone want to tell me what to check for this?
     
  20. Nov 28, 2018 at 5:00 PM
    #20
    BakoTruck

    BakoTruck [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Member:
    #16674
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    Bakersfield, CA
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD
    As mentioned above it has been going in and out, I was able to use it on the highway after 30-40 mins of driving. Damn thing wouldn't turn off, had to slam on the brakes. Kinda makes me think it's the CC switch assembly that's messed up.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top