1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Double din/backup cam advice

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by SmithJS10, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. Jan 16, 2016 at 4:05 PM
    #1
    SmithJS10

    SmithJS10 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Member:
    #174064
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    J
    Kansas City
    Just got my first 2nd gen this week. Mine is an 06, but when I test drove a 15 I really liked the big back up cam in the radio. I would really like to put a similar setup in mine. My question is what double din/back up cam setup would you recommend?
     
  2. Jan 16, 2016 at 4:39 PM
    #2
    Jaab

    Jaab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Member:
    #169672
    Messages:
    274
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Captain Wiggles
    SW Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2005 Double cab short box 4x4 TRD Taco....
    OME 887, Dakars ARB bull Bar, M8000 winch,ABS mod, Locker mod, fog lights anytime mod, COMFY BMW sport seats, tweaked Airbag emulator,
    There are at least 2 kits, scorched and Metra for the aftermarket radio. Any good head unit and camera will give you good results. I use a clarion and have used Kenwood excel on with good results.
     
  3. Jan 16, 2016 at 10:22 PM
    #3
    916carl

    916carl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Member:
    #160332
    Messages:
    2,676
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carl
    Vehicle:
    2008 DCSB TRD Sport SR5
  4. Jan 18, 2016 at 10:05 AM
    #4
    SmithJS10

    SmithJS10 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Member:
    #174064
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    J
    Kansas City
    That's one of the two radios we were looking at, how do you like it?
     
  5. Jan 18, 2016 at 10:30 AM
    #5
    Jaab

    Jaab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Member:
    #169672
    Messages:
    274
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Captain Wiggles
    SW Ontario
    Vehicle:
    2005 Double cab short box 4x4 TRD Taco....
    OME 887, Dakars ARB bull Bar, M8000 winch,ABS mod, Locker mod, fog lights anytime mod, COMFY BMW sport seats, tweaked Airbag emulator,

    I have GOT to stop using speech to Text. Scosche. Excelon. Fock me. :/
     
  6. Jan 18, 2016 at 11:09 AM
    #6
    916carl

    916carl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Member:
    #160332
    Messages:
    2,676
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Carl
    Vehicle:
    2008 DCSB TRD Sport SR5
    I like it a lot. I have a 5500 (prev model) in my Camaro and it's held up just fine to that rougher environment so I stuck with Pioneer. My biggest recommendation is to run a standard USB cable from the back of the unit to wherever you want to hook your phone up. #1) hardwire sounds 20 times better than bluetooth, and #2) you don't need the expensive "special" cable Pioneer sells (unless you want to stream video from your phone to the screen).
     
  7. Jan 19, 2016 at 5:59 PM
    #7
    Standard Issue X06

    Standard Issue X06 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Member:
    #172158
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Xrunner
    Interior LEDs in foot well, sub rings, map lights, dome light, self done window tint, "always on fogs" custom head unit, custom built sub box for access cabs.
    Ive got a pioneer Apple car play radio. I can't remember the exact model number at this moment. With an esky backup camera. And I love it. I got the metra dash kit radio and ability to keep steering wheel controls for right at 400 bucks from crutch field then ordered the Esky back up camera for 40 off Amazon. The install will go 20x better if you go into knowing what you're doing and it's the first time you've installed the radio.
     
  8. Jan 20, 2016 at 8:13 PM
    #8
    SmithJS10

    SmithJS10 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Member:
    #174064
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    J
    Kansas City
    Most of the radios I've seen are Apple compatible, which is frustrating as an android user. I definitely want to keep the steering wheel controls. Do you see any delay in backup cam activation? I installed one in another pickup and it annoyed me that I had to wait 5+ seconds after putting in reverse for it to come on.
     
  9. Jan 21, 2016 at 9:58 AM
    #9
    Standard Issue X06

    Standard Issue X06 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Member:
    #172158
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Xrunner
    Interior LEDs in foot well, sub rings, map lights, dome light, self done window tint, "always on fogs" custom head unit, custom built sub box for access cabs.
    I understand your frustration, I had a galaxy s5 up until a few months ago (squished it in the driveway) pioneer has a AVH line that are all android mirror link compatible. A close friend of mine had me install a AVH-X2700BS in his, he has a galaxy s6 and it works flawlessly. Backup camera has no delay. I will say this, if you grounded the camera to the truck chassis there is no delay. I delt with one where the owner said there was a delay and he had a poor connection on the reverse signal wire. As far as my radio there is no delay. I have a standard and as soon as the reverse beep goes off inside the cab the back up camera is on. I tied into the reverse signal wire behind the driver's side kick panel for the radio and spliced into the reverse bulb harness positive wire for the rear signal. Then just chassis grounded both negative leads. It may be the brand camera causing the lag?
     
  10. Jan 21, 2016 at 10:20 AM
    #10
    Mitch

    Mitch Somebody call for a Wambulance?

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Member:
    #58964
    Messages:
    5,624
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mitch
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Access Cab SR5 4x4
    Lights, Siren, Drugs, Needles, Electricity
    I just installed a Kenwood Excelon 393. Dual cameras and fits perfectly
     
  11. Jan 21, 2016 at 10:43 AM
    #11
    SmithJS10

    SmithJS10 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Member:
    #174064
    Messages:
    68
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    J
    Kansas City
    The one I installed was on an Edge CTS monitor and I believe the delay was caused by the software. Not very fast response time.

    Thanks for the info guys!
     
  12. Jan 21, 2016 at 11:09 AM
    #12
    dirtdigginjoe

    dirtdigginjoe Resident meth-head

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Member:
    #166036
    Messages:
    672
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Paco The Turbo Taco
    GT2871r turbo @6psi...for now.
    I have a Kenwood DDX9702S DDIN (7" screen), as I wanted a radio that has Android Auto. I used the Metra dash kit, and an E-Sky backup camera wired to ignition so I could trigger the camera at anytime, not just in reverse. I have steering wheel controls via the iDataLink Maestro RR (The Maestro SW is just steering wheel controls), as well as gauges (EGT, AFR, Timing, Coolant Temp, MPG) directly on the radio. I tied in the factory USB and AUX connections on the lower dash with adapter cables, and added the SiriusXM tuner. I ran an HDMI cable into my glovebox, along with a USB port for power. I plugged in a Chromecast, and with a little work, I'm able to stream Netflix while driving! I also replaced my front speakers with Kicker KS 6x9's and added rear KS 6.5's to the doors (I have a '13 Base Access Cab). Under the passenger seat I added a Kicker Hideaway powered sub, which made a world of difference.

    Overall I love the setup. The radio is awesome, and Android Auto works great with voice control, maps, most messaging apps, and my media. The backup camera would only have a "delay" of about 2sec if I start my truck up and immediately put it into reverse. Other than that, I constantly find myself playing with the radio just because I can lol. If you want, I can take pics of the setup.

    I can't give you a price on what I paid, because I work at BestBuy and the radio, speakers, dash kit/harnesses, XM tuner, Maestro, and Hideaway I got for employee pricing. But I'd be more than willing to give you insights on what I did/used. Hope it helps!

    SiriusXM
    20151216_162008.jpg
    Android Auto home
    20151201_151957.jpg
    Maestro Gauges
    20160118_210526.jpg
     
    CodeTaco likes this.
  13. Jan 21, 2016 at 11:42 AM
    #13
    Mitch

    Mitch Somebody call for a Wambulance?

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Member:
    #58964
    Messages:
    5,624
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mitch
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Access Cab SR5 4x4
    Lights, Siren, Drugs, Needles, Electricity
    What year truck do you have? I'm trying to figure out how you fit a 7" in the dash. Also does the Maestro only work if you have steering wheel controls? Explain to me the gauge display please. I know my 939 can show OEM functions but I don't know how to make that work.
     
  14. Jan 21, 2016 at 12:12 PM
    #14
    dirtdigginjoe

    dirtdigginjoe Resident meth-head

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Member:
    #166036
    Messages:
    672
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Paco The Turbo Taco
    GT2871r turbo @6psi...for now.
    I have a 2013. The Metra and Scosche dash kits allow up to 7" screens. In order to get the gauges, you need to use a Maestro RR- the radio has an iDataLink port on it, that ties into the Maestro RR. You splice in about 4 wires to the ECU and then it enables the OEM Features menu on the radio. If you don't have steering wheel controls, the RR will still work.

    Long story short- go to http://maestro.idatalink.com/product/product/product_id/102 and enter the requested information about the make/model, steering wheel, and radio. If the radio says "Data" over it, you can use the Maestro RR with your radio for gauge output.

    What else do you want to know about the gauge display?
     
  15. Jan 21, 2016 at 3:03 PM
    #15
    Mitch

    Mitch Somebody call for a Wambulance?

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Member:
    #58964
    Messages:
    5,624
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mitch
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Access Cab SR5 4x4
    Lights, Siren, Drugs, Needles, Electricity
    So if I don't have steering wheel controls, I can't use the Maestro kit?
     
  16. Jan 21, 2016 at 3:04 PM
    #16
    dirtdigginjoe

    dirtdigginjoe Resident meth-head

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Member:
    #166036
    Messages:
    672
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Paco The Turbo Taco
    GT2871r turbo @6psi...for now.
    It shows you can use it, I just tried it using my radio on their website.
     
  17. Jan 21, 2016 at 3:25 PM
    #17
    Mitch

    Mitch Somebody call for a Wambulance?

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Member:
    #58964
    Messages:
    5,624
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mitch
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Access Cab SR5 4x4
    Lights, Siren, Drugs, Needles, Electricity
    I just spoke to crutchfield. They said I couldn't. Interesting
     
  18. Jan 21, 2016 at 3:28 PM
    #18
    dirtdigginjoe

    dirtdigginjoe Resident meth-head

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Member:
    #166036
    Messages:
    672
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joe
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Paco The Turbo Taco
    GT2871r turbo @6psi...for now.
    Go to the iDataLink website link I posted earlier. Choose your year, then click no steering wheel controls, then choose your radio. If it says data over the radio picture, then it'll work. Simple.
    Or tell me the name of your radio (Model) and I'll do it. This is becoming more difficult than it really is haha.
     
  19. Jan 21, 2016 at 3:54 PM
    #19
    Mitch

    Mitch Somebody call for a Wambulance?

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Member:
    #58964
    Messages:
    5,624
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mitch
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Access Cab SR5 4x4
    Lights, Siren, Drugs, Needles, Electricity

    My radio I know supports it. That isn't the problem. I need to know if the truck itself supports it. It seems that pre-2010 you have to have steering wheel controls to use it. 2010 is the first year that "No steering wheel controls" is an option
     
  20. Jan 21, 2016 at 11:06 PM
    #20
    DaveB.inVa

    DaveB.inVa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Member:
    #138742
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    SWVa
    Vehicle:
    2015 AC SR5 4x4 V6 AT MGM
    Oil Catch Can, OIl Pressure and Temp Gauges, Falken Wildpeak A/T3W 265/70R16
    I put a Pioneer AVH-X3600BHS in mine using the Scoche mounting kit. The Metra version came with the radio and I wasn't impressed with the fitment of it. After some searching on here I got the Scoche for under $20. I have the steering wheel controls connected using a Metra ASWC-1 steering wheel adapter and have also added a bypass to allow the DVD player to work when in motion. I've got enough sense to not watch, it really helps my girlfriend on long trips! I built a voltage converter and got a harness to allow the factory backup camera to be used as well.

    I liked the setup so much I put the same radio in my 2007 Ram 2500, added a backup camera and steering wheel controls.

    You'll have to add a camera to yours, for my Ram I used this: http://www.crutchfield.com/p_074RVCLPMB/Accele-RVCLPMB.html

    The picture is good and wiring is easy. You'll bring the RCA cable to the front. The included cable also brings the trigger wire up from the rear. The trigger wire will connect directly to the camera turn on input on the radio. At the rear, you'll make a connection from the reverse lights to the +12VDC wire heading up to the head unit and to the camera itself. Provide a ground to the camera and make the connections and you're good to go. When you put it in reverse and the lights come on, it powers the camera and sends 12V to the radio to show the camera.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top