1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dealer cost to register new TPMS sensors

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by corona56, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. Dec 13, 2011 at 2:48 PM
    #1
    corona56

    corona56 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Member:
    #21697
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    09 DbleCab LB 4x4
    Added fog light mod Added delay wiper mod Alloy rims with BF Goodrich tires
    Does anyone know what the dealer will typically charge to register four new TPMS sensors? I am just trying to determine the cost of just getting a wheel and tire package with new sensors vs. having a local installer remove my existing sensors. Thanks all.
     
  2. Dec 13, 2011 at 3:17 PM
    #2
    Silver06Taco

    Silver06Taco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21472
    Messages:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    WA state
    Vehicle:
    Silver 06 DC TRD Sport
    You would probably get a better answer by calling your local dealer. A tire shop would also have after market sensors that they could program.
     
  3. Dec 14, 2011 at 3:31 AM
    #3
    tonto340

    tonto340 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Member:
    #15246
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Gambrills, MD
    You can buy the ATEQ TPMS Quickset tool and program the sensor IDs yourself.
     
  4. Dec 14, 2011 at 3:32 AM
    #4
    hookedontronics

    hookedontronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Member:
    #28863
    Messages:
    2,783
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Glenville, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC Off Road 4x4
    Icon extended travel 3.5" front coilovers, DSM UCAs, TSB leaf pack w/ wheelers AAL, All Pro U-bolt flip kit, Walker Evans 2.0 rear shocks, 18" XD Monster rims, Nitto trail grappler 285/65R18 Tires, Color matched grill, Grillcraft, Kragen HIDs, Carling switches, my bed light mod, diff drop, Alpine IVA-W505, JL Audio C5 componets and coaxials, JL 300/4 and 250/1 amps and JL stealthbox, wheathertechs, avs vent visors, toyota bed x-tender, alcantara center console cover and door pocket covers, console vault, color matched mirrors, heated mirrors, etc etc etc
    My dealer charges 116 per sensor
    It's bs
     
  5. Dec 14, 2011 at 3:41 AM
    #5
    darcivic00si

    darcivic00si Love this forum!

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Member:
    #4919
    Messages:
    286
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    '17 DCLB TRD Off Road 4x4 AT Inferno
    I think it was around $100 total for all 4 at my dealer. Your best bet is to call your local dealer. The prices for things like that vary way too much...
     
  6. Dec 14, 2011 at 5:04 AM
    #6
    Polymerhead

    Polymerhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Member:
    #44737
    Messages:
    4,085
    Gender:
    Male
    Missouri
    Vehicle:
    '10 4x4 DC SR5
    WeatherTech liners, Kenwood Media Receiver, Alpine S 6x9 speakers, Sound Ordnance 8" Sub, OEM running boards, MK6 wheels, Dynapro ATs, Tint, Bed Mat, Avid light bar, KC Daylighters
    Sensors are about $120/pc. If you have Toyota sensors from another Tacoma, they will charge about $100 to program them to your truck. If you don't mind not having TPMS, you can build a pressure chamber for $15 or so that will hold your TPMS at 30 psi and trick your light to stay off. They are non-functional at that point though.
     
  7. Dec 14, 2011 at 5:36 AM
    #7
    bb609

    bb609 O.F.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Member:
    #18509
    Messages:
    796
    Gender:
    Male
    NH
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD Sport Access Cab
    Bilstein 5100 CO's @ 1.75" - Icon UCA's - TSB Rear w/Bilstein 5100's - Air Lift System - Flowmaster 50 Duals(RIP...back to stock for now) - Avid Offroad Arctic Bar - Avid Offroad Nerf Bars - Leer 550 Bedcover - AVS Hood Protector(RIP) - Ventshades - Yota Bed Mat - Sheepskins!!! - Weathertechs
  8. Dec 14, 2011 at 8:26 AM
    #8
    corona56

    corona56 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Member:
    #21697
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    09 DbleCab LB 4x4
    Added fog light mod Added delay wiper mod Alloy rims with BF Goodrich tires
    You guys are awesome. Thanks so much for the help. I can get sensors from tirerack and other sources for about $75 each. I am just trying to figure the entire cost if I order a wheel/tire set with TPMS installed and I have to go battle the stealership to preprogram the TPMS computer to recognize the new sensors. You guys gave me a ton of information.
     
  9. Dec 14, 2011 at 8:31 AM
    #9
    platinumb

    platinumb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Member:
    #60397
    Messages:
    505
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Patrick
    denver
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD OR DC Supercharged
    supercharger, focal/jl audio sound system, trd cat back
    :eek: damn mine has done it twice for free
     
  10. Dec 14, 2011 at 8:33 AM
    #10
    davidpick

    davidpick NWXPDTN

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Member:
    #29760
    Messages:
    2,234
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Everett, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Xcab 4x4 TRD
    maybe a little late, but i just had mine reprogrammed by the dealer... cost $109.
     
  11. Dec 14, 2011 at 8:41 AM
    #11
    corona56

    corona56 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Member:
    #21697
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    09 DbleCab LB 4x4
    Added fog light mod Added delay wiper mod Alloy rims with BF Goodrich tires
    At these prices, the tool might be the best option. It also saves the time sitting at the dealer waiting for the work.
     
  12. Dec 14, 2011 at 8:44 AM
    #12
    corona56

    corona56 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Member:
    #21697
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    09 DbleCab LB 4x4
    Added fog light mod Added delay wiper mod Alloy rims with BF Goodrich tires
    I think TPMS is a useless feature; but I hate mickey mousing an almost new truck.
     
  13. Dec 14, 2011 at 9:51 AM
    #13
    davidpick

    davidpick NWXPDTN

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Member:
    #29760
    Messages:
    2,234
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Everett, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Xcab 4x4 TRD
    x2! i don't need a warning light to tell me i have a flat tire.
     
  14. Dec 14, 2011 at 9:56 AM
    #14
    corona56

    corona56 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Member:
    #21697
    Messages:
    59
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Boston, MA
    Vehicle:
    09 DbleCab LB 4x4
    Added fog light mod Added delay wiper mod Alloy rims with BF Goodrich tires
    Right!. Stupid feature.
     
  15. Dec 14, 2011 at 10:04 AM
    #15
    Jere

    Jere Outdoorsman

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Member:
    #38814
    Messages:
    269
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Chester County, PA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Access SR5 4x4 4cyl
    Dealer charged me $50, I had the id codes written down. I heard later the device the dealer uses can read the codes from each wheel, while mounted and reprogram the ECM. I thought I was saving time, and a possible wheel disassembly, but evidently not. @ $50, The tirerack tool would take about 3 swaps to pay for itself, but I don't plan to swap again.
     
  16. Jun 12, 2016 at 11:06 PM
    #16
    000doodie000

    000doodie000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Member:
    #189457
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    J
    Vehicle:
    2015 Taco TRD Off-Road
    3-inch lift
    So if I pick up a set of winter tires/wheels with the TPMS in them, I have to reprogram once and then I can swap them myself back and forth for winter and summer driving correct?

    I have a 2015 TRD off-road.
     
  17. Jun 13, 2016 at 1:34 AM
    #17
    Jimmyh

    Jimmyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Member:
    #78991
    Messages:
    6,580
    Gender:
    Male
    SC
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prerunner SR5
    I'm pretty sure you will have to have them reprogrammed each swap. Unless they changed the ECU after the 2012 model year there is only room for a maximum of 5 sensors to be registered in the software.
     
  18. Jun 13, 2016 at 3:17 AM
    #18
    imom

    imom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Member:
    #150462
    Messages:
    704
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2014 Regular Cab
    TPMS sensor you can buy new on ebay for about $100 the set if you look. America's tire did it for free when I had them install tires on my wheels... Cost me a bit over $100 for labor of installing the tire and life time balance/rotation... they programmed and gave me a print out of the ID because I asked for it...in case I need it for the future.
     
  19. Jun 13, 2016 at 11:03 AM
    #19
    ZRXDean

    ZRXDean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Member:
    #149845
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Langhorne PA
    Vehicle:
    DCLB - Pabst Metallic
    OME 885, Billstein 5100, Deaver 2" AAL, ARE CX Cap, Go Rhino Dominator steps
    $120 at my dealer. Their "programmer" couldn't "see" my sensors to reset them so I said bag it for now and have been riding around with the light on...

    It's due back for my Toyotacare oil change in a couple hundred miles and I grabbed the numbers from Discount Tire (where I got my wheels and tires), wrote them down and will have them done during my oil change.
     
To Top