1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

do i need a relay?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Builds' started by AJ4X4, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. Jul 14, 2012 at 6:23 PM
    #1
    AJ4X4

    AJ4X4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Member:
    #27741
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    White 2010 TRD Off Road Double Cab
    I just recently got my 280c 150psi hi flow air system for a horn i built. Do i need to wire a relay in or not? Thanks guys
     
  2. Jul 14, 2012 at 8:07 PM
    #2
    AJ4X4

    AJ4X4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Member:
    #27741
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    White 2010 TRD Off Road Double Cab
    Bump. Quick response would be very helpful.
     
  3. Jul 14, 2012 at 8:09 PM
    #3
    2000GTacoma

    2000GTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Member:
    #50183
    Messages:
    2,184
    Gender:
    Male
    Snow Hill NC
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma Ext. 3.4L SR5
  4. Jul 14, 2012 at 8:37 PM
    #4
    AJ4X4

    AJ4X4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Member:
    #27741
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    White 2010 TRD Off Road Double Cab
    Thank you. Do you know of a diagram of how to do it?
     
  5. Jul 14, 2012 at 8:39 PM
    #5
    AJ4X4

    AJ4X4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Member:
    #27741
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    White 2010 TRD Off Road Double Cab
    I also have a switch that is rated at 3A 250v switch. Will that work with my compressor
     
  6. Jul 14, 2012 at 8:53 PM
    #6
    2000GTacoma

    2000GTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Member:
    #50183
    Messages:
    2,184
    Gender:
    Male
    Snow Hill NC
    Vehicle:
    00 Tacoma Ext. 3.4L SR5
    a relay is just a remotely operated switch. it takes the load so you do not have to run heavy wires in and out of the truck. 86 and 85 are used to trigger the relay. positive and ground are run to 85 and 86. postive to one ground to the other does not matter which is which. 30 is input power. wire from your battery. 87 is output from relays. the pins 85 and 86 connect pins 30 and 87
     
  7. Jul 14, 2012 at 9:23 PM
    #7
    brutalguyracing

    brutalguyracing BIG DADDY

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19000
    Messages:
    24,017
    Gender:
    Male
    F.U> GUYZ
    broken mods
    this^^^^^^^^^
     
  8. Jul 14, 2012 at 9:30 PM
    #8
    AJ4X4

    AJ4X4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Member:
    #27741
    Messages:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    White 2010 TRD Off Road Double Cab
    So by this your saying that switch will work?
     
  9. Jul 14, 2012 at 10:15 PM
    #9
    brutalguyracing

    brutalguyracing BIG DADDY

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Member:
    #19000
    Messages:
    24,017
    Gender:
    Male
    F.U> GUYZ
    broken mods
    Yes
     
To Top