1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dash cams?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by ThunderOne, Jan 14, 2016.

  1. Jan 14, 2016 at 11:39 AM
    #1
    ThunderOne

    ThunderOne [OP] Average Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17473
    Messages:
    6,919
    First Name:
    Mitchell
    Nashville
    Vehicle:
    1ST GEN OR GTFO
    PlastiDERP
    Looking at buying a dash cam and making a montage of terrible drivers. Anyone using one? What are some good options?
     
  2. Jan 14, 2016 at 11:45 AM
    #2
    greeneggsnspam

    greeneggsnspam ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Member:
    #115524
    Messages:
    41,190
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    .gif
    Too poor to list anything interesting.
  3. Jan 14, 2016 at 11:49 AM
    #3
    TeamSarcasm

    TeamSarcasm Flawless Escalation to the Ludicrous

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Member:
    #51510
    Messages:
    10,989
    Gender:
    Male
    The better coast
  4. Jan 14, 2016 at 11:53 AM
    #4
    Bishop2Queens6

    Bishop2Queens6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Member:
    #57944
    Messages:
    1,432
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2009 DCSB MGM
    Afe CAI (removed back to stock intake), TSB 4 leaf pack with Firestone Air Bags and Daystar cradels, 3rd OEM HU, Wranger All Terrain Adventure with Kevlar 265/75/16, Cali raised LED pods, Wheeler Off Road Front Bump Stops.
    I got this when it first came out:

    Garmin nuviCamLMT HD

    [​IMG]

    The camera is built into the back of the GPS unit and records when ever its on. I just have it running when ever I'm driving even though I know where I'm going most of the time. When I'm parked, it goes in its case in the glove box out of site. Uses the run of the mill garmin mount so it's pretty plain and descrete.

    Records up to 1080p with sound and takes a 32 gb SD card.
     
    Tacoma2152 and TeamSarcasm like this.
  5. Jan 14, 2016 at 12:14 PM
    #5
    ThunderOne

    ThunderOne [OP] Average Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17473
    Messages:
    6,919
    First Name:
    Mitchell
    Nashville
    Vehicle:
    1ST GEN OR GTFO
    PlastiDERP
    Definitely interested in a small unit and a clear picture (make out license #'s etc). So far I'm overwhelmed with choices. Thanks guys :rolleyes:
     
  6. Jan 14, 2016 at 12:48 PM
    #6
    TeamSarcasm

    TeamSarcasm Flawless Escalation to the Ludicrous

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Member:
    #51510
    Messages:
    10,989
    Gender:
    Male
    The better coast

    one thing I can say is you want one that will start when you turn your key so you don't have to think about it (i suggest wiring it so it turns on with the first accessories). 99% of the time, with a statistic I just made up, you wont catch anything except how bad people drive. And the one time you forget to run it, you miss stuff.

    I missed a guy flying head on into a pole, and then the pole start tipping toward my car, all because I forgot to set up my camera.
     
  7. Jan 14, 2016 at 1:01 PM
    #7
    Two Tall

    Two Tall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Member:
    #48202
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jim
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD Off Road DCSB 4x4
    Retrax MXPro bed cover, Gentex Homelink mirror, TRD exhaust
    I've got a Thinkware x500 in the truck and a Garmin 20 in wife's Accord. Just got the Thinkware, so no long term review yet. The Garmin 20 is nice, but there are more features in the Thinkware. I've also got the companion rear view cam with the Thinkware.
     
  8. Jan 14, 2016 at 1:36 PM
    #8
    ThunderOne

    ThunderOne [OP] Average Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17473
    Messages:
    6,919
    First Name:
    Mitchell
    Nashville
    Vehicle:
    1ST GEN OR GTFO
    PlastiDERP
    Hmm. Street Guardian looks like it might be a winner. Good camera quality, small. Price is up there, but you get what you pay for.
    http://www.amazon.com/Street-Guardi...p/B019WXYCMM/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top?ie=UTF8
    Should do the job. Routing the wires will probably be a pain though. I don't want to mess with my headliner.
     
  9. Jan 14, 2016 at 4:10 PM
    #9
    Highboy90

    Highboy90 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Member:
    #94566
    Messages:
    220
    Gender:
    Male
    I recently purchased a Street Guardian 9665GC. While I haven't used it much. Night time does well considering. The seller "Pier28" has a pretty good reputation for sales and support. If you are looking for one of the better cams on the market, this is one of them.

    Dashcamtalk.com is a good place to research various models and read first hand reviews.
     
  10. Jan 14, 2016 at 5:44 PM
    #10
    File IFR

    File IFR "... Intercepting The Localizer"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Member:
    #74145
    Messages:
    4,512
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Central MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM 4X4 DC-LB TRD Sport
    TeamSarcasm likes this.
  11. Jan 14, 2016 at 5:52 PM
    #11
    wing103

    wing103 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7807
    Messages:
    1,143
    Gender:
    Male
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD Sport / Dark Gray
    Grill Craft upper & Lower Grill WetOK Seat Cover, Devil Horn, Bug, Windows Deflector, Side step Bar, HID 55W 8000K Headlight, HID 35W 4000K Foglight, Fog Light Mod, Interior LED Map Light Mod, Electric Tail Gate Lock, Leer Cab, Key ring light, Bed LED lights Mod, Kenwood DNX5120, Signal Mirror with Heat
  12. Jan 15, 2016 at 7:37 AM
    #12
    ThunderOne

    ThunderOne [OP] Average Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17473
    Messages:
    6,919
    First Name:
    Mitchell
    Nashville
    Vehicle:
    1ST GEN OR GTFO
    PlastiDERP
    I looked at those, but the quality looks spotty for that brand. I'd prefer to spend a little more for something I know will hold up to heat.

    That's not really in my budget for a dash cam. Can I afford it? Sure, but I don't really need to spend that much money on this type of device. But if it's in yours, it's probably a good camera!
     
  13. Jan 15, 2016 at 7:38 AM
    #13
    ThunderOne

    ThunderOne [OP] Average Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17473
    Messages:
    6,919
    First Name:
    Mitchell
    Nashville
    Vehicle:
    1ST GEN OR GTFO
    PlastiDERP
    I'm probably going to hard wire mine in so it kicks on once the truck is cranked.
     
  14. Jan 15, 2016 at 7:45 AM
    #14
    MastrChief

    MastrChief Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Member:
    #172294
    Messages:
    5
    Vehicle:
    2015 Black Tacoma Prerunner
    I got the Black Box G1W-H, and not not impressed with it. The time stamp always resets to 1/12/2014 and it randomly stops recording at 3:50. The time stamp resetting seems to be a recurring problem on dashcamtalk, and I haven't had the inclination to research why it stops recording at 3:50 randomly.

    I only paid $50 or so bucks for it on Amazon, so - I guess you get what you pay for. I'm also looking to upgrade, so watching this thread with interest.
     
  15. Jan 15, 2016 at 8:57 AM
    #15
    kingston73

    kingston73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Member:
    #20845
    Messages:
    2,844
    Gender:
    Male
    eastern MA
    Vehicle:
    09 SR5 4.0L 4x4
    If you look at the dash cam talk site that was posted, I have the mini 0805 which I like. It's small and is out of site behind the rear view mirror so it doesn't distract me at all when driving. YOu can hardwire it or plug it into the lighter outlet and it turns on and off automatically. The thing I like most about it is you can remove it while keeping the mount and wiring in place.
     
  16. Jan 15, 2016 at 10:19 AM
    #16
    Highboy90

    Highboy90 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Member:
    #94566
    Messages:
    220
    Gender:
    Male
    That's what I did. Pic of it in my Ridgeline.

    29e3fww_59f71e45647de7df5b113d85d3d33c8a4a1fde31.jpg

    11m7t04_f67645e897557a769f4fbb10d3ee608e021f3e50.jpg
     
    ThunderOne [OP] likes this.
  17. Jan 15, 2016 at 10:31 AM
    #17
    NetMonkey

    NetMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Member:
    #8536
    Messages:
    1,734
    Gender:
    Male
    Geogetown, TX
    Vehicle:
    2010, 4x4, DC, off-road, shortbed, automatic
    Toytec Ultimate Lift @ 3", Mickey Thompson MTZ's 285/75/16, Moto Metal 955b, rear 2" ALL, Marlin Crawler sliders
  18. Jan 15, 2016 at 10:53 AM
    #18
    ThunderOne

    ThunderOne [OP] Average Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17473
    Messages:
    6,919
    First Name:
    Mitchell
    Nashville
    Vehicle:
    1ST GEN OR GTFO
    PlastiDERP
    Did you run the hot wire to the interior fuse box? Also what fuse did you use for the camera? I've seen most people using 5A.
     
  19. Jan 15, 2016 at 11:02 AM
    #19
    Highboy90

    Highboy90 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Member:
    #94566
    Messages:
    220
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes I did. 5A is good. Used a Cell Power mini USB adapter and add-a-circuit fuse holder. Cheaper power adapters would probably work but that one was recommended.
     
  20. Jan 15, 2016 at 11:07 AM
    #20
    ThunderOne

    ThunderOne [OP] Average Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Member:
    #17473
    Messages:
    6,919
    First Name:
    Mitchell
    Nashville
    Vehicle:
    1ST GEN OR GTFO
    PlastiDERP
    That's what I'm planning on doing. Not sure why they don't include an add-a-circuit fuse holder in the kit though, especially when it's basically required to at least run an inline fuse from the power source.
     
To Top