1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Do I need bigger power wire?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Chickenmunga, Mar 2, 2009.

  1. Mar 2, 2009 at 9:38 AM
    #1
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga [OP] Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    I started running power wire last night, but not sure if my wire is too small - I'm using 4AWG for power and ground, so far estimating 18' for power wire.

    According to this chart (http://www.the12volt.com/info/recwirsz.asp) I should be running thicker stuff?


    Specs on amps:

    http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_4022_Memphis+16-MCD1000.html
    http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_4031_Memphis+16-MCA3004.html

    and I'm running a single JL 10w3v2




    Sent a messege off to Marv, but I know he's sick right now :(
     
  2. Mar 2, 2009 at 9:45 AM
    #2
    craigFLA

    craigFLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Member:
    #2944
    Messages:
    420
    Gender:
    Male
    Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD Sport Pkg.#1, XSP Package
    Leather, 20" rims, Borla cat-back exhaust, running boards, back up camera/3" screen in rear view mirror, carbon fiber interior trim. Tow Package. MODS: URD intake BHLM. Tinted tails & 3rd brake light Fog Light mod. 5pc Grill Craft (High Gloss Black powder-coat) T-Rex eye-lids AVS Wind Deflectors 3M Window Tint 15 front/30 rear OBX Sports Pedals Viper 5901 / remote start Pioneer AVIC F90BT-NAV Hybrid L8's in doors, L4's and Dynaudio MD102 tweets in custom kicks, morel rear-fill, JL TW5-13" sub, JBL MS-8, 2@Tru B475, Tru 4.65, PPI a600.2, PPI 456 X-over, Raamat BX2 and ensolite. relocated rear seats 3/4" Retrax cover electric dual "dead-bolt-lock" electric tailgate lock. electric Dynalock for Retrax Cover/custom fabricated case. kinetik second battery/power-gate isolation. Powerslot Cryogenic rotors, Hawks HPS Pads, SS lines,painted calipers&drums FULL trans flush mod OE Denso plugs
    just an opinion, but why would anyone (running multiple amps) take the gamble of running 4 gauge on a Tacoma (unless its a REALLY tight budget)?

    There is enough room under the door sills to hide a telephone pole...lol...

    I know Im not being very helpfull, and I apologize. Guess Im just making a generalized statement...
     
  3. Mar 2, 2009 at 9:51 AM
    #3
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga [OP] Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Because wire can be expensive and I had 4AWG already, plus a fuse holder for 4AWG. :) If I need to step up to something like 1/0, I'm looking at an additional $60 for just the cable.

    Another thing to think about is the amps. My amps can accept 4AWG to them, but smaller amps can sometimes only handle 8AWG or smaller. To do this, you would need a distribution block that steps down to the appropriate wire.
     
  4. Mar 2, 2009 at 10:19 AM
    #4
    sooner07

    sooner07 1/2 man 1/2 amazing

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Member:
    #4783
    Messages:
    1,400
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    A A Ron
    DFW, Texas
    Vehicle:
    Debadged 2008 Rugged Trail
    Always working on the stereo, painted the front skid plate black to match the truck, debadged , toy tech ultimate lift kit, light racing UCAs, ARB bumper Looking into a supercharger and new exhaust.
    I think you are fine using 4awg. Those charts are more suited for A/B class amps. The monoblock amp you have is a class D, and is more efficient in its current draw than typical A/B circuit designs.
     
  5. Mar 2, 2009 at 10:27 AM
    #5
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga [OP] Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Yeah, I didn't want to assume - I ran nearly the exact same equipment in my car (minus a power cell) with no problems, but the installer was a hack that I no longer trust (he went out of business if that says anything).

    I still have to get those distribution blocks though.
    -There's nowhere in town that carries 4AWG to 4AWG (ok, there was one place, but they wanted $55 and I had to explain what it was, so I don't think they were talking about the right thing).
    -Knukonceptz is 2 weeks backordered

    I'll keep getting the sub installed, but looks like the 4ch and speakers are going to wait.
     
  6. Mar 2, 2009 at 12:46 PM
    #6
    atsaubrey

    atsaubrey Dealer/Sales Rep for Sundown Audio.

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6087
    Messages:
    421
    california
    Vehicle:
    blue 2007 double cab
    Sundown Audio 100.4 and 1500D, Pioneer 880PRS, Zapco Refernece 6.5" comps, 2 10" Image Dynamics IDQ, 200ft of Second Skin deadener, Kicker wire
    If you have quality wire you should be ok, you would be "maxing" out the wire but you should be fine. I currently run a Sundown 1500D and a 100.4 with 4g and have zero issues, I do run the 1500D @ 2hms though so about 800wrms and of course the 100.4 at 400rms so 1200wrms total.
     
  7. Mar 2, 2009 at 12:49 PM
    #7
    rab89

    rab89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Member:
    #12578
    Messages:
    5,467
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ross
    Kelowna b.c canada
    Vehicle:
    2012 DCLB
    Grillcraft mx black upper and lower BHLM with Gloss black 265 70 17 bfg a/t center console light mini mag mounted in center console debadged bed lights 35W 5000k HID's
    I run 4 in my 01. i get huge power using 4 G!
     
  8. Mar 2, 2009 at 1:15 PM
    #8
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga [OP] Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Yeah I was also hedging on that since I'm tuning down the mono amp as well. Wire should be pretty good stuff, the copper has that 'soft' feel, if you know what I'm talking about.
     
  9. Mar 2, 2009 at 2:45 PM
    #9
    atsaubrey

    atsaubrey Dealer/Sales Rep for Sundown Audio.

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6087
    Messages:
    421
    california
    Vehicle:
    blue 2007 double cab
    Sundown Audio 100.4 and 1500D, Pioneer 880PRS, Zapco Refernece 6.5" comps, 2 10" Image Dynamics IDQ, 200ft of Second Skin deadener, Kicker wire
    What brand if you dont mind me asking. It isnt about how "soft" the wire is but if it is ACTUAL 4 gauge, too many crap companies out there not making true gauges anymore.
     
  10. Mar 2, 2009 at 2:59 PM
    #10
    Chickenmunga

    Chickenmunga [OP] Nuggety

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Member:
    #5877
    Messages:
    6,946
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Hillsboro, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 (read the build)
    Memphis. What I'm referring to by the softness is the quality of the copper. Cheaper wiring you will notice is much harder and has a greater internal resistance due to impurity.
     
  11. Mar 2, 2009 at 10:06 PM
    #11
    atsaubrey

    atsaubrey Dealer/Sales Rep for Sundown Audio.

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Member:
    #6087
    Messages:
    421
    california
    Vehicle:
    blue 2007 double cab
    Sundown Audio 100.4 and 1500D, Pioneer 880PRS, Zapco Refernece 6.5" comps, 2 10" Image Dynamics IDQ, 200ft of Second Skin deadener, Kicker wire
    it isnt impurities it is strand count, the higher the strand count (diameter of each strand and quantity) yields the "soft you are referring to.
     
  12. Mar 3, 2009 at 10:54 AM
    #12
    Mr Marv

    Mr Marv 1-831-383-0308 Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Member:
    #1009
    Messages:
    939
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marv
    Monterey Bay California
    For those that may find this in a search I wanted to mention that the size of the wire determines the current capacity and the length determines voltage loss. Also, be careful with "generic" wire as some manufacturers pull some sneaky stuff when advertising. Wire advertised as 4 "ga" can be very different than 4 "awg" wire since it doesn't necessarily follow American Wire Gauge standards (it may look the same size on the outside but it's wire size on the inside that counts)
     
To Top