1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dashboard question on 6 speed

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by qnyla, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. Apr 11, 2011 at 6:27 AM
    #1
    qnyla

    qnyla [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30604
    Messages:
    1,309
    Gender:
    Male
    NM
    Vehicle:
    2006 & 2016 DCSB TRD Off Road 6-Speed
    Some Tacoma's have extra switch locations above the center console (photo 1), some do not (PHOTO 2). I would guess this is a change Toyota made somewhere along the way, or is it a function of which options the truck has?


    I need more switch locations, can this part be swapped out? Anybody done it?
    Tacoma05AC-01.jpg

    IMG_9434-1024.jpg
     
  2. Apr 11, 2011 at 6:34 AM
    #2
    RZRob

    RZRob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Member:
    #27315
    Messages:
    509
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Anaheim Hills
    :popcorn: Ah, interesting. What year had those? My '06 doesn't.

    RZ Rob
     
  3. Apr 11, 2011 at 6:35 AM
    #3
    0BlackTaco6

    0BlackTaco6 Ive got tiger blood

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Member:
    #43231
    Messages:
    371
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    New Hampshire
    Vehicle:
    06 BSP DC SR5 4x4 6 speed
    Color matched and satoshi grille, hella 500ff behind, bhlm, sockmonkey bedsides, 17" sports 265/70 grabber at2's.
    yea i have an 06 as well and I dont have any blank switches down there. Thinking maybe that started a year or 2 later.
     
  4. Apr 11, 2011 at 10:25 AM
    #4
    jking3002

    jking3002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Member:
    #37187
    Messages:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Kentucky
    Vehicle:
    Scion tC
    Ricer muffler, window tent, trd shift knob.
    Looks to me like a 2009 model year change, along with a few other things... My 2010 regular cab does have the blank slots.
     
  5. Apr 11, 2011 at 10:29 AM
    #5
    YFZ_TRD

    YFZ_TRD 4Runner Pilot

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Member:
    #14534
    Messages:
    3,566
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lee
    Beaverton, OR
    Vehicle:
    2014 4Runner SR5
    I had an 07 without A-Trac and I don't think mine had that bank of switches. Must have been an 08 change. I remember getting in after the deal was done and realizing I didn't have an AUX IN. I was a little pissed but still loved the truck. I would think it would be interchangeable since the upper portion of the dash and the area around the shifter hasn't changed.
     
  6. Apr 11, 2011 at 10:33 AM
    #6
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
    09 + they added a switch for a-trac and aux input in those locations. Depending on what options you had on your truck. Replacing them with other switches is extremely easy. For myself I have added 2 aftermarket switches and will soon be relocating the a-trac switch. There are a few ways you can do the removal.

    The easiest for me was to take 2 small flat head screw drivers and simply insert them in the sides of the switch blank and pop it forward. Then I purchased 2 aftermarket switches, in this case ARB, to replace the old blanks. The ARB switches are just a tiny bit taller so you need to drill/dremmel a little plastic out. The entire process took maybe 5 minutes. You do not need to remove any parts of the console as the wiring is easy to fit back there.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Apr 11, 2011 at 2:39 PM
    #7
    TUVAI

    TUVAI Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Member:
    #50467
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Polynesia
    Vehicle:
    07 DC TRD
    MBRP
    my 07 is jus like photo 2
     
  8. Apr 11, 2011 at 6:17 PM
    #8
    qnyla

    qnyla [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30604
    Messages:
    1,309
    Gender:
    Male
    NM
    Vehicle:
    2006 & 2016 DCSB TRD Off Road 6-Speed
    So before 2009 the trucks with ATRAC did not have a switch?

    I wonder how hard it will be to swap out this section of dash. It would be handy to have some additional switch locations.
     
  9. Apr 11, 2011 at 6:23 PM
    #9
    Jerez

    Jerez SoCal LED Dash Swap

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30488
    Messages:
    16,380
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rod
    Diamond Bar, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Sport
    Wong Travur brah
    i swapped out that part on my 08 last year...to have those 3 extra switches.
    to me it was easy but time consuming.

    you have to remove the entire center console (shifter & console) then remove the radio and a/c controls along with the bottom part under need the steering wheel...

    all clips clip on the same spot and sits exactly the same

    i dont remember how much the part was from toyota tho
     
  10. Apr 11, 2011 at 7:52 PM
    #10
    qnyla

    qnyla [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30604
    Messages:
    1,309
    Gender:
    Male
    NM
    Vehicle:
    2006 & 2016 DCSB TRD Off Road 6-Speed
    Thank you for the info.
     
  11. Apr 11, 2011 at 8:08 PM
    #11
    MJonaGS32

    MJonaGS32 MJ on a GS

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Member:
    #15949
    Messages:
    10,564
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    MJ
    SF Bay Area (East)
    Vehicle:
    07 Mid-Travel 4x4 DCSB 6spd
    Kings Mid Travel, BAMF bed rack, RTT, dual battery, OBA, ARB locker, 4.56 gears
    That's great to know that it all lines up. Would you happen to have a part number?
     
  12. Apr 11, 2011 at 8:11 PM
    #12
    Jerez

    Jerez SoCal LED Dash Swap

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Member:
    #30488
    Messages:
    16,380
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rod
    Diamond Bar, CA
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Sport
    Wong Travur brah
    I'm suppose to go to the dealership tomorrow so I can ask my friend in parts real quick.
     
  13. Apr 11, 2011 at 8:13 PM
    #13
    sierrahsky

    sierrahsky Expedition Style

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Member:
    #42021
    Messages:
    1,421
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    Reno
    Vehicle:
    09 TRD Tacoma V6 Ex Cab | Extreme Sierra
    For those of you looking for additional switch locations, see my post with photo. I have been talking with a manufacture in the usa to build me a switch plate that would go in the space below the dash and in front of the shifter. This would allow up to 7 switches and would be fairly easy to install. I would suggest this as an option over buying a different dash. Right now the cost is looking to be in the $45 dollar range but includes the slots to install switches and is going to be made of ABS plastic. For info just pm me.
     
To Top