1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Drive Shaft Center Support Bearing Help

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by logo803, Feb 25, 2015.

1. Feb 25, 2015 at 5:11 PM
    logo803

logo803 [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Logan
    Columbia
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD DblCab
    Just bought my first Taco ('05, seems very stock) a few weeks ago since the good old days in high school. So needless to say I'm new to TW. Hopefully I've posted this in the correct place

In the past week, I've been hearing a rather abrupt squealing coming from my truck at low end acceleration. After some research here on TW, I've determined that my center support bearing is going bad and starting to sag, causing the squeal when the drive shaft starts turning/vibrating and rubbing on the rubber. Now I've found a few threads/video's showing, pretty clearly, how to replace this bearing, but... My drive shaft seems to be different than those videos. There is no flange to separate the shaft between the bearing, but only another U-Joint..

Here's a crappy picture that I drew on my computer because I'm in college and currently "studying" in the library, and it's crapping rain outside so I didn't want to lay in a puddle to take it..

[​IMG]

I've got all of the parts and I'm going to embark on this tomorrow, rain or shine, but I am just hoping to get some incite on what I'm dealing with here.

Is there possibly another "yolk" on the opposite side of the U-Joint (towards the front of the truck).
    Or should the brackets for the U-Joint be removable?