1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

cruise control

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by hercchief, Jan 9, 2009.

  1. Jan 9, 2009 at 9:19 PM
    #1
    hercchief

    hercchief [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Member:
    #575
    Messages:
    7
    i have an 06 DC taco w/ auto and my cruise control quit working coming home from work. i checked the fusebox and i did not see any fuses for CC. any suggestions on where to start lookng:confused:
     
  2. Jan 9, 2009 at 9:27 PM
    #2
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I'm just brainstorming...

    Isn't there a vehicle speed wire on our trucks that operates separately from the odometer. I'm curious if it is fused separately too.
     
  3. Jan 9, 2009 at 11:15 PM
    #3
    surfsupl

    surfsupl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Member:
    #4161
    Messages:
    8,572
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gregg
    WestCoast
    Vehicle:
    I DONT CARE IF IT'S A RE-POST
    Rear Diff Breather~ 5100's ~Fog Light Anytime~Tint~TRD Seat Covers~Weather Tech's~Pioneer H.U.~Lift~Eibach Springs~LED's......blah...blah...blah
    Which fuse box did you look in? The one in the cab or the one under the hood?

    I found this site trying to look for info on your problem. Its called PDFTown. You can look at the whole wiring system for the Tacoma. After you click on the link below,click the download icon under the red Tacoma that is pictured. It would be a good idea to copy that password because you will need it to view the pdf's. I found the diagram for the cruise control that will help you. Good luck!

    http://pdftown.com/Toyota-Tacoma-2007-Wiring-Diagram.html

     
  4. Jan 10, 2009 at 3:48 AM
    #4
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,256
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    you still under warrantee?

    Take it to the dealer!
     
  5. Jan 10, 2009 at 7:49 AM
    #5
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,446
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    Southern Tier, NY
    Vehicle:
    2015 F150 3.5EB SCEW 6.5ft

    If it's real problem, yes. But if it's just a fuse who wants to schedule an appointment during the week while you're at work, catch a ride with someone else or sit around for hours just to have a tech replace a fuse? :laugh:

    There's a FSM download link in the thread in my sig. That might help.
     
  6. Jan 11, 2009 at 9:15 AM
    #6
    hercchief

    hercchief [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Member:
    #575
    Messages:
    7
    where is the fuse box on the cab located. is it on the driverside kickpanel or somewhere else?:confused:
     
  7. Jan 11, 2009 at 9:29 AM
    #7
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,158
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Left of the steering wheel right behind this:
    [​IMG]

    Pull this cubby out, and the fuses should be behind it.
     
  8. Jan 11, 2009 at 5:02 PM
    #8
    CtryBoyInMT

    CtryBoyInMT Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Member:
    #3632
    Messages:
    488
    Gender:
    Male
    United States of America
    Vehicle:
    2008 4WD V6 Access Manual TRD Off-Road
    Tinted windows, Rear locker anytime, Secondary filter delete, Parking light activated Fog lights, USA▪Spec Ipod adapter, Map light mod, Relocated 7-Blade, Warn Trans4mer Brushguard & winch, Tire chains, Homelink© installed in headliner, LED lighted 4x4 Switch, Defrost w/o A/C, Heated mirrors, Bilstein 5100's (1.75") & Rear TSB, 50w Reverse lights, Pratt & Whitney PT6A-68, Will this list ever end???
    I'm bored watching the football game, so I looked at the wiring diagram.
    There are three fuses to which the CC utilizes.

    20A=Cruise, under hood, drivers side (behind battery under a black cover.)

    7.5A=gauges in kickpanel, but you'd loose speedo, fuel, etc. gauges as well.

    7.5A=ECU-B underhood same box as the 20A above, Powers speed Sensor. I believe this would trigger a flashing Cruise light on dash.

    Any other possibilities would probably require a diagnostic as there is no way to tell if the cancel switch in stalk, brakelight switch, clutch switch (M/T), drive/Park/neutral selector (A/T) or erroneous speed sensor is causing the disconnect condition. Any failure otherwise would trigger the flashing Cruise light.

    Oh and if you have VSC, thats another mess of wires, diverse enough with color to rival a 1960's hippie shirt.
     
  9. Nov 16, 2014 at 9:22 AM
    #9
    grochef

    grochef New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Member:
    #142452
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gregg
    THANK YOU! I wanted to verify that I was using the correct plug under the dash. I installed the Cruise stalk and the clutch switch (what a pain) and while the dash light illuminates, the speed control does not yet work. I used an Ohm meter to see if the switch was bad and it was fine. Once connected to the switch, however, the change in resistance is not really full, like there is still something that is grounding out a little.

    Then there is the whole computerized engine re-tune after the battery is reconnected.

    Thank you again for the link to the manuals. What a find!!:yay::cheers:
     
  10. Nov 16, 2014 at 4:50 PM
    #10
    Canufixit

    Canufixit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Member:
    #84402
    Messages:
    1,283
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    People ask me "CANUFIXIT"!
    New England
    Vehicle:
    Black Taco '12 4x4
    Delay wiper mod. "Access" Tonneau cover. BedMat.

    IF I remember correctly, the Add Cruise mod listed on this site had a "Test" to be performed before adding a possible needed wire (under the steering wheel trim ?). IF you did not do this, I'd search and review the mod thread.

    Also, Be sure everything in the truck is working correctly (all lights including turn, stop and 3rd brake light for example. - the ECU may check to be sure all is OK before allowing you to use cruise.
     
To Top