1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Engine Immobilizer

Discussion in 'Technical Chat' started by BLOCKADE, Jun 23, 2008.

  1. Jun 23, 2008 at 9:44 PM
    #1
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    Okay, so this isn't exactly Tacoma related.

    I just bought my wife a 2003 Rav4 (for the gas mileage and future safety of my beloved Tacoma) and it seems that the engine immobilizer has been removed. According to carfax the car had been repossessed at one point early in its life. I would assume that after the repo guys towed it off the bank had the immobilizer removed because they didn't want the hassle of finding or buying the key for it.

    I'm just curious if it is even possible to remove and still use the vehicle, maybe they just unplugged it?

    p.s. this forum is way better than the Rav4 forum that I joined, Rav4world.com
     
  2. Jun 24, 2008 at 7:50 AM
    #2
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    any thoughts?
     
  3. Jun 24, 2008 at 7:56 AM
    #3
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Thor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,101
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    so you don't have it yet?

    Have you tried talking to the dealership. I'd be interested if it is just a little module that you buy.
     
  4. Jun 24, 2008 at 8:17 AM
    #4
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    Don't have what?
     
  5. Jun 24, 2008 at 8:24 AM
    #5
    lsocoee

    lsocoee My hair is all natural Thor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Member:
    #872
    Messages:
    10,101
    First Name:
    Hotdog
    Vehicle:
    2007 PreRunner SR5 Double Cab
    Wet Okole Underwear
    the Rav4
     
  6. Jun 24, 2008 at 11:30 AM
    #6
    Mingy

    Mingy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6164
    Messages:
    103
    Milton, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    V6 uble Cab TRX/Towing
    Lear cap.
    i *thought* I read somewhere that Toyota immobilizers were tied into the engine computer and could not be bypassed. Does your key have a little 2 mm 'dot' near where the plastic side is? This is the electronic key for the immobilizer.

    For what it is worth, I installed a fuel cut off switch in my 4Runner which was a pretty good immobilizer. Unless somebody wanted to tow the car away, if you didn't know there was a toggle switch, and where it was located, it would have taken a long time to diagnose and bypass.
     
  7. Jun 24, 2008 at 12:15 PM
    #7
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    I have taken possession of the Rav4. I didn't realize that the key wasn't the original key until after I left the sealership. I was under the impression that the immobilizer was standard equipment, I could be wrong about that, but it is a Limited and I would have assumed that the immobilizer and keyless entry would have been a basic equipment option.

    If I can just buy a new key/keyfob and get the keyless working that would be great, but an aftermarket alarm with remote start would also be pretty cool.

    Mingy, I also have a bypass switch on my '69 Camaro, I've just bypassed the starter, basicly the same thing. I might go ahead a do it to the Rav when I get the chance.
     
  8. Jun 24, 2008 at 12:19 PM
    #8
    Mingy

    Mingy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6164
    Messages:
    103
    Milton, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    V6 uble Cab TRX/Towing
    Lear cap.

    I went with the fuel pump because I figured 'it just doesn't start' has a lot more potential fixes, so they wouldn't necessarily know there was a cut off, just that the vehicle would not start.
     
  9. Jun 24, 2008 at 12:22 PM
    #9
    wiscdave

    wiscdave Lets Do It!

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Member:
    #5392
    Messages:
    2,551
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    Tundra Rock Warrior
    Past ride - 3" OME 885s&Shocks/ TSB 1.5AAL/ AX184 Rims 285 Firestone destination ATs/ 2 Shallow mount P310s in Supercrew Box - Punch 601s, Beefed up Hunter Brush guard, Tint, Fog light mod, AFE Drop in, AC and Fog light mods, scangauge
    How many miles on it and did they disclose the problem. Youcould have acase of not full disclosure and then ask the Stealer to fix the prob...that is what I would try on him.
     
  10. Jun 25, 2008 at 11:19 AM
    #10
    BLOCKADE

    BLOCKADE [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Member:
    #4469
    Messages:
    198
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    TRD Off Road
    Weather Tech Floor Liners, Front Bed D-Rings...
    it has 80k on it, and I don't know if it really qualifies as a problem. The car runs fine, and as I stated before, I am only speculating that it had these options.
     
To Top