1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Custom PID transmission temp

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by Freediver223, Aug 12, 2019.

  1. Aug 12, 2019 at 5:09 AM
    #1
    Freediver223

    Freediver223 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Member:
    #289592
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma 2WD regular cab
    I got the ELM327 bluetooth adapter for my truck and downloaded the Torque app. In order to get it to read the transmission temp I had to program in a custom PID. After alot of online searching and trial and error I think I have it reading the trans temp but I'm not 100% sure. I used the following inputs:

    21d9
    unit type: *F
    equation: ((((E*256)+F)*(7/100)-400)/10)

    Driving around for 15 miles with just me in the truck the reading I was getting went up to 160 degrees. I'm gonna try towing something today and see what it goes up to.

    Are these the correct inputs for a 2009 4 cylinder ? It could be some random reading I'm getting but 160 sounds about right to me.
     
  2. Aug 12, 2019 at 5:13 AM
    #2
    rnish

    rnish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Member:
    #129450
    Messages:
    3,466
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland USA
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma 2nd gen
    Pro Suspension (Bilstein), OME Dakar (med), armor
    Get or borrow a Scangauge or equal. That will be your standard.
     
  3. Aug 12, 2019 at 5:24 AM
    #3
    buckmaster243

    buckmaster243 I don’t know what to do with my hands

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Member:
    #138821
    Messages:
    1,452
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Buck
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCLB, 04 4runner
    These are the codes that I use
    Screenshot_20190812-052333.jpg
     
  4. Aug 12, 2019 at 5:26 AM
    #4
    buckmaster243

    buckmaster243 I don’t know what to do with my hands

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Member:
    #138821
    Messages:
    1,452
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Buck
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2013 DCLB, 04 4runner
    160 sounds rights. What was the temp outside and what was the type of driving?
     
  5. Aug 12, 2019 at 10:34 AM
    #5
    Freediver223

    Freediver223 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Member:
    #289592
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma 2WD regular cab
    Outside temp was about 70. Country roads going 35-60 mph.
     
  6. Aug 12, 2019 at 10:36 AM
    #6
    Freediver223

    Freediver223 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Member:
    #289592
    Messages:
    9
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma 2WD regular cab
    What do the letters in the equation correspond to ?
    It seems if I try the 2182 code no matter what letters I use it gives an error message.
     
  7. Aug 18, 2019 at 7:41 PM
    #7
    Fullboogie

    Fullboogie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Member:
    #218539
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prerunner & 2008 4Runner
    Here's what worked for me:

    Once in Torque for the first time, setup your vehicle profile, which will enable you to start using the app.

    From the main screen, hit your menu button, then choose "Manage extra PIDs/Sensors"

    Hit the menu button again, and choose "Add custom PID"

    Hit "OK"

    Under the first item called "OBD2 Mode and PID" enter "21d9"

    Under "long name" choose whatever you want. I typed in "Trans Custom"

    Under "short name" choose whatever you want. I typed in "Trans"

    Under "minimum value" leave it at "0" or type in "0"

    Under "maximum value" type in "300"

    Under "scale factor" leave it as "x1" or type in "x1"

    Under "unit type" type in "F"

    Here's the tricky part - under "equation" type this in, EXACTLY, without any spaces:

    (((((G*256)+H)*(7/100))-400)/10)

    That's *five* parentheses at the beginning! Just be sure that there are six total parentheses facing to the right, and six total to the left.

    Leave the rest blank and hit "OK"

    Now when you want to add a gauge to the display, you should see "Trans custom" or "Trans" or whatever you named it at the beginning.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2019
    Larzzzz likes this.
  8. Aug 23, 2019 at 8:26 AM
    #8
    TheDevilYouLove

    TheDevilYouLove You can’t polish a turd, but you can polish a TRD

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Member:
    #187953
    Messages:
    2,220
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Marylandistan
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD Sport Access cab 4x4 silver streak
    I use basically the same formula, but A and B are my variables. Can anyone explain why it works, though?

    Like what is the significance of (7% less 400) divided by 10? What is that factor?
     
  9. Aug 23, 2019 at 8:31 AM
    #9
    TheDevilYouLove

    TheDevilYouLove You can’t polish a turd, but you can polish a TRD

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Member:
    #187953
    Messages:
    2,220
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Marylandistan
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tacoma TRD Sport Access cab 4x4 silver streak
    And wouldn’t multiplying by -39.993 work just as well and be easier to type than ((7/100) -400)/10?
     
  10. Aug 26, 2019 at 11:16 AM
    #10
    Fullboogie

    Fullboogie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Member:
    #218539
    Messages:
    642
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prerunner & 2008 4Runner
    I have no idea man. I took that setup from someone who knows a whole lot more than me. There's gotta be some science-types on here that can explain it.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top