1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Do tire stores like BIG O' reset tire gauge pressure system?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by DeeKay21, Nov 16, 2008.

  1. Nov 16, 2008 at 5:45 PM
    #1
    DeeKay21

    DeeKay21 [OP] Lieutenant Dan.

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Member:
    #10651
    Messages:
    14,191
    Gender:
    Male
    Nevada/Utah
    Vehicle:
    06' TRD Sport 4x4
    I got some new wheels and tires, 18x9's to be exact, for my 06' Taco and am probably going to Big O Tires to get them installed and get a 3 inch leveling kit. Now does anyone know if they also work on the pressure gauge sensor as well to match the new wheels? If they do, does that cost extra and do they have to put in new parts for it to work right? I know its easy to check my pressures but that light being on in my dash board will just bug the heck out of me so I would want it done right to where the gauge still works on my Taco.
     
  2. Nov 16, 2008 at 5:46 PM
    #2
    tacomaman06

    tacomaman06 Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell o Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Member:
    #1475
    Messages:
    26,305
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Will
    York,South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    '13 Silverado ext cab
    some wheels, the sensors will fit, some they wont. it just depends really. another option is to make a tube from pvc pipe and keep the sensors in it.....just keep it in the truck and the light will stay off. there is a link around here somewhere!!
     
  3. Nov 16, 2008 at 5:47 PM
    #3
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    103,954
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    Make sure they know you have a TPMS. They shouldnt charge any more than regular mount and ballance.
     
  4. Nov 18, 2008 at 12:22 AM
    #4
    FoxySandChick

    FoxySandChick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Member:
    #9505
    Messages:
    2,963
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Kristin
    Henderson, NV
    Vehicle:
    07 DC 4x4 Base model V6 Impulse Red Pearl
    De-badged, limo tint, black wet okole's, weathertechs, extra d-rings, TSB bilsteins
    I got charge extra for them to be put on my new rims, I think it was like $12 total for a "TPMS kit" which had something to due with replacement valve stems I believe, probably depends on the shop though. It shouldn't be a large amount if they charge anything.
     
  5. Nov 19, 2008 at 4:21 PM
    #5
    Taco's for All

    Taco's for All Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Member:
    #8937
    Messages:
    223
    Gender:
    Male
    Vermont
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tacoma Double Cab SR5
    Nothing at the moment
    Place by my charges $5 per wheel to change the TPMS. They did state they they put a new valve stem in, nothing else changes.
     
  6. Nov 19, 2008 at 4:37 PM
    #6
    David Tarantino

    David Tarantino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Member:
    #7428
    Messages:
    6,124
    Gender:
    Male
    N.J.
    Vehicle:
    08 tacoma
    If your changing/replacing a tire at lest in my store
    its part of the service mounting/balancing
    My guys are trained to make sure the light
    is OUT and no their is nc
     
To Top