1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Do i have everything for a CB?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by wolfgang123, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. Dec 26, 2009 at 10:02 PM
    #1
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
  2. Dec 26, 2009 at 10:04 PM
    #2
    dysfunctnlretard

    dysfunctnlretard Hi

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Member:
    #18080
    Messages:
    3,760
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Manny
    CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 FJC
    55w HIDs, 16" Countersteer Offroads, Yokahama All Terrains, Demello Sliders
    The wires (to power the radio) that come with the CB are typically short. Depending on your mounting location, you may need some extra wire (probably 16gauge) to lengthen it. Also, if you plan on powering it via the cigarette lighter, youll need the adapter. If you plan on powering it via your battery, you may wanna get some eyelets.
     
  3. Dec 26, 2009 at 10:12 PM
    #3
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    i have about 50 feet of 16gayge wire laying around. i plan to run it to the battery to it will turn of with the truck (that's how it works right) any diagrams on that? i ave plenty of eyelets too
     
  4. Dec 27, 2009 at 6:29 AM
    #4
    Werloc

    Werloc Large Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Member:
    #17604
    Messages:
    540
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Central, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Double Cab 4X4 TRD 3.4 V6
    You should be good to go with just basic hand tools, wiring stuff, etc. You do have all the main components for this to work. Please post PICs when it's all mounted up. Love to see it. I haven't installed mine yet. Need time, and warm weather.
     
  5. Dec 27, 2009 at 8:05 AM
    #5
    dhurley

    dhurley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17817
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    04 Double Cab TRD SR5 V6
    TRD, Snugtop Super-Sport, bedliner, receiver hitch, alarm mod, deck plate mod, AFE Pro-Dry S, Saddleman camo seat covers, TW decal, grey wire mod w/switch, DRL, LED cupholder mod, Dynomax Super Turbo, aux back-up lights, Devil Horns by Andres, "blue plug" mod for 2LO, shorty antenna, Pro Comp fog & driving lights, receiver shackle, 15% tint front windows, stainless nerf bars, Ultra Gauge, diff breather mod
    You will also need to buy (or borrow) an SWR meter to tune your antenna to the radio. If you want to run a PA speaker, you will need that and the cable to plug into the back of the radio.
     
  6. Dec 27, 2009 at 9:16 AM
    #6
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    ok so i do need an swr meter i wasnt sure about that. your sure i dont want to have to spend alot of money as i am already up to about 120 dollars.
     
  7. Dec 27, 2009 at 9:26 AM
    #7
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    http://www.rightchannelradios.com/power-cords-141/cb-am-fm-antenna-splitter-279.html

    what is yall's take one that splitter above?

    --------

    Also would this work once they get it i stock and would i need jumper cables?
    http://www.rightchannelradios.com/cb-swr-meters-80/10-watt-swr-meter-333.html

    ------------

    and what if i bought this radio instead:
    http://www.rightchannelradios.com/cobra-cb-radios-66/cobra-18-wx-st-ii-cb-radio-184.html

    would i still need and swr meter (the radio above seems grat i love the weather channel thing so i will probably get that)
     
  8. Dec 27, 2009 at 9:29 AM
    #8
    mikesdoublecab

    mikesdoublecab LT Chase Truck

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Member:
    #7334
    Messages:
    6,593
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mohawk Mike
    Glendale, CA
    Vehicle:
    01 Tacoma DoubleCab V6 Prerunner
    Engage Offroad long travel front and rear with some fat tires.
    you could always borrow an SWR meter from someone or just plug and play and hope you get some decent range...

    120 bux is a drop in the bucket if you are looking into some serious communications... be glad you arent getting into HAM radio...

    are you trying to reach long range or just to listen to truckers driving next to you?
     
  9. Dec 27, 2009 at 9:53 AM
    #9
    cko

    cko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Member:
    #19853
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    NoVa
    Vehicle:
    '09 Timberland Mica DC/LB
    I've been thinking long and hard about putting one of these in my truck and thought I could help

    First, not sure why you want that splitter, but if you're already worried about money, don't get that. You don't need it to run your radio.

    Secondly, an SWR meter is an absolute must. SWR will basically measure out how much power is being bounced back into your radio. Key the mic one too many times with a high SWR and you will, not could, but will fry the innards on your radio. Best case scenario you ensure many years of solid use on your radio with optimum range, worst case, you can always yell out your window at truckers or wheeling buddies..
    Invest in a meter, you can always return it ;)
     
  10. Dec 27, 2009 at 12:03 PM
    #10
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    i was looking at the splitter to maybe help with fm radio reseption, it dies out once i get into the mountains.

    but with the new radio choice (see my last post) would i need an swr meter? it says it tunes every channel.
     
  11. Dec 27, 2009 at 1:59 PM
    #11
    cko

    cko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Member:
    #19853
    Messages:
    51
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    NoVa
    Vehicle:
    '09 Timberland Mica DC/LB
    Woops, didnt see the end of your post before mine.

    Still, I don't see anything that's definitively an SWR meter on that second radio. It just says electronic tuning, which I'd take to mean it tunes to each channel electronically. Skimming thru the pdf manual on that site I didn't see any mention of SWR tuning. If all else fails, contact the company selling, they should know if it has one. I know some of the higher end radios, including Unidens, do.

    As for actually using the SWR meter, you will need a length of coax cable (I believe most people use a 3ft piece, btu don't quote me on it). The same stuff that connects the radio to the antenna.
     
  12. Dec 27, 2009 at 4:02 PM
    #12
    saltbranch

    saltbranch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Member:
    #16183
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Tx
    Vehicle:
    1996 2.4,2wd,5spd, stock, 250k
    I have driven 18 wheelers/used CB's for close to 20 yrs now. On the splitter, waste of money. 1 good antenna is all you need, most of the dual antannas you see on 18 wheelers are single use and 1 dummy...it looks cool thats all.
    The thing about antennas, is you want the coil above the cab for transmitting/reception distance. Firesticks are good and top load antenna's. The coax is no different than a stereo speaker wire , get the biggest diameter coax you can find- more power to antenna. Rule of thumb when I was into Cb's was atleast 20', coil the excess up and hide it.
    CB radios- I've had anything from a cobra 29 to a 10 meter radio. The best setup for the buck was a Cobra 29, not the weather channel 1. Peaked and tuned with a super mod and connex echo board plus talk back added. Wlison 2k antenna(bottom load).....Check for CB shops in your area.
    A couple of good pointers are use a noise canceling mike, Road king or Astatic, and keep your ext. speaker atleast an arms length away to help prevent feedback when keying up the mike.Dont waste your $ on the echo mics.
    Whatever setup you go with, have it tuned. It will make a big difference vs. just slapping it in .
     
  13. Dec 27, 2009 at 4:12 PM
    #13
    dhurley

    dhurley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17817
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    04 Double Cab TRD SR5 V6
    TRD, Snugtop Super-Sport, bedliner, receiver hitch, alarm mod, deck plate mod, AFE Pro-Dry S, Saddleman camo seat covers, TW decal, grey wire mod w/switch, DRL, LED cupholder mod, Dynomax Super Turbo, aux back-up lights, Devil Horns by Andres, "blue plug" mod for 2LO, shorty antenna, Pro Comp fog & driving lights, receiver shackle, 15% tint front windows, stainless nerf bars, Ultra Gauge, diff breather mod
    In the Cobra radio family, you won't find a radio with a built-in SWR meter until you get to the Cobra 29. The tuning it's talking about is the channel frequency, not the tuning of the antenna.
     
  14. Dec 27, 2009 at 4:22 PM
    #14
    saltbranch

    saltbranch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Member:
    #16183
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Tx
    Vehicle:
    1996 2.4,2wd,5spd, stock, 250k
    Wolfgang123, looks like your in Atlanta, should be no shortage of CB shops there. Another thing when you have your setup tuned, if you buy a topload antenna(firestick) they will pull the top cap off, pull some wire at the coil, cut it and test,etc.
    A bottom load, they will pull out the the antenna cut and retest. If they dont cut something I would question that. The higher the antenna(coil), the better output/reception.
    On the firestick you will see how the wire snakes up the fiberglass stick and then becomes wound real tight at the top- thats the coil on a firestick or any other top load antenna. On higher $ bottom loads you see the coil in a much larger diameter, with just the antenna coming out and sticking up, in most cases thats all metal sticking up.
    Hope this helps
     
  15. Dec 27, 2009 at 4:26 PM
    #15
    dhurley

    dhurley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Member:
    #17817
    Messages:
    1,002
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Doug
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Vehicle:
    04 Double Cab TRD SR5 V6
    TRD, Snugtop Super-Sport, bedliner, receiver hitch, alarm mod, deck plate mod, AFE Pro-Dry S, Saddleman camo seat covers, TW decal, grey wire mod w/switch, DRL, LED cupholder mod, Dynomax Super Turbo, aux back-up lights, Devil Horns by Andres, "blue plug" mod for 2LO, shorty antenna, Pro Comp fog & driving lights, receiver shackle, 15% tint front windows, stainless nerf bars, Ultra Gauge, diff breather mod
    This is correct for an antenna without a tunable tip. If it has a tunable tip, there's a bolt/screw that you turn up or down to tune it.
     
  16. Dec 27, 2009 at 4:26 PM
    #16
    saltbranch

    saltbranch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Member:
    #16183
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Tx
    Vehicle:
    1996 2.4,2wd,5spd, stock, 250k
    Ditto and if you dont know what your doing in tuning the setup, its worth the $ to have it done.
     
  17. Dec 27, 2009 at 9:33 PM
    #17
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
  18. Dec 28, 2009 at 2:38 AM
    #18
    Werloc

    Werloc Large Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Member:
    #17604
    Messages:
    540
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Central, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Double Cab 4X4 TRD 3.4 V6
    I have the 520LXPro radio. You'll love it. Great rig in a very small package. I'm using a K40 antenna. It's what I had on my Jeep. I just need to mount it in my Tacoma.
     
  19. Dec 28, 2009 at 6:16 AM
    #19
    wolfgang123

    wolfgang123 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Member:
    #19369
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Skyler
    Statesboro, GA
    Vehicle:
    1997 TACOMA - 4x4
    ok i am more confident with the new setup i have. thanks for all the help guys cant wait to get this baby installed.
     
To Top