1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Ditch lights wiring harness?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by Tacomalife1990, Aug 29, 2019.

  1. Aug 29, 2019 at 8:52 PM
    #1
    Tacomalife1990

    Tacomalife1990 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Member:
    #187319
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 tan tacoma trd sport
    I'm looking to install some ditch lights.. I already have some auxbeams and the cbi brackets are on the way but I need a wiring harness and rocker switch for the blank spot in the cab.. I'm no electrician and have never wired anything in a vehicle that being said I'm not trying to mess with any fuse boxes or anything I want to run it directly off the battery with an inline fuse and or relay for the constant power to the rocker switch to the 2 ditch lights.. with all of that being said where can I get a wiring harness and switch.. links would be preferred
     
  2. Aug 29, 2019 at 9:00 PM
    #2
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    889
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    Pretty much any “universal fog light wiring kit” should work.
    Just be sure the wire gauge is suited for the lights you have.

    Amazon has a bunch of options.
     
    Redmont94 likes this.
  3. Aug 29, 2019 at 9:11 PM
    #3
    Tacomalife1990

    Tacomalife1990 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Member:
    #187319
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 tan tacoma trd sport
    TnShooter.. they are auxbeam 4in pods 18watt 1800 lumen
     
    Redmont94 likes this.
  4. Aug 29, 2019 at 9:30 PM
    #4
    TnShooter

    TnShooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Member:
    #42625
    Messages:
    889
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    07' TRD Off-Road, Auto
    STOCK
    There are plenty of DIY articles on Wiring Fog Lights.
    Just do a google search. It’s not too hard to do.
    I would definitely use a relay and fuse style kit.


    Those are nice lights you have BTW.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
    Redmont94 likes this.
  5. Aug 30, 2019 at 3:54 AM
    #5
    ICU1

    ICU1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Member:
    #196340
    Messages:
    3,368
    Gender:
    Male
    Check out Caliraised. I believe they sell harness kits.
     
    TXpro4X4 and Mikenewgun87 like this.
  6. Aug 30, 2019 at 6:31 AM
    #6
    HelloMyNameIs

    HelloMyNameIs I know words, I have the best words.

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2018
    Member:
    #265787
    Messages:
    715
    Gender:
    Male
    Location: Dayton, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD Off Road in Cement
    OME 2885, Billie 5100s, HS Prog AAL, 255/85r16 Cooper ST Maxxs
  7. Aug 30, 2019 at 8:17 AM
    #7
    slowlane

    slowlane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Member:
    #129313
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    mesa az
    Vehicle:
    16 double cab MGM
    What makes the caliraised harness better than an Amazon bought harness?

    Edit: if I can read the post above me. Dummy.

    So the relay is better? I bought a mictuning kit from amazon for 10 bucks. Seems to be great for the price. I however swapped the button for a ch4x4 button and cut off the connectors and soldered the connection's instead.
     
    Tacomalife1990 [OP] likes this.
  8. Sep 2, 2019 at 7:13 PM
    #8
    Tacomalife1990

    Tacomalife1990 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Member:
    #187319
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 tan tacoma trd sport
    Slowlane would you mind posting some pics of where you ran your wires and where you went through the fire wall.. I've never actually wired anything in a vehicle and would rather do it the right way
     
    TXpro4X4 likes this.
  9. Sep 2, 2019 at 7:31 PM
    #9
    slowlane

    slowlane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Member:
    #129313
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    mesa az
    Vehicle:
    16 double cab MGM
    I dont have any pics unfortunately. But theres a large rubber grommet that all the wiring goes through. Pretty easy to see. It's on the driver side when you open the hood. I cut a tiny slit above the main harness and used fiberglass poles to fish the wires through. A metal coat hanger works great as well. Let me know if you have any questions or if you still need pics. I'll try to snap some if needed. I'm no wiring/electrical guru by any means. So if I can do it, ANYONE can do it. Haha.
     
  10. Sep 3, 2019 at 10:43 AM
    #10
    Tacomalife1990

    Tacomalife1990 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Member:
    #187319
    Messages:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 tan tacoma trd sport

    Yea I'm no electrician that's for sure lol.. i have a harness that looks very simple to hook up my main concern is where to feed through the firewall i dont want any kind of leak if and when I go through some deep water and where to run the wire that goes from ditch light to ditch light.. if you wouldn't mind snapping a few pics that would be great
     
  11. Sep 4, 2019 at 8:30 PM
    #11
    slowlane

    slowlane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Member:
    #129313
    Messages:
    1,515
    Gender:
    Male
    mesa az
    Vehicle:
    16 double cab MGM
    For sure. I'll try to snap some pics sometime this weekend. If I dont post by Sunday, tag me in a post and remind me. Until maybe this helps. Check out about the 12:30 point in the vid. It show where to route the wire.

    https://youtu.be/ogciqoSRLcw
     
  12. Oct 5, 2019 at 6:00 AM
    #12
    LazloCO

    LazloCO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Member:
    #289206
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Morrison
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cav Blue TRD OR DCSB
    I don't know how to post a new thread so I will revive this one with a new numb question which I think I already know the answer to. However, since I am ignorant with regards to electrical stuff, I feel I need to ask

    I have 2 led ditch lights - 96W total. I have 1 led light bar (similar to the youtube video above) at 390W. I was hoping on running these 3 lights on the same switch. However, they obviously total together 486W. I can't find a wiring harness that will handle more than 450W. Am I going to have to put these on different switches or is there something else I can do to get these to work on the same switch?

    Thanks and I apologize for my ignoooooorance.
     
  13. Oct 5, 2019 at 6:16 AM
    #13
    mhornco

    mhornco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Member:
    #246496
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    Be nice if you can find the actual draw on those lights. Lot of ebay and Amzon lights advertise huge wattages but in reality only draw 10 amps or less because of the driver they use. You likely could not buy a pre made harness if your draw was near 500 watts. Amps x volts = watts. So on a 12 volt system you are drawing over 40 amps. You looking at minimum 10 gauge and ideally 8 gauge wiring from the relay. Probably need a 60 amp relay at a minimum as well. I have an 300 watt ebay light bar, yet my 130watt Rigid SR Pro is significantly brighter so obviously the ebay bar has something going on. 300 is probably a theoretical output for the LEDsm but there is a lot happening before power actually gets to them
     
    LazloCO likes this.
  14. Oct 5, 2019 at 7:06 AM
    #14
    LazloCO

    LazloCO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Member:
    #289206
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Morrison
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cav Blue TRD OR DCSB
    How would I go about finding that actual draw on them?
     
  15. Oct 5, 2019 at 8:03 AM
    #15
    mhornco

    mhornco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Member:
    #246496
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    You need a meter for it. Take a look at this you tube video. Basically you put the meter in line. Lot of even cheap meters will work as long as they have the amperage capacity. I would be really surprised if your light bar draws more than about 10-12 amp. Lot of those bars come with a harness that is 14 gauge or thinner wire. That right their tells you they are not consuming that much power

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mu7-HOqXAY
     
    LazloCO likes this.
  16. Oct 12, 2019 at 4:56 PM
    #16
    LazloCO

    LazloCO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Member:
    #289206
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Morrison
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cav Blue TRD OR DCSB
    Ok, maybe some of you smarter folks can give me a clue. 2019 3rd Gen Taco.

    I have a light bar and 2 ditch lights wired up. There is a 40 amp fuse, a relay switch and the end point is a toggle switch. All wired up directly to the battery.

    I wired it all together with quick connects and such. I tested it all. Worked great. Then the only other thing I did was pull some of the wiring (the wiring that goes to the toggle) through the firewall. Now, it does not work.

    The toggle switch lights up. I can hear the relay "switch" when I turn on the toggle switch. Yet, nothing lights up, none of the 3 (light bar, 2 ditch lights).

    I am totally confused because they all worked great. And, the toggle switch lights up.

    Electrical is not my thing. So.. if anyone can help, I would appreciate it. Muchas Gracias.
     
  17. Oct 12, 2019 at 5:02 PM
    #17
    PhenixFord

    PhenixFord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Member:
    #300917
    Messages:
    348
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM SR5 4WD DCSB
    There should be two separate power supplies.

    1) for the illumination of the switch and powering the relay (sounds like it's working)
    2) for powering the lights through the relay (sounds like NOT working).

    #2 should have a fuse.
     
  18. Oct 12, 2019 at 5:05 PM
    #18
    OMGitsme

    OMGitsme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Member:
    #282305
    Messages:
    454
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 DCSB OR Magnetic Grey
    You blew the fuse?
     
  19. Oct 12, 2019 at 7:30 PM
    #19
    LazloCO

    LazloCO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Member:
    #289206
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Morrison
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cav Blue TRD OR DCSB
    I thought that too. There is a 40 amp fuse. I checked it. Still intact.
     
  20. Oct 12, 2019 at 7:34 PM
    #20
    PhenixFord

    PhenixFord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Member:
    #300917
    Messages:
    348
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Randy
    Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2019 MGM SR5 4WD DCSB
    Your going to have to break out the DMM. I would start at the relay. since you hear the relay clicking when you flip the switch, I would start checking at the power supply to the lights. make sure that you find it on the relay where it goes IN. Flip the switch, then check it again where it comes OUT.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top