1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Do double din Alpine headunits fit 1st gens?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Cutter_, Jan 14, 2020.

  1. Jan 14, 2020 at 8:43 PM
    #1
    Cutter_

    Cutter_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Member:
    #213600
    Messages:
    459
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '02 5VZ PreRunner
  2. Jan 14, 2020 at 8:45 PM
    #2
    PennSilverTaco

    PennSilverTaco On the spectrum...

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Member:
    #134007
    Messages:
    24,059
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Charlie
    Central Bucks, PA
    Vehicle:
    2010 RC auto 5-lug
    I honestly didn't didn't think that ANY double-DIN head unit would have fit issues in a first gen...
     
  3. Jan 14, 2020 at 9:07 PM
    #3
    Kwikvette

    Kwikvette LOLWUT

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Member:
    #284735
    Messages:
    7,354
    Gender:
    Male
    Monterey County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tacoma Prerunner TRD
    Driver mod
    Did you use the "ears" from your factory stereo?

    Unless your Alpine came with additional Japanese mounts, you'll have to reuse the factory mounts.

    Some have reported needing to grind off a corner on one of the mounts depending on the stereo they used.
     
  4. Jan 14, 2020 at 9:19 PM
    #4
    Cutter_

    Cutter_ [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Member:
    #213600
    Messages:
    459
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '02 5VZ PreRunner
    Ears from factory, I think I will have to grind off a corner
     
    Kwikvette likes this.
  5. Jan 14, 2020 at 9:23 PM
    #5
    Kwikvette

    Kwikvette LOLWUT

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2019
    Member:
    #284735
    Messages:
    7,354
    Gender:
    Male
    Monterey County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tacoma Prerunner TRD
    Driver mod
    So just as I suspected; just notch that corner off or whatever you have to do and you should be good.
     
  6. Jan 14, 2020 at 10:34 PM
    #6
    jdmstuff

    jdmstuff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Member:
    #254364
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Derrick
    Torrance, CA and Las Vegas, NV
    Vehicle:
    '18 TRD OR and '03 TRD 3.4l 4x4 MT
    Are you referring to the locating tabs on the stock radio brackets? Just bend them flat and match up the holes on the bracket with the ones on the side of the new headunit. It should fit fine, but if the screen isn't motorized, i.e. able to adjust angle, it might be a little difficult to see in certain light during the day. Otherwise, it will fit fine and you shouldn't have to trim any of the plastic panel that surrounds the radio area for it to fit.
     
    Cutter_ [OP] likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top