1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dakota Universal Speedo Corrector: An easy alternative to the HyperTech

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by EatSleepTacos, Aug 1, 2019.

  1. Sep 7, 2019 at 6:34 AM
    #21
    Mario2278

    Mario2278 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2019
    Member:
    #299254
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mario
    Vehicle:
    2005 black Toyota tacoma trd sport
    6" fabtech left 35" tires
    That's cheap but I'm really curious to see if it would work on a auto. For now I use my gps and my speedo is 5mph lower than actual speed.
     
  2. Sep 7, 2019 at 6:38 AM
    #22
    EatSleepTacos

    EatSleepTacos [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Member:
    #151688
    Messages:
    53,064
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Hampton Roads, VA
    Vehicle:
    4x4 2005 SR5 AC 6MT
    I don’t see why it wouldn’t, so long as you make sure you’re intercepting the speed wire that feeds the gauge cluster.
     
  3. Sep 7, 2019 at 6:45 AM
    #23
    Mario2278

    Mario2278 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2019
    Member:
    #299254
    Messages:
    95
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mario
    Vehicle:
    2005 black Toyota tacoma trd sport
    6" fabtech left 35" tires
    I just might do it since I also plan on regearing soon. Nice find here
     
    EatSleepTacos [OP] likes this.
  4. Sep 7, 2019 at 8:01 AM
    #24
    Torspd

    Torspd Tor-nication

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Member:
    #22958
    Messages:
    21,754
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tor
    The Great America!
    Vehicle:
    MMVI 4.4L 4x4 Access Cab
    Torspd Custom Turbo kit [] Borg Warner 9180EFR Turbo [] Haltech Elite 2500 [] TiAL Q BOV [] TiAL V44 Wastegate @ 15psi [] CP Pistons [] CP Carrillo Rods [] ARP Head studs [] ARP Main Studs [] ARP Header - Head Studs [] Ported Heads w/ 1mm oversized valves intake/exhaust [] Brian Crower Forged Stroker Crank [] Darton M.I.D. Sleeved Block [] Kelford Camshafts [] Torspd 160* T-stat mod [] APR Large Fuel Rail [] Walbro 460 LPH E85 Fuel Pump [] FueLab FPR [] APR T56 Conversion Kit [] KP RACING Built T56 [] McLeod Racing Custom Twin Disk Clutch [] One Piece Aluminum Driveshaft [] MGW Shifter [] Custom lowering kit [] Ohlins Front Coilovers [] QA1rear shocks [] Custom Ron Davis Radiator [] Dual SPAL Electric Fans []
    I've been using this Dakota Digital box since I installed my T56. Only difference in wiring, is that I used an easier location to access. The ECU in the kick panel.

    Edit* Added a length of wire with bullet splices to be able to adjust the speed while I drove.
     
  5. Sep 7, 2019 at 8:07 AM
    #25
    EatSleepTacos

    EatSleepTacos [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Member:
    #151688
    Messages:
    53,064
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Hampton Roads, VA
    Vehicle:
    4x4 2005 SR5 AC 6MT
    While driving to TN for ATR I finally noticed this as well. If I had cruise control set at 55 it'd drop to 50, then right back up. Only for a split second and randomly like you said, so it doesn't bother me.
     
    buyobuyo likes this.
  6. Sep 7, 2019 at 10:52 AM
    #26
    buyobuyo

    buyobuyo Read The Fucking Manual

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Member:
    #4417
    Messages:
    5,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Camden, AR
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5, I4, Manual, Silver
    A thing or two...
    Automatics use the wheel speed sensors to generate the speed signal through the ABS module, so I doubt you will see a change in speed from your regear. However, the DD box will correct the factory offset. You might need to connect to OUT1 instead of OUT2 because of the difference in how the speed signal is generated, but you'll have to test that out to know for sure.
     
    SR-71A likes this.
  7. Oct 4, 2019 at 1:34 PM
    #27
    Taco-Obsessed

    Taco-Obsessed Wildlife Peeping Tom

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018
    Member:
    #276756
    Messages:
    6,339
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    2015 4x4 DCLB: Work in Progress
    Never ending
  8. Oct 4, 2019 at 2:21 PM
    #28
    welderf15

    welderf15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Member:
    #66687
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Clovis, CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 DCSB
    Great find gents......thanks for spreading the word.

    Can anyone confirm this will work on a V6 AT taco?
     
  9. Oct 4, 2019 at 3:51 PM
    #29
    buyobuyo

    buyobuyo Read The Fucking Manual

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Member:
    #4417
    Messages:
    5,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Camden, AR
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5, I4, Manual, Silver
    A thing or two...
    I would assume that it would work. You might have to use out1 instead of out2 that is used on the manuals. I haven't heard of anyone with an automatic Tacoma running one yet, and @EatSleepTacos and I are both manual.
     
    EatSleepTacos [OP] likes this.
  10. Oct 21, 2019 at 3:01 PM
    #30
    rphillips

    rphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Member:
    #197271
    Messages:
    981
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Norene TN.
    Vehicle:
    2013 Reg. cab 4x4
    none
    Hey Jeremy, are you saying that with my 2013 Taco reg. cab, 2.7, auto, 4x4, If I re-gear from the OEM 4.11 to a 4.88, the speedo wouldn't need calibrating, as the speed is taken from the wheel speed? You said you doubt you will see a change from the re-gear. How do I find out for sure? That would be grrrrreat if it's correct
     
  11. Oct 21, 2019 at 7:40 PM
    #31
    buyobuyo

    buyobuyo Read The Fucking Manual

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Member:
    #4417
    Messages:
    5,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Camden, AR
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5, I4, Manual, Silver
    A thing or two...
    Regearing changes your speed vs RPM, but not the actual speed of the wheel. Changes in tire diameter will be seen because the computer thinks you're traveling a set distance per tire revolution, and you're changing that distance with a larger tire.
     
  12. Oct 21, 2019 at 8:18 PM
    #32
    rphillips

    rphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Member:
    #197271
    Messages:
    981
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rick
    Norene TN.
    Vehicle:
    2013 Reg. cab 4x4
    none
    Gosh man, that is great to know. Back in my day, every speedo was driven off the trans. but back then there were no wheel sensors, nor crank sensors, nor cam sensors, nor oxygen sensors, we didn't even know we needed that stuff back then. Thanks, you've made my day.
     
    ovrlndkull and buyobuyo like this.
  13. Dec 3, 2019 at 6:13 AM
    #33
    kidsmoke

    kidsmoke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Member:
    #150859
    Messages:
    1,114
    Gender:
    Male
    Flyover Country
    Vehicle:
    '13 BR AC SR5 4x4 AT
    Anyone done this to an AT V6 yet?
     
  14. Dec 3, 2019 at 1:15 PM
    #34
    Jeff Lange

    Jeff Lange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Member:
    #155616
    Messages:
    1,629
    Edmonton, AB
    Vehicle:
    '86 AE86, '05 NCP13, '11 GSE21
    I used an SGI-5E in my Lexus to modify the signal going to the ECU for cruise control and also occasionally get a blip in the signal that causes a cruise control error. Only seems to happen at specific speeds if I am cruising for a long period of time, notably at 120km/h. So I just set my cruise at 118 or 122 or something instead.

    If you guys that are having similar issues with the speedo randomly jumping around figure out how to fix it I’d love to know.

    The speed signal coming into the cluster is the same for auto and manual, so this can be used for automatic or manual. Only 2005-2010 manuals have the speed signal coming from the transmission. 2011-2015 all are from the wheel speed.

    Jeff
     
  15. Apr 4, 2020 at 9:36 AM
    #35
    HumbldtToyo707

    HumbldtToyo707 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Member:
    #237003
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Vehicle:
    06 SWB Taco TRD 6-spd
    Custom rock sliders 2.5" Lift on Revtek
  16. Apr 4, 2020 at 9:40 AM
    #36
    Taco-Obsessed

    Taco-Obsessed Wildlife Peeping Tom

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018
    Member:
    #276756
    Messages:
    6,339
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    San Jose
    Vehicle:
    2015 4x4 DCLB: Work in Progress
    Never ending
    I'm interested in this too.
     
  17. Apr 4, 2020 at 10:16 AM
    #37
    buyobuyo

    buyobuyo Read The Fucking Manual

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Member:
    #4417
    Messages:
    5,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Camden, AR
    Vehicle:
    08 PreRunner SR5, I4, Manual, Silver
    A thing or two...
    Looks like it's an updated version with built-in bluetooth for setting it.
     
  18. Apr 4, 2020 at 10:20 AM
    #38
    HumbldtToyo707

    HumbldtToyo707 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Member:
    #237003
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Vehicle:
    06 SWB Taco TRD 6-spd
    Custom rock sliders 2.5" Lift on Revtek
    That's my conclusions as well, just want them to confirm.
     
  19. Apr 4, 2020 at 12:02 PM
    #39
    Jeff Lange

    Jeff Lange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Member:
    #155616
    Messages:
    1,629
    Edmonton, AB
    Vehicle:
    '86 AE86, '05 NCP13, '11 GSE21
  20. Apr 4, 2020 at 12:32 PM
    #40
    EatSleepTacos

    EatSleepTacos [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Member:
    #151688
    Messages:
    53,064
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Hampton Roads, VA
    Vehicle:
    4x4 2005 SR5 AC 6MT
    There’s a guy on FB who I recommended this to and he mentioned blue tooth. I would assume he has the updated one. Let us know once you confirm.
     
    HumbldtToyo707 likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top