1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

D-link routers

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Jeremyjet1, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. Jul 24, 2009 at 1:16 AM
    #1
    Jeremyjet1

    Jeremyjet1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Member:
    #10585
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 TRD Sport
    none yet
  2. Jul 24, 2009 at 1:18 AM
    #2
    MiikeyD

    MiikeyD The Green Machine

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2017
    Messages:
    1,433
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Upland, CA
    Vehicle:
    Green Prerunner DC 2.7L
    Suspension / Wheels / Tires 3.5" Fabtech lift w/ AAL 265/75/16 BFG A/T American Racing Baja Audio Alpine HU CDA-9886 Kicker DS650 Z-Edition 1000W Memphis M3 US Amps 4000W 2.5Farad Cap Lighting 6000K HID 2 Hella 500FF 2 Aux Bed Lights 2 Aux Driving Lights Performance Volant CAI Flomaster Super 44 Doug Thorley Long Tube headers (coming soon) NGK Iridium Sparkplugs Accessories Scanguage II Cobra LTD27-NW with 3' Firestik Radio Shack Triple Trunking Scanner Harbor Freight Hi-Lift Cosmetics Flat Black Bumper Trim Flat Black Grill Surrounding with Satoshi Clear Corners Future Modifications (not specific) Longtravel w/ king shocks or fox Caged bed Shackles rear suspension. Fox / king shocks custom front bumper Custom Glassworks extreme kit for 01-04 (only have hood and passenger side.. need driver panel) Supercharger + 8port intake manifold optima yellow top battery remounted new rims caged interior rear bench removal 4 sparc
    D-link sucks. any wireless n FTW jk hehe.. i hate dlink. always had problems with their routers. linksis was sometimes. netgear i hear is good
     
  3. Jul 24, 2009 at 1:22 AM
    #3
    Jeremyjet1

    Jeremyjet1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Member:
    #10585
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 TRD Sport
    none yet
    Thanks, I know wireless is a pain (for me anyways) I'll research some netgear routers
     
  4. Jul 24, 2009 at 1:39 AM
    #4
    Jeremyjet1

    Jeremyjet1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Member:
    #10585
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 TRD Sport
    none yet
    Thats where I always look first the link I have listed was one of the top rated but I've only had Linksys so thought I might have luck with something different. Thanks!!
     
  5. Jul 24, 2009 at 3:11 AM
    #5
    GotLift37

    GotLift37 Bangers Runner

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Member:
    #6185
    Messages:
    1,774
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    down south
    Vehicle:
    07 4Runner 4WD
    2.5" front lift (leeper coilover) 1" body 16" Dick Cepek DC1 Black/polished 295/75/16 General Grabber AT2 Tinted Taillights 5% tint OEM Acura TSX HID Retrofit White LED dash light conversion
    we used to use netgear, till at&t sent us a free wireless router, 2wire is the brand of it.
     
  6. Jul 24, 2009 at 8:15 AM
    #6
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    These are pretty close to my sentiments (especially about d-link), though I would say that all routers have their problems.


    The router I like the most is my Buffalo WHR-G125. I replaced the firmware with Tomato, which works great.


    If I had to buy another one and couldn't get something Tomato-compatible, I'd go with a Linksys. Netgears are just a bit harder to set up.
     
  7. Jul 24, 2009 at 8:27 AM
    #7
    drew02a

    drew02a Rocking your mom's world Since 1997

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Member:
    #13005
    Messages:
    3,179
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Regular Cab 2.7L 4x4
    Netgear has given me more problems than D-Link or Linksys combined.

    Right now I have the Linksys Wireless VPN router. It has given me ZERO problems. If you want to get something that will work consistently, you'll probably have to put a little more money into it.

    I happen to have a normal linksys wireless router sitting around though if you're interested. I don't remember right off hand what model it is.
     
  8. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:02 AM
    #8
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    I guess I should mention that I have only really used their wired gear, which has been solid.


    That isn't really going to happen until you get into business grade stuff, which is way more than a home user is going to want to spend (think $500)
     
  9. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:04 AM
    #9
    drew02a

    drew02a Rocking your mom's world Since 1997

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Member:
    #13005
    Messages:
    3,179
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Regular Cab 2.7L 4x4
    I got my business grade Linksys VPN wireless N router on eBay for $51.50
     
  10. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:08 AM
    #10
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    dont go with the business grade routers, get your self a wrt, then load it with ddwrt firmware, its really easy, I would recommend you try this firmware on your current router before buying a new one http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv3/index.php
     
  11. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:10 AM
    #11
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    linksys by far makes the best routers you can get dont bother looking at any other brands, what model do you have right now? I will look to c if you can put dd-wrt on it, this firmware is capable of turning your router into a 600$ router
     
  12. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:17 AM
    #12
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    When I say business grade, I'm referring to stuff that's generally rack-mounted and comes with a full-fledged operating system. You can take certifications to operate it. Sometimes the manual (or manuals) is hardbound and comes in more than one volume.

    Linksys is small business at best, which is a division of Cisco, who makes the products I'm referring to. I'm not knocking your router, just differentiating the classifications.

    The trick is to find a router that will support it. Additionally, I find Tomato to be much more user-friendly. Again though, it's hard to find product.
     
  13. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:19 AM
    #13
    drew02a

    drew02a Rocking your mom's world Since 1997

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Member:
    #13005
    Messages:
    3,179
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Regular Cab 2.7L 4x4
    Yeah, I'm definitely not trying to classify my router as enterprise scale business class. It's just A LOT more reliable than the base models that I had to restart every time my ISP changed my IP address.
     
  14. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:20 AM
    #14
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    almost every wrt router is supported by dd-wrt, and you cant get a business grade rack mounted router for 50 bucks, I have taken the cisco networking academy, and I dont recommend a business grade that is running cisco IOS simply for the fact that it is not user friendly at all.

    I did a search for supported routers starting with wrt on the dd-wrt site and this is what it comes up with. check to c if your model is on there before you go buying a new router I would suggest.
    54 routers found Manufacturer Model Revision Supported Activation required Linksys WRT110 ? not possible
    Linksys WRT150N 1.0/1.1 yes
    Linksys WRT160N 1.0/1.1 yes
    Linksys WRT160N 2.0 wip
    Linksys WRT160N 3.0 no
    Linksys WRT300N v1.0 yes
    Linksys WRT300N v1.1 yes
    Linksys WRT300N v2.0 wip
    Linksys WRT310N v1.0 yes
    Linksys WRT330N ? not possible
    Linksys WRT350N v1.0 yes
    Linksys WRT51AB 1.0 wip
    Linksys WRT54G v1.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v1.1 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v2.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v2.2 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v3.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v3.1 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v4.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v5.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v5.1 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v6.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v7.0 not possible
    Linksys WRT54G v7.2 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v8.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v8.1 yes
    Linksys WRT54G v8.2 yes
    Linksys WRT54G-LA v8 yes
    Linksys WRT54G-TM ? yes
    Linksys WRT54G2 1.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54GC ? no
    Linksys WRT54GL 1.0/1.1 yes
    Linksys WRT54GP2A-AT ? wip
    Linksys WRT54GR ? not possible
    Linksys WRT54GS v1.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54GS v1.1 yes
    Linksys WRT54GS v2.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54GS v2.1 yes
    Linksys WRT54GS v3.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54GS v4.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54GS v5.0 / v5.1 yes
    Linksys WRT54GS v6.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54GS v7.0 yes
    Linksys WRT54GS v7.2 yes
    Linksys WRT54GX 1.0 not possible
    Linksys WRT54GX v2 not possible
    Linksys WRT54GX4 ? not possible
    Linksys WRT55AG 1.0 yes
    Linksys WRT55AG 2.0 not possible
    Linksys WRT600N v1.0 yes
    Linksys WRT600N v1.1 yes
    Linksys WRT610N 1.0 wip
    Linksys WRTSL54GS all yes
    Linksys WRTU54G-TM ? no
     
  15. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:23 AM
    #15
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    this tomato looks interesting tho, looks like they are going for the more simple approach I am tempted to check it out.
     
  16. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:26 AM
    #16
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,962
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Completely agree. I didn't take any classes, but noodling between a Cisco and a Netgear, I'll take the Netgear!
    Still wish Intel had the focus they used to on networking :(

    Fixed. I have at least 3 WRT54G routers that aren't supported
     
  17. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:30 AM
    #17
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    I am using it on a new 60 dollar wrt-160N router and it works fine plus I used it on my old wrt54G
    We had this problem with the business grade linksys routers in our class rooms in college, those things drove me nuts, but I am sure they are better than the consumer grade, either way if you put dd-wrt on a consumer grade it makes it work 100x better than even the business grade routers, I have never had to reboot my router once since I installed it.
     
  18. Jul 24, 2009 at 9:31 AM
    #18
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    lol I like how the guy who started this is just sittin back watchin while we debated routers and firmwares
     
  19. Jul 24, 2009 at 10:44 AM
    #19
    Jeremyjet1

    Jeremyjet1 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Member:
    #10585
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5 TRD Sport
    none yet
    Thanks for all the suggestions I have a WRT54GX2. The wireless seems to come and go., But my desktop is attached through an ethernet cable and it is working fine. I don't think the laptop is the problem.
     
  20. Jul 24, 2009 at 11:03 AM
    #20
    nad

    nad mmmm tacos!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Member:
    #17388
    Messages:
    3,075
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jordan
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 Sierra All Terrain
    yeah its not possible to run dd-wrt on your router, I would get another wireless client such as a laptop or pda/iphone and c if you lose the wireless signal on that when you lose it on your router, just to eliminate it being your laptop.
     
To Top