1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dell Vostro sound prob

Discussion in 'Technology' started by JCfromDEMELLO, Jun 19, 2012.

  1. Jun 19, 2012 at 11:30 AM
    #1
    JCfromDEMELLO

    JCfromDEMELLO [OP] Well-Known Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Member:
    #30593
    Messages:
    205
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    Black 2000 4x4
    Had to sell 'em all
    Tried to google the hell outta this problem but I can't find anything specific enough.

    Just got a Dell Vostro 1540 laptop from a school I'm attending. The problem is it doesn't support external speakers. It has a headphone jack but apparently the way its set up it only uses the headphones for things like skype, etc. Everything else it only plays through the crappy little built in speakers, Sounds like a firmware issue to me since its simply a matter of the codec telling the sound part of the MoBo what to do. It should have the capability of sending sound to external speakers but it won't.

    Computer is brand new outta the box, still under warranty, running Win7 Home Premium 64 bit.

    Otherwise its a great little laptop but it seems to be internally configured to be a "business guy in a meeting" kinda laptop.

    Any ideas?

    **Update** Hmm, plugged in the headset I use for TS and selected the headset as my default audio device. Seems to have solved it for now. Weird...regular headphones wouldn't work but a headset with a microphone does.
     
  2. Jun 19, 2012 at 2:15 PM
    #2
    chadderkdawg

    chadderkdawg Don't ask questions you don't want the answer to..

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Member:
    #55763
    Messages:
    8,184
    Gender:
    Male
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Vehicle:
    09 FX4 F150
    Sounds like the audio jack is setup for mic and speakers, rather than just speakers, it is a different connection, looks very similar, but the connector has 3 (I believe) contact points rather than 2.
     
  3. Jun 19, 2012 at 3:45 PM
    #3
    khx73

    khx73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Member:
    #63950
    Messages:
    611
    Gender:
    Male
    Saint John NB, CAN
    Vehicle:
    11 MGM DCLB TRD Sport +leather
    Rear camera anytime switch, 4x4 Illuminated Switch (from rcbs204) , rear view mirror lift bracket (from ImMrYo), 75 cent tailgate anti-theft. Technically not mods but give me a break I'm trying to fill space here... OEM Leather pkg, keyless unlock & ACC chime silence, BakFlip G2, Ultra Gauge EM, WeatherTech floor mats, OEM roof rack
    Strange.. does your TS headset have two separate plugs? Mine has 2 separate connectors.. a stereo (2 rings), and a mic (2 rings).
    Usually the switch from internal speakers to the jack is triggered by a physical contact inside the port. Plugging in any 3.5mm stereo plug (2 rings) should do the trick. Unless it IS some bizarre Dell customized port.
     
  4. Jun 19, 2012 at 3:47 PM
    #4
    ruler

    ruler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Member:
    #4503
    Messages:
    2,013
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal - Los Angeles - SGV
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma, TRD Sport, DC 4x4
    Fox Extended Travel Coilovers 2.5 (front), Fox 2.0 shocks (rear),Total Chaos UCA's, AllPro Expedition leaf pack, AllPro front plate style bumper,BHLM, GrillCraft MX series Grill, ATX Thug 17inch rims, Toyo Open Country MT (295,70,17), TRD CAI,Rear smoked LED tail lights, slimcubby HID Head Lights (50w 1200k), ADVMonster 60 Series 3600 Lumen LED Off Road Lights , Pioneer Avic-F700bt (navigation,head unit)
    download the latest audio drivers from the manufacturers website, you probably have an outdated driver that doesnt have the specific feature or way to configure the settings through the software. You should even be able to use the microphone jack as an output if you want, usually with decent quality integrated audio
     
To Top