1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dash Cam Install - Will it work

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Firebug88, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. Dec 27, 2018 at 7:33 AM
    #1
    Firebug88

    Firebug88 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Member:
    #257665
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2018 Red Tacoma OR
    I have been wanting a dash cam for quite a while but never have liked the idea of running wires down either the headliner or directly to the cigarette lighter. I have been looking around on the forums and Amazon and think I have found something that will work but would like some kind of reassurance.

    https://www.amazon.com/AUKEY-Dashboard-Supercapacitor-Nighttime-Recording
    This is the dash cam that I'm thinking about since it has a mini-usb connection.

    https://www.amazon.com/Two-prong-Un...8&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=mirror+tap+dash+cam
    I am hoping that this will work in tandem with the dash cam so that I can just plug it up directly to the mirror. I believe that the mirror has a 12v source but would like some kind of confirmation.

    Edit: not looking to have the camera on when not running. main use will be video evidence of a wreck.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2018
  2. Dec 27, 2018 at 7:34 AM
    #2
    Tacowin1013

    Tacowin1013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Member:
    #205311
    Messages:
    2,227
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 OR DCSB 6MT MGM
    I've tapped my radar using the mirror tap before, but on my taco I hardwired it directly to the fuse. I dont see why it wouldn't work. Only downside is your dashcam is gonna be off when your truck is off. Defeating the purpose...
     
  3. Dec 27, 2018 at 7:59 AM
    #3
    Loaded NightraiN

    Loaded NightraiN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Member:
    #258225
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    17 TRD Off Road
    Is there a thread showing how to tap into the mirror?
     
  4. Dec 27, 2018 at 8:31 AM
    #4
    Scoobnoob1103

    Scoobnoob1103 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    Member:
    #249090
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charlie
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cement TRD OR
    Best dashcam setup is to wire your dashcam to an external battery like a cellink. The cellink charges when the car is running, and is not when the car is off. That way your battery isnt drained but the dashcam can run off the external battery while the car is parked. Those external batteries can provide up to 20+ hours of dashcam run time without the car running. Have that setup in all 3 of my cars
     
    t0nyvalenzuela likes this.
  5. Dec 27, 2018 at 8:47 AM
    #5
    mcdean

    mcdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Member:
    #188538
    Messages:
    194
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    San Jose, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCLB TRDOR 4x4 A/T
    LED int lights, Morimoto HID lows, Philips LED fogs
    There must be an always on 12v source up there. I added a HomeLink mirror and can open the garage even when the truck is off.
     
  6. Dec 27, 2018 at 8:59 AM
    #6
    kenstar

    kenstar Get a Lil Mud on the Tares

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Member:
    #30962
    Messages:
    191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ken
    Wrenching in the garage.
    Vehicle:
    10 4x4 TRD OR
    Pop 'n' Lock, EGR In-Chan, Bakflip G2, 6112, 5160, Dakar Set. Redline hood struts. WildPeak At3. TRD Pro Wheels. Apex Fab Fog lights; Other shit I can't remember.
    Like the other user mentioned, I have only tapped the mirror power for a radar detector. If you want to use the dash cam with ignition off there should be a power outlet 15 amp fuse in the instrument panel(going off a 2010 2nd gen) that is always live. If you do this make sure you are using a setup with a charge monitor so it doesn't completely drain your battery.

    The camera I use (thinkware f200) has two taps one for ignition on and one for parking mode with car off.. so for the ignition one - I tapped into the wiper power fuse so it knows when to go from constant mode to parking mode.
     
    canada_taco likes this.
  7. Dec 27, 2018 at 9:04 AM
    #7
    Firebug88

    Firebug88 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Member:
    #257665
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    Alabama
    Vehicle:
    2018 Red Tacoma OR
    So as long as I don't need the camera to be powered when the engine is not running, this setup should be fine. I would plug the positive wire to the brown one in the mirror and the negative to the black/white plug correct?
     
  8. Dec 27, 2018 at 9:07 AM
    #8
    Scoobarooo

    Scoobarooo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Member:
    #133735
    Messages:
    3,832
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Casey
    Brooksville, FL
    Vehicle:
    '02 DCSB TRD OR
    3" OME/Bilstein, Retrofits, Custom Bed rack/Toolbox, Amsoil Everything, tons of others.
    I would reccomend getting Garmin Dash cam. They sell a hard wire harness that goes with it that also allows it to record while the truck is parked and off using a motion sensor. I just back in everywhere I go and I'll catch someone if they back into me
     
  9. Dec 27, 2018 at 9:25 AM
    #9
    Jayscull

    Jayscull Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Member:
    #273636
    Messages:
    105
    First Name:
    Jay
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    19 Sport
  10. Dec 27, 2018 at 9:25 AM
    #10
    eMKay

    eMKay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Member:
    #266353
    Messages:
    375
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Buffalo, NY
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cavalry Blue DCOR 6MT
    Pro Grill, roof rack, HID headlights, yellow fogs, LED high beams, trailer brake controller
    I have a Garmin, I just cut the 12v plug (which reduces the supply to 5v anyway) and spliced it into a USB cable long enough to reach one of the USB ports in the center console.
     
    Scoobarooo likes this.
  11. Dec 30, 2018 at 5:23 PM
    #11
    rtzx9r

    rtzx9r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Member:
    #174071
    Messages:
    1,280
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bueller
    34997
    Vehicle:
    2016 DBSH TRD Sport
    I just ordered this off Amazon... it’s essentially a voltage converter from 12v to 5v. I am going to hard wire this into one of the wires in the overhead console (need to check out when they have power first) and then just run the short pigtail to the camera. I’m not worried about having it on when the truck is off, but I think the camera I got (DDPai mini 2) has a cap that powers it after it is shit off.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07J3LPVXC/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
     
  12. Dec 30, 2018 at 6:26 PM
    #12
    MikeyMcFly

    MikeyMcFly This is heavy, Doc.

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Member:
    #84551
    Messages:
    4,855
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm a Masshole
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 6MT / 1999 Corvette 6MT
    Building a Broja
    I got an Aukey DR-01 for Christmas. They offer a hardwire kit that plugs into the OBD2 port and is motion sensor activated. Since I have the ScanGuage already running off the OBD2 port I purchased a splitter as well. It will be interesting to see if it works out for what I want.

    OP, why do you not want to run it via the headliner? I just did that for my Scanguage and it was quite easy. As soon as my splitter comes in I plan on doing a second run for the camera.
     
  13. Dec 30, 2018 at 6:29 PM
    #13
    1bad2k

    1bad2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Member:
    #20889
    Messages:
    3,306
    Gender:
    Male
    Lone Star State
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma TRD PRO
    It's really not too difficult to run the wires down the a pillar and hide them well enough that no one would know unless you removed panels and pointed them out. The fuse taps sticking out of the fuse box would be the only giveaway. You gotta get the power from somewhere though.
     
  14. Dec 30, 2018 at 6:29 PM
    #14
    cruxx

    cruxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Member:
    #216831
    Messages:
    1,166
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Huy
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport
    Add a fuse to ignition source in fusebox under dash. Auto turns on when truck starts. All you need is a wiring harmess off Amazon
     
    1bad2k likes this.
  15. Jan 3, 2019 at 8:18 AM
    #15
    1Taco2Taco3TacoFloor

    1Taco2Taco3TacoFloor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Member:
    #273158
    Messages:
    114
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD 4x4 Sport
    Now this sounds promising. I've been mulling over what to do since I want constant power, but don't want to tap the fuse box and have the lid off. Meso has a lid but it's out of stock for the forseeable future.

    But this sounds just like what I need! Any threads or write-ups?
     
  16. Jan 3, 2019 at 8:58 AM
    #16
    LTG4087

    LTG4087 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Member:
    #81852
    Messages:
    1,212
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    LT
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2019 TRD Off Road
    You will still need to tap into power unless you just want to run on the battery 24/7 then you’ll need to figure out how to recharge it.
     
  17. Jan 3, 2019 at 9:01 AM
    #17
    1Taco2Taco3TacoFloor

    1Taco2Taco3TacoFloor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Member:
    #273158
    Messages:
    114
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD 4x4 Sport
    I looked into it. Unfortunately, I assumed that Cellink was wired directly to the battery, then the dashcam wired to Cellink. I'll just tap into an empty fuse. I think there is an empty fuse that is constant anyways.
     
  18. Jan 3, 2019 at 3:41 PM
    #18
    Scoobnoob1103

    Scoobnoob1103 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    Member:
    #249090
    Messages:
    139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charlie
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cement TRD OR
    No write ups but it is pretty straightforward. I just tapped used add-a-fuses to tap into two fuses in the fuse box underneath the steering wheel
     
  19. Jan 3, 2019 at 3:45 PM
    #19
    nm4553

    nm4553 You had me at "Meat Tornado"

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Member:
    #145655
    Messages:
    764
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    NEPA
    Vehicle:
    2017 DCSB TRD Sport
    SCS Stealth 6 Matte Bronze on Toyo Open Country 265/70R17, Fox 2.5 Coilovers, Bilstien 6150 w/ Remote Resi, Dakar Leaf Pack, Wheeler's Bumpstop, OVTuned
    Check my post here:

    https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/dash-camera-choices.415173/page-9#post-14133717
     
To Top