1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dakota Digital install

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by finecamaro69, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. Nov 2, 2009 at 10:39 AM
    #1
    finecamaro69

    finecamaro69 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Member:
    #19158
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD sport 4WD
    2" spacer Suspension lift, Dakar Leafs
    Ok since I could only find one write up on this and it was for an automatic I thought that I would help anyone else out there that was planning on installing one of these in a manual. When I bought my truck the speedometer was about 15-20 mph off at higher speeds (I was going 55 speedo said 70). So I picked up the Dakota on ebay for $75 and free shipping. My truck is a 2006 Access cab TRD sport V6 w/ manual transmission.

    First step find the speed sensor wire. I actually tied into the speed sensor wire going directly into the guages so I wouldn't mess up ABS or anything.

    [​IMG]

    I tapped into the red wire w/ a yellow stripefor the speed info.
    [​IMG]
    The side of the wire going into the plug is the output from the module and the the other end is the input.
    I used the purple wire in the same location for ACC power. That way its the same power as the gauges anyway.

    This is the module, I connected the output wire to the out 4 slot. Also switches 1 and 4 are in the on position.
    [​IMG]

    For a ground I just tapped into one of the ground wires (white w/ Black stripe) at the kick panel on the drivers side.
    [​IMG]

    I just installed it on the back of the change drawer with double sided tape for easy access to calibrate it.
    [​IMG]

    As for calibration just look at the instructions that come with it. I found it easiest to use the calibrate in park method. Hope this helps for someone. Let me know of any questions there still are.
     
  2. Nov 2, 2009 at 11:49 AM
    #2
    HondaGM

    HondaGM Roll Tide

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Member:
    #25056
    Messages:
    5,769
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    James
    South-Pole
    Vehicle:
    09 DC 4x4 Blown Honda VTEC V8
    trd exhaust,step bars,vent visors,bed lights,tailgate mod
    great job!
     
  3. Nov 5, 2009 at 10:49 AM
    #3
    finecamaro69

    finecamaro69 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Member:
    #19158
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD sport 4WD
    2" spacer Suspension lift, Dakar Leafs
    The dakota digital also fixed the odometer when I installed it this way so now my mileage won't be too high.:D
     
  4. Nov 17, 2009 at 11:26 PM
    #4
    randy69

    randy69 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Member:
    #26057
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Weed, Ca
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma 6" pro comp w/35's
    I was looking at buying the dakota digital. How is it working? I have an 05 Access Cab 4 cyl with a manual transmission. I wonder if the wires will be the same? how did you determine which wires to use?
     
  5. Nov 18, 2009 at 5:23 AM
    #5
    rb11701

    rb11701 Oh yeah!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Member:
    #15708
    Messages:
    1,185
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rob
    Vehicle:
    '09 Silver Streak TRD Off-Road
    Rear Suspension TSB, DTRL Mod, aFe Pro-Dry S,USA Spec PA15-TOY iPod Adapter, Dynolock Tailgate Lock, UltraGauge OBDII Scanner, CoverKing Neoprene Seat Covers
    You were 15MPH off? That's crazy. Are all Gen2 years like that?
     
  6. Nov 18, 2009 at 5:29 AM
    #6
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8006
    Messages:
    9,591
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    NC/SC
    Vehicle:
    4Runner Trail
    x2 how in the world was your speedo that far off?? my gen 2 was/is not off like that. and it looks like you may still have 265 size tires on there :confused:

     
  7. Nov 18, 2009 at 6:52 AM
    #7
    dktaco

    dktaco Yes MAObama is a joke!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Member:
    #25643
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    So. Cal (D-town aka Downey)
    Vehicle:
    05' Pre-Runner SR5 6-spd Modded
    5100's set @ 2.5", Wheeler's AAL, Toyota factory trailer hitch w/ a Reese 3.5" drop ball, Gaylord's Tonneau cover, BLHM w/ 35w 6000k HID's, Lumincs yellow fogs, Sylvania 886 bulbs in taillights for reverse lights, Debadged, Dee-Zee nerf bars, Shorty black antenna, 3M rubberized billet grille & surround, Toyo Open Country AT's 31's, K&N intake, 40 series Flowmaster, Redline Racing Synthetic fluid all the way around, Wet Okole set covers, dash mat, Sirius Starmate 5 hardwired, Cobra radar detector hardwired, paint always taken care of the finest products from Autogeek.net and a Porter Cable dual action polisher.
    Nice work, but why all the hassle? Take it to the dealer and tell them to program it right like it should have been from day one when you bought the truck!
     
  8. Nov 19, 2009 at 1:38 PM
    #8
    finecamaro69

    finecamaro69 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Member:
    #19158
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD sport 4WD
    2" spacer Suspension lift, Dakar Leafs
    When I bought the truck it was used with the lift and tires all on there. The reason why the speedo was that far off was the previous owner put new gears on there. I think they are 4.10's. The dealership said that they couldn't reprogram a speedo after they said that they could at the time of sale. So this was the cheapest option that I could find. Also it is still working perfectly.

    To determine which wire to use I looked in the pdf manual I found online, and found the schematic for the combination meter(guage cluster). Found the speed sensor wire and a power wire and went from there. The 05' should be similar, but just check the schematic to be sure.

    Also my tires are LT285/60R18, so they are only about an inch bigger than stock.
     
  9. Nov 19, 2009 at 2:58 PM
    #9
    dktaco

    dktaco Yes MAObama is a joke!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Member:
    #25643
    Messages:
    286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    So. Cal (D-town aka Downey)
    Vehicle:
    05' Pre-Runner SR5 6-spd Modded
    5100's set @ 2.5", Wheeler's AAL, Toyota factory trailer hitch w/ a Reese 3.5" drop ball, Gaylord's Tonneau cover, BLHM w/ 35w 6000k HID's, Lumincs yellow fogs, Sylvania 886 bulbs in taillights for reverse lights, Debadged, Dee-Zee nerf bars, Shorty black antenna, 3M rubberized billet grille & surround, Toyo Open Country AT's 31's, K&N intake, 40 series Flowmaster, Redline Racing Synthetic fluid all the way around, Wet Okole set covers, dash mat, Sirius Starmate 5 hardwired, Cobra radar detector hardwired, paint always taken care of the finest products from Autogeek.net and a Porter Cable dual action polisher.
    ^ Makes sense thanks for clarifying.
     
  10. Aug 14, 2012 at 6:02 AM
    #10
    MrGrimm

    MrGrimm Mall Crawler

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Member:
    #24568
    Messages:
    2,732
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dean
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma 4WD w/TRD Sport Package
    See build page
    I really need to calibrate my speedometer. Where is the install for an automatic?
     
  11. Aug 14, 2012 at 10:56 AM
    #11
    finecamaro69

    finecamaro69 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Member:
    #19158
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD sport 4WD
    2" spacer Suspension lift, Dakar Leafs
    It's basically the same install. The only difference would be the wiring harness. Others have tapped into the speed sensor wires near the glove box. I would check out schematic for the automatic and find where the best tap in location would be. I couldn't find the install that I had seen before. It has been 3 years since I installed this and it still works great.
     
  12. Aug 14, 2012 at 12:38 PM
    #12
    DueNorth

    DueNorth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Member:
    #14934
    Messages:
    1,833
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 BSP TRD Sport DCSB 6sp
    Nice write up! I thought about going with a Dakota digital but decided not to for various reasons. I decided to go with a more plug and play type option and went with hypertech's speedometer calibrator. Super easy to install and works perfectly.

    A little bit more $$ but does the same thing. Perfect for simple minded ppl like me :D
     
  13. Aug 14, 2012 at 4:51 PM
    #13
    MrGrimm

    MrGrimm Mall Crawler

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Member:
    #24568
    Messages:
    2,732
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dean
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma 4WD w/TRD Sport Package
    See build page
    Did you get the "In-Line Speedometer Calibrator Module"? or the "Speedometer Calibrator"?
     
  14. Aug 14, 2012 at 4:55 PM
    #14
    DueNorth

    DueNorth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Member:
    #14934
    Messages:
    1,833
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Southern Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2014 BSP TRD Sport DCSB 6sp
    Sorry, I should clarify...

    It would be the "in-line speedometer calibrator module"
     
  15. Aug 14, 2012 at 5:00 PM
    #15
    MrGrimm

    MrGrimm Mall Crawler

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Member:
    #24568
    Messages:
    2,732
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dean
    Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tacoma 4WD w/TRD Sport Package
    See build page
    Cool, I will have to check that out.
     
  16. Aug 14, 2012 at 9:54 PM
    #16
    badger

    badger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Member:
    #70102
    Messages:
    773
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
  17. Aug 15, 2012 at 5:16 AM
    #17
    Hubs

    Hubs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Member:
    #79413
    Messages:
    102
    Gender:
    Male
    I have noticed that my speedo is 5-7 mph offset from my GPS at hiway speeds also. Truck is all stock.
     
To Top