1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Downhill/Traction Control Switch?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by waynea4, Feb 12, 2008.

  1. Feb 12, 2008 at 11:43 PM
    #1
    waynea4

    waynea4 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4603
    Messages:
    44
    Western N.C.
    Vehicle:
    Red 08' Double Cab TRD Sport 4X4
    I just did the mod for the DRL's that was posted by 077Tacoma and while I was under my dash I noticed that the plugs for the downhill and traction control switches were present. My question is this....if you were to buy the switches and hook them up would you have these functions? Maybe this is a stupid question but why else would the plugs be in place? I dont even know if the functions were an option on my 08' DC, Thanks.
     
  2. Feb 13, 2008 at 5:30 AM
    #2
    cvillechopper

    cvillechopper Jackass to the masses

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Member:
    #3378
    Messages:
    538
    Gender:
    Male
    Charlottesville, VA
    Vehicle:
    12 DCSB TRD Off-Rd 4x4, Roof Rack, Tube Steps
    K&N drop-in air-filter, extra D-rings, Custom Console lock-box, Leather heated seats, Studly Driver
    In short, NO.
    You'll almost always find the connections for various switches associated with options that were not purchased. It's cheaper for manufacturers to produce one wiring harness. Just pluggin in the switch won't give you the function though. You need everything involved in the system to have the feature as well. Sometimes most of the hardware is there and you just need the correct ECU but usually you'll need much more than just the switch and software.

    For something like the traction control, I think you need (at very least) a difference master cylinder and a seperate control module that processes in inputs from the ABS sensors and controls braking to individual wheels.

    Those options were available in the '08 DC (I went ahead and got everything but the kitchen sink on mine) but I've yet to use them.
     
  3. Feb 13, 2008 at 6:51 AM
    #3
    Demoncleaner

    Demoncleaner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Member:
    #4065
    Messages:
    518
    Gender:
    Male
    Upstate NY
    Vehicle:
    05 Dcab 6spd 4x4 TRD Sport w/Tow
    TRD exhaust Homemade bed mat & bed extender, front Drings, Short clutch throw, Summer: Stock 17's Winter: Blizzaks on 16' black steelies
    A TRD sport cant utilize those options anyway... Toyota has never programmed or setup a TRAC/VSC/DAC to a Mechanical LSD.

    As cvillechopper said, ABS ECU and Master cylinder different for TRAC/VSC equiped trucks, even brake fluid reservoir is twice the size as those not equipped.
     
  4. Feb 13, 2008 at 9:11 AM
    #4
    waynea4

    waynea4 [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Member:
    #4603
    Messages:
    44
    Western N.C.
    Vehicle:
    Red 08' Double Cab TRD Sport 4X4
    I thought it would be a mission impossible to do that, thanks guys for the info.
     
  5. Oct 5, 2008 at 8:04 PM
    #5
    RoyB

    RoyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Member:
    #9708
    Messages:
    1,646
    Gender:
    Male
    Chicago burbs
    Vehicle:
    '09 TRD DC Sport
    what about the 09s that dont have a mechanical lsd?
     
  6. Jun 27, 2009 at 3:05 PM
    #6
    grammy

    grammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Member:
    #7158
    Messages:
    210
    Gender:
    Male
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Vehicle:
    4x4 v6 X-Cab
    Anyone have the answer to this question?Can we plug in the DAC switch into the harness and access that function on vehicles that did not come with it??Thanks
     
  7. Jun 28, 2009 at 9:08 AM
    #7
    TRDnAZ

    TRDnAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Member:
    #2500
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    Chandler, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    Desert Sand Mica
    Look under your hood.

    If you have a relatively simple looking brake master cylinder then you don't have the hardward for all the traction controls. The traction control master cylinder has a ton of wires attached to it.

    Unless your master cylinder looks like this. No chance.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Jun 28, 2009 at 9:50 AM
    #8
    BeachBoy

    BeachBoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Member:
    #15819
    Messages:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    VT & QC
    Vehicle:
    '09 DC LB Sport+Leather
    Icon Extended COs / Camburg UCA / ATX Predator Teflon / Mickey Thompson MTZ / Color-Matched emblems / All-Pro Bumper & skids / Stubbs HD-SKO / Alcans custom leafs / U-Bolt flip / Icon rear resi shocks / Rear Bumper
    The '09 does not have mechanical LSD. SO if you have a '09 it "might" work, but you would need to buy thecontrollers, sensors (if they are not already present, etc.
     
To Top