1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dash Mods

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by CedarSvage, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. Dec 22, 2015 at 8:48 PM
    #1
    CedarSvage

    CedarSvage [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Member:
    #172913
    Messages:
    13
    Vehicle:
    2009 SR5 -> 2016 SR5
    Extang Solid
    I need a 2 amp USB charger for my phone and tablets. Found a couple on Amazon
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...rue&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_1&smid=ABBHRZJCBAFNB
    that are supposed to fit the empty slots with the pop out blanks. Wondering if anybody else has found a way to take advantage of these blanks and if they have any tips about how to pull the lower dash panels and where to pull 12v power from.

    Can't tell you how thrilled I was to find out my new 2016 Taco has a USB 2.0 charger that is 8 years out of date.
     
  2. Dec 23, 2015 at 7:42 AM
    #2
    aweddle14

    aweddle14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Member:
    #150189
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    16 Quicksand DCSB SR5
    Does that port also do data transfer? Otherwise idk how/why 2.0 vs 3.0 would matter.
     
  3. Dec 23, 2015 at 7:46 AM
    #3
    big_jarv

    big_jarv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Member:
    #164805
    Messages:
    2,077
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra TRD Off-road
    The 3rd gen doesn't have any USB ports?
    That seems strange as 2nd gen has at least one.

    I could've swore someone said it was inside the center console? :notsure:
     
    Joe23 likes this.
  4. Dec 23, 2015 at 7:47 AM
    #4
    aweddle14

    aweddle14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Member:
    #150189
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    16 Quicksand DCSB SR5
    Check under the flap below your stereo. In mine there is an Aux and a USB in there.
     
  5. Dec 23, 2015 at 7:48 AM
    #5
    aweddle14

    aweddle14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Member:
    #150189
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    16 Quicksand DCSB SR5
  6. Dec 23, 2015 at 8:43 AM
    #6
    smugly

    smugly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Member:
    #159900
    Messages:
    4,823
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Vehicle:
    2005/2009/2016 4x4 TRD double cab taco
    some and more and more and more and
    So Does mine!!!!!
     
  7. Dec 23, 2015 at 5:28 PM
    #7
    Mr. Torgue

    Mr. Torgue Explosions!!?!!?!?

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Member:
    #167819
    Messages:
    665
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 7544HHBBP
    LED lighting
    The cable being used also matters. If you use some small thin cable like a 28 gauge, which is most common, you most likely won't be getting full power transfer.
     
  8. Dec 23, 2015 at 5:28 PM
    #8
    aweddle14

    aweddle14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Member:
    #150189
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    16 Quicksand DCSB SR5
    Mr. Torgue, I must say it's an honor.
     
  9. Dec 23, 2015 at 5:49 PM
    #9
    Mr. Torgue

    Mr. Torgue Explosions!!?!!?!?

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Member:
    #167819
    Messages:
    665
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 7544HHBBP
    LED lighting
    Huh?
     
  10. Dec 23, 2015 at 5:53 PM
    #10
    Kuneff

    Kuneff Carpe Diem

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Member:
    #26173
    Messages:
    891
    Gender:
    Male
    West Virginia
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma Woods Beater
    Tree Dents
    I just got a high power USB plug from BestBuy, plugged it into the 12v outlet in my center console and charge my phone there. No need to have 2 devices hard connected to the truck IMO.
     
    smitty99 and border411 like this.
  11. Dec 23, 2015 at 6:50 PM
    #11
    TMMIgirl

    TMMIgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Member:
    #166501
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Angela
    Haubstadt Indiana
    Vehicle:
    TRD off road DC SB
    If you have an automatic you can pop out the clutch kill blank used for the m/t. It's on the left of the wheel.
    I did not take apart the whole dash to pop it out from behind. I used a nylon wedge to protect the dash and a pry tool and it popped right out in a few seconds. I use the wedge at work for trim work but you could tape up a small putty knife for the same effect.20151206_133609.jpg
    MicTuning has switches that fit the hole. 1.52 x .82
     
  12. Dec 24, 2015 at 11:04 AM
    #12
    CedarSvage

    CedarSvage [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Member:
    #172913
    Messages:
    13
    Vehicle:
    2009 SR5 -> 2016 SR5
    Extang Solid
    • Yes, I know there is an existing USB 2.0 port under the radio.
    • USB 3.0 has up to 2.5 amps, USB 2.0 only has 0.5 amps
    • 12v socket in center console is at the very bottom. PIA! No air flow = heat build up.
    • I know how to pull the blank, still need to get inside the dash to hook up to 12v and ground.
    • Plugs with data are available. I only need charging.
    • I also use a 12v/120v inverter so I don't want to use a 12v adapter in the only plug available.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2015
  13. Dec 24, 2015 at 11:09 AM
    #13
    TMMIgirl

    TMMIgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Member:
    #166501
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Angela
    Haubstadt Indiana
    Vehicle:
    TRD off road DC SB
    I ran the wires through the main engine wire grommet up under the left dash. Its on the firewall. I just laid on my back and fished it through to the engine compartment.
     
  14. Dec 24, 2015 at 11:13 AM
    #14
    CedarSvage

    CedarSvage [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Member:
    #172913
    Messages:
    13
    Vehicle:
    2009 SR5 -> 2016 SR5
    Extang Solid
    Thanks Angela. Just looked at it. Did you have to cut the boot? If you have a picture it would be great.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2015
  15. Dec 24, 2015 at 3:10 PM
    #15
    TMMIgirl

    TMMIgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Member:
    #166501
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Angela
    Haubstadt Indiana
    Vehicle:
    TRD off road DC SB
    1450998583228-734932611.jpg
    No, I chose not to cut the boot. Afraid I would slip and accidently slice a wire. I feed the wire around the edge.
     
  16. Dec 24, 2015 at 5:32 PM
    #16
    CedarSvage

    CedarSvage [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Member:
    #172913
    Messages:
    13
    Vehicle:
    2009 SR5 -> 2016 SR5
    Extang Solid
    Ahhhh... Now I see.
    Thanks a bunch.
     
  17. Dec 24, 2015 at 11:01 PM
    #17
    Choops

    Choops Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Member:
    #166368
    Messages:
    151
    Gender:
    Male
    Twin Cities
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD Pro 4Runner
    FYI- if that wire is between the grommet and the metal firewall it's just a matter of time before it wears through the insulation. And if that wire is coming from the battery(+), I hope it's fused...
     
  18. Dec 25, 2015 at 1:56 AM
    #18
    Z50king

    Z50king DCLBOR4X4FTW

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Member:
    #157056
    Messages:
    8,460
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCLB Off Road 4x4 Super White
    Stock and loving it
    The first one says you should get a cigarette lighter plug to power your phone. You just said you don't need data, so why does it need to be a USB plug?

    Also, I don't know what the hell that second one means. That isn't the only 12v cigarette lighter, as you have stated already. There's one in the center console

    Your arguments against the best truck, midsized truck in the world are not holding up. This is a Tacoma board, we don't like when people bash the Tacoma
     
  19. Dec 25, 2015 at 3:57 AM
    #19
    EDJY

    EDJY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Member:
    #52459
    Messages:
    434
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Elliott
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 DCSB TRD OR MT
    There is a second 12 v plug in the center console armrest compartment, and a slot to run the charger wire out the lid. It's way better that having a silly cord from the front.

    You can thank me later.

    [QUOTE="CedarSvage, post: 11434709, member:
    • I also use a 12v/120v inverter so I don't want to use a 12v adapter in the only plug available.
    [/QUOTE]
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2015
    MannyS likes this.
  20. Dec 25, 2015 at 5:34 AM
    #20
    aweddle14

    aweddle14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Member:
    #150189
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    16 Quicksand DCSB SR5
    Haha your username is from Borderlands right? EXPLOSIONS! And all that jazz? I feel kinda silly now if it's not.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top