1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Cruise Control Issue's

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Tejas TJ, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. Nov 28, 2009 at 9:24 AM
    #1
    Tejas TJ

    Tejas TJ [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Member:
    #21653
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    McKinney, TX
    Vehicle:
    00 Taco Prerunner SR5
    Yes I have searched so don't bitch...

    Since the day I bought my truck the cruise control hasn't worked. The green light on the switch stays on all the time, but no light come's on where the guages are. And of course the cruise control doesn't work. So with that being said, what should I start doing to figure this out??? Could it be a switch, or what usually causes cruise control issues on these trucks.

    It's a 2000 3.4L auto prerunner.
     
  2. Nov 28, 2009 at 9:39 AM
    #2
    98tacoma27

    98tacoma27 is gooder 'en chicken Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11714
    Messages:
    49,898
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Beech Creek
    Vehicle:
    05 Tundra SR5 (+250k AND COUNTING), 88 SR5 PU (SOLD), 98 TRD OR (CRUSHED)
    5100's all on fours
    Did you press the button on the end of the stick?
     
  3. Nov 28, 2009 at 1:42 PM
    #3
    Werloc

    Werloc Large Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Member:
    #17604
    Messages:
    540
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Central, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Double Cab 4X4 TRD 3.4 V6
    No issues with my cruise control. I'm repling because I only have one light that goes on when the cruise is in use. The one next to the guages that says CRUISE in green. Nothing (light) is on my cruise stick, and I also have a 2000. Maybe there is a light there, but it just doesn't work on mine? Now you have me wondering.

    As far as your problem, I'll take a look in my shop manual. If I don't post here about it by 10:00 tonight, then I didn't find anything...;)
     
  4. Nov 28, 2009 at 2:33 PM
    #4
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System
    That's not a factory cruise set up. No Toyota I've ever seen has a light on the stalk, and most have a light in the dash, too.

    Check and make sure everything is there, and go from there. There is most likely a shop in your area that deals with aftermarket alarms, cruise, etc., that can fix it. If they're like the ones we have at work, they'll either shoot you an estimate to fix it, or tell you it's not worth messing with.
     
  5. Nov 28, 2009 at 3:37 PM
    #5
    Werloc

    Werloc Large Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Member:
    #17604
    Messages:
    540
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Central, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Double Cab 4X4 TRD 3.4 V6
    So I guess mine is factory, and A-OK....:D
     
  6. Nov 28, 2009 at 3:49 PM
    #6
    MTgirl

    MTgirl too many frogs, not enough princes... Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Member:
    #23531
    Messages:
    58,339
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Weesa
    in the forest
    Vehicle:
    Now: 12 T4R SR5 Then: 99 - 3.4L SR5 4WD
    Wheeler's/Alcan 5-pack leaf springs, Bilstein 5100's front and rear, OME 881's, de-badged, Jungle Fender Flares, Herculined bed, HomerTaco grille, Anzo headlights, clear corners, CVT Mt. Bachelor RTT, custom bed rack & CBI sliders
    there were a few tsb's around that time for wiring issues - mostly with rear diff and towing packages. not sure if that includes your truck and/or aftermarket cruise but could be worth checking into.
     
  7. Nov 28, 2009 at 4:00 PM
    #7
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System
    Yup.

    And on a side note. It seems we get an irate customer a couple times a year, who swears their factory cruise quit working, and we damn well better fix it, since they're taking a bunch of orphans to the Grand Canyon, and their lives rest in our hands. Never fails, open the door, and there's some god awful looking, hacked together stalk, sticking out of the column.

    It usually takes showing them a factory setup, which hasn't changed in years, to prove our point.
     
  8. Nov 29, 2009 at 11:35 AM
    #8
    Tejas TJ

    Tejas TJ [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Member:
    #21653
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    McKinney, TX
    Vehicle:
    00 Taco Prerunner SR5
    K well I guess I could post a picture.
     
  9. Nov 29, 2009 at 11:55 AM
    #9
    Tejas TJ

    Tejas TJ [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Member:
    #21653
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    McKinney, TX
    Vehicle:
    00 Taco Prerunner SR5
    Does anyone know where the fuses for the cruise control would be???
     
  10. Nov 29, 2009 at 12:08 PM
    #10
    Clatrans243

    Clatrans243 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Member:
    #25521
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Albuquerque, NM
    Vehicle:
    2010 4X4 TRD Off Road
    Just as an aside, does anybody know why they don't illuminate the cruise control switch, buttons, etc? Cruise control can be just as useful at night as it is in daylight, and with every brand using a different setup -- and sometimes different models of the same year within a brand -- being able to see what you're doing would be much better than having to do it by Braille.
     
  11. Nov 29, 2009 at 12:14 PM
    #11
    Werloc

    Werloc Large Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Member:
    #17604
    Messages:
    540
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Central, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Double Cab 4X4 TRD 3.4 V6
    I would think that once you know it, there's no need to look at it. I never look at mine. Just at the guages to make sure if it's on or off.
     
  12. Nov 29, 2009 at 12:15 PM
    #12
    Tejas TJ

    Tejas TJ [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Member:
    #21653
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    McKinney, TX
    Vehicle:
    00 Taco Prerunner SR5
    [​IMG]

    Here is what it looks like, so I guess it's aftermarket
     
  13. Nov 29, 2009 at 12:50 PM
    #13
    Werloc

    Werloc Large Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Member:
    #17604
    Messages:
    540
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Central, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Double Cab 4X4 TRD 3.4 V6
    Yeah, That's definitely NOT factory.
     
  14. Nov 29, 2009 at 1:30 PM
    #14
    kevhogaz

    kevhogaz Low Speed, High Drag

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Member:
    #9055
    Messages:
    323
    Gender:
    Male
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    SR5 PreRunner
    3" lift front & rear, Air Raid Intake System
    That's aftermarket. Beside the light, the three buttons instead of a single one, it's oriented for the left side of the wheel, Toyota's are always on the right.
     
  15. May 18, 2013 at 3:08 PM
    #15
    DaveInDenver

    DaveInDenver Not Actually in Denver

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Member:
    #104390
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    FoCo/Loveland
    Vehicle:
    White 2008 TRD OR AC M/T
    FOX, Camburg, OME, Mobtown
    Another post in a long dead thread, but just in case anyone else comes across this thread I just wanted to add more information.

    I just completed installing the Toyota PT474-35981 kit on my 2001 w/ 5VZ-FE and 5-speed and the shown stalk is the exact one that came with it. Mounted on the left side of the lower steering column trim.

    I don't recall the stalk having a part number, but most everything had Toyota or Aisin part numbers, control box in the right kick panel, factory actuator under the pedal, PITA harness.

    Here's the instructions to install the kit, which I assume was how all dealer installed cruise would have been installed. From the factory they must have used the right side stalk, which is what the owner's manual talks about.

    http://www.parksoffroad.com/tacomamods/miscinfo/tacocruisecontrol.pdf
     
  16. Jun 18, 2013 at 7:06 AM
    #16
    Bamahoyt

    Bamahoyt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Member:
    #36006
    Messages:
    534
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ted
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2001 TRD 4x4 Xtra Cab
    -Camper top
    I looked at a 99 SR5 yesterday and it had the same stalk and cruise control set up. It is a toyota setup I just don't understand why there were 2 created
     
  17. Jun 18, 2013 at 7:14 AM
    #17
    TACO TX

    TACO TX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Member:
    #87962
    Messages:
    2,169
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kelly
    Denison ,Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC 4x4 base model
    Husky liners, Toyo Open country AT2
    Mine is a 2003 and it looks exactley like the OP's. has a green light when it's activated. You have to push the button on the top left to set it. The end button turns it on. They did have tsb for theese at one point. Mines a little tricky at times. Mine is on te left as well.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  18. Jun 18, 2013 at 5:31 PM
    #18
    blknblubkrdude

    blknblubkrdude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Member:
    #17559
    Messages:
    86
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    96 Taco. 4X4, 5MT, 2.7
    Oil field truck with 250k miles...original powertain. Wheelers 881's/5-pack, Energy bushings throughout.
    That is identical to a aftermarket Rostra cruise control.... you guys probably don't have OEM like you believe.
     
  19. Jun 18, 2013 at 6:10 PM
    #19
    TACO TX

    TACO TX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Member:
    #87962
    Messages:
    2,169
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kelly
    Denison ,Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 DC 4x4 base model
    Husky liners, Toyo Open country AT2
    I can assure you that mine was on my truck the day my dad bought it brand new. Its never been replaced or tampered with. Its what came with the truck from toyota.[​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  20. Jun 18, 2013 at 10:07 PM
    #20
    blknblubkrdude

    blknblubkrdude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Member:
    #17559
    Messages:
    86
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Gillette, WY
    Vehicle:
    96 Taco. 4X4, 5MT, 2.7
    Oil field truck with 250k miles...original powertain. Wheelers 881's/5-pack, Energy bushings throughout.
    That is infact a Rostra unit!

    I worked for GM, and we installed several of these Rostra units on base model Chevy Cobalts/Aveo's, before a customer ever saw them! Many people can live without PW/PL, but must have cruise.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
To Top