1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Damn Toyota TPMS!

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by piercedtiger, Sep 9, 2008.

  1. Sep 9, 2008 at 2:03 PM
    #1
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger [OP] Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
  2. Sep 9, 2008 at 2:10 PM
    #2
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    Serious man i feel your pain they need to lower the price on them bad boys are other manufactures that much?
     
  3. Sep 9, 2008 at 2:30 PM
    #3
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger [OP] Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    Yeah. I mean, I can live without it, and I'll probably end up doing something to get rid of the damn blinking light. But it would be nice to have something notify me when the tires are over/under inflated so maybe I get more miles out of them (considering I just spent $200 more for tires this time around and they were smaller!), and maybe better gas mileage too. I'm too lazy or don't have time to pop all the caps off and check pressure once a week or whatever. One tire was always dropping to 25 PSI and didn't look any different than the ones at 40 in my eyes. So short of a TPMS or manually checking each tire I never know until they're low enough to affect handling or wear wrong.

    And if I were to fix the system it's better to go aftermarket! Not only is it cheaper, but you get more functionality and reduced maintenance costs! :rolleyes: That Orange system displays individual tire pressures AND temp so you know exactly which one is low instead of guessing, and sensors are only $31 to replace. hmmmmm.... A sensor that reads both pressure AND temperature is 1/4 the price of the Toyota ones?!? :mad: Guess spending nearly $30k on the truck wasn't enough.
     
  4. Sep 9, 2008 at 2:32 PM
    #4
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    Yeah i did the black tape mod when i didnt have the sensors in lol.
     
  5. Sep 9, 2008 at 2:57 PM
    #5
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger [OP] Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    lol I was thinking about that. I may just read up some more to figure out what wires I can cut to disable it completely. lol
     
  6. Sep 9, 2008 at 4:27 PM
    #6
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    You have an 06 i believe we can cut the wire to cancel the tpms.
     
  7. Sep 9, 2008 at 4:42 PM
    #7
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    8,279
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    Yes we can! And The 05's don't have to cut anything for no TPMS! Agree the whole sensor thing is a PITA PT!! :mad: TN had a pretty easy mod posted, I printed it out & was gonna do it for swapping out winter tires. Never got around to it...........
     
  8. Sep 9, 2008 at 4:48 PM
    #8
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    Yup tn is where i saw it.
     
  9. Sep 9, 2008 at 4:52 PM
    #9
    EquinsuOcha

    EquinsuOcha Bourbon

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Member:
    #5368
    Messages:
    3,674
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Casey
    Ft Worth, TX
    Vehicle:
    07 PreRunner
    AFE Drop-in filter, Wet Okole seat covers, Hifonics 6.5" components in front, MA Audio midbasses in rear, Kicker 8", RE Audio 2 channel for components, Elemental Designs bridged 2-channel for sub, CB, Devil Horns, Rancho QuickLift, Rancho RS9000XL rear shocks, Toytec AAL, stickers, things and stuff.
    I cracked open the gauge cluster and ripped that LED out. Not the safest thing to do, but it got rid of the light.

    I may buy that system from TireRack if I get some new wheels though. It looks cool at least.
     
  10. Sep 9, 2008 at 5:39 PM
    #10
    Caddmannq

    Caddmannq MotoNerd

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Member:
    #8917
    Messages:
    420
    Gender:
    Male
    California
    Vehicle:
    PreRunner SR5 TRD Sport DC LB
    Undercover toneau
    Is it not possible to re-program the TPS system yourself without spending $1000 for diagnostics equipment?
     
  11. Sep 9, 2008 at 6:55 PM
    #11
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger [OP] Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    Nope! Only Toyota garages can reprogram the ECU with new serial number(s) off the sensor(s). :mad: And even if I could reprogram it, the damn sensors are damn near as expensive as a whole new complete aftermarket kit! :mad::mad::mad::mad: :frusty:
     
  12. Sep 9, 2008 at 6:57 PM
    #12
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger [OP] Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    Are you talking about the one where you dump all the sensors into a sealed section of PVC pipe with a valve stem on the end, pressurize it, and leave it in the truck somewhere? If so, that ain't gonna work for me since one of them is dead now. Unless I try taking it off the wheel and fix it myself. Maybe it got clogged or something....
     
  13. Sep 10, 2008 at 7:34 AM
    #13
    Simon's Mom

    Simon's Mom Wag More Bark Less

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Member:
    #1297
    Messages:
    8,279
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Judy or Jude :)
    SBurl Vermont
    Vehicle:
    13 TRD OR DC MGM
    Stock for now
    No not that one, it was the one where you cut the wire in the harness behind the glove box, put a male connector, wait, I went and search over at TN, noticed the pics are gone! I do have a print out of the mod and bought the parts (less than $5), no pipe bomb for me. However, I never did the mod. Will look for the print out I know I have it, when I find it do I scan the thing?

    Yes corrosion since we live in a beautiful winter salty wonderland it is just another thang to watch out for.
     
  14. Sep 10, 2008 at 8:41 AM
    #14
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger [OP] Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    cool. I think I can figure out what wires they're talking about from a ttora post I found. Just need to take a look this weekend maybe.
     
  15. Sep 10, 2008 at 9:07 AM
    #15
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    If you do get it going this weekend PT post some pics make a write up and add it to your list of mods. would be helpful since the tn post is gone.
     
  16. Sep 10, 2008 at 9:56 AM
    #16
    piercedtiger

    piercedtiger [OP] Devout Atheist

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Member:
    #3284
    Messages:
    6,373
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jon
    B.F.E., NY
    Vehicle:
    06 TRD OR DC SB 6SPD
    Bestop canopy, hood struts, relocated 7-pin, 3" Toytec spacer/AAL, 265/75 16 Yokohama Geolander ATS, Hi-Lift mounted in bed, fog light mod, turn signal mod, locker mod, driver seat mag light mount, step bars, reinforced tailgate, ABS kill switch, black grill surround, bed lights, Brute Force front
    yeah, tell me about it! Hopefully it won't take too much trial and error to get the right wire....:rolleyes:
     
  17. Sep 10, 2008 at 10:03 AM
    #17
    SocalMan22

    SocalMan22 Founder Socaltacomas.com Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1146
    Messages:
    8,155
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve-0
    So*Cal
    Vehicle:
    06 PreRunner Dbl Cab
    What Mods!
    Just what ever you do dont cut the blue wire Kabooooom lol.:boom:
     
  18. Jan 4, 2009 at 6:43 PM
    #18
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,194
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    '08 PreRunner SR5
    SOLD!

    Ill be doing this shortly. I was quoted around 350 bucks for the two front sensors to be replaced and the system reprogrammed. All this because the redneck tire shop i had install the tires evidently damaged the sensors.

    I thought of filing against the owner in small claims but my time is worth more then what the repayment will be. I am very disappointed to say the least.
     
  19. Feb 4, 2009 at 7:52 PM
    #19
    deadbolt

    deadbolt do w3rk!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Member:
    #5289
    Messages:
    3,005
    Gender:
    Male
    Socal
    Vehicle:
    08 Dbl Cab 6spd 4x4 TRD Off Road
    Black Headlights, HIDs, Tinted Fogs, Powdercoated Black Wheels, 5100s @ 2.5", Diff drop, AFE Exhaust, AFE Stage 2 Intake, Black Emblems/Grille, LED Tail lights, 265/75/16s Good Year Duratracs
    Im planning on taking the tires off and getting the rims powdercoated soon. When i put the tires back on i will not need new sensors right?
     
  20. Feb 4, 2009 at 7:56 PM
    #20
    jhodge83

    jhodge83 Any dog under 50# is a cat and cats are useless... Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1432
    Messages:
    27,109
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Moncks Corner, SC
    Vehicle:
    09 Timberland Mica DC 4WD Sport
    wat?
    no...u'd only need new sensors if u changed rims to a different type than the ones u have now
     
To Top