1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

did i get ripped off?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ericloyd82, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:33 PM
    #1
    ericloyd82

    ericloyd82 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Member:
    #13582
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    texas
    Vehicle:
    V6 SR5 Double Cab 4x4 TRD Off Road Silver
    2009, TRD cai, leveling lift, silver star headlamps, predator step bars, and trd exhaust
    i know, yes, dont we all when we have to go to the dealership. i have an 09 with a 6disc changer and it said on the vehicle desc. that i had premium disc player. the last 09 tacoma i bought would show the text of the radio stations and cd i played( and the dealership took it back because they didnt want to finance me) my new one taco doesnt read squat, it just says no text. did i get f'ed in the a or what?
     
  2. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:40 PM
    #2
    El Duderino 480

    El Duderino 480 "The Dude"

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Member:
    #10219
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Oceanside, Ca
    Vehicle:
    Silver 08 PreRunner Sr5
    K&N 77 Series,Flowmaster Exhaust, OME N140's, OME 885's, Billy 5100's, Toytec AAL's
    on CD's, it only reads a few..not sure which ones exactly though but i know some of my cds will show the album and song, some wont
     
  3. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:44 PM
    #3
    Jester243

    Jester243 mod status????

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7552
    Messages:
    10,004
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Trail Premium 4Runner w/ KDSS
    +1
     
  4. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:46 PM
    #4
    tdm156

    tdm156 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6166
    Messages:
    590
    Gender:
    Male
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2009 DC 4x4 SR5**Sold
    If your burning your CD's you have to make sure to include the album info otherwise it will not show that info. I have some that will and some that wont in my collection.
     
  5. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:47 PM
    #5
    EGtaco

    EGtaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Member:
    #9993
    Messages:
    154
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma
    I believe you have to turn on "text" and you should see it. There is a button that says text. Press it next time your in the truck and see what happens. Not all radio stations have that feature though
     
  6. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:49 PM
    #6
    jasonh

    jasonh tossed salad anyone?

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Member:
    #3602
    Messages:
    480
    Gender:
    Male
    Dallas, TX.
    Vehicle:
    2007 Pre Runner SR5
    Billy 5100's
    weird. my wife old corola had the text option also and hers would tell what song was playing on the fm radio.
     
  7. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:50 PM
    #7
    El Duderino 480

    El Duderino 480 "The Dude"

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Member:
    #10219
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Oceanside, Ca
    Vehicle:
    Silver 08 PreRunner Sr5
    K&N 77 Series,Flowmaster Exhaust, OME N140's, OME 885's, Billy 5100's, Toytec AAL's
    i think he knows what to press, but thats what it says if it doesn't show the album/song or whatever..
     
  8. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:53 PM
    #8
    EGtaco

    EGtaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Member:
    #9993
    Messages:
    154
    Vehicle:
    2009 Tacoma
    Yeah but sometimes the simplest solutions are the easiest
     
  9. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:54 PM
    #9
    El Duderino 480

    El Duderino 480 "The Dude"

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Member:
    #10219
    Messages:
    682
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Oceanside, Ca
    Vehicle:
    Silver 08 PreRunner Sr5
    K&N 77 Series,Flowmaster Exhaust, OME N140's, OME 885's, Billy 5100's, Toytec AAL's
    does that text option work for all tacomas or is it on certain packages?? ive never tried but im sure it doesnt show, for the radio that is
     
  10. Mar 12, 2009 at 2:56 PM
    #10
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,165
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    I heard of a dealer that replaced a 6 CD player with a 1 CD player while under warranty. When you say premium, I'm assuming that mean it is the JBL. Somewhere on the CD player, it should say JBL. Go ahead and post a picture of the new stereo and we'll let you know.
     
  11. Mar 12, 2009 at 3:10 PM
    #11
    Jester243

    Jester243 mod status????

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Member:
    #7552
    Messages:
    10,004
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Trail Premium 4Runner w/ KDSS
    It should have a JBL logo on it something like this:
    [​IMG]

    also on the door grills it has the JBL logo:

    [​IMG]

    although this is an '08 and I was told the '09's don't have the RDS logo anymore.
     
To Top