1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Engine Oil light

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by AKTacoma, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. Jun 24, 2010 at 10:26 PM
    #1
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    My engine oil light has been flickering when slowing down from about 65 to 70mph when not in gear just using brakes with a manual transmission. Anyone know anything that this might possibly be?
     
  2. Jun 25, 2010 at 6:15 AM
    #2
    tacoman101

    tacoman101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Member:
    #19550
    Messages:
    1,074
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    scott
    vermont
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tacoma sr5 xtra cab 4wd
    blue led headlights, 285/75/16 grabber AT2's, custom pedals, custom shifter, flowmaster 40 series muffler, bedlinered fender flares, 2.5" lift kit via shackles and spacers, custom exhaust out the back, chrome exhaust tip, and Herculined bed, Weathertech floormats, Cabelas Trail Gear Camo Seat Covers ... Nice thing was I got the truck for $4000
    I'd check the dipstick, and when was the last time you had an oil change?
     
  3. Jun 25, 2010 at 7:35 AM
    #3
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    my oil level is good, I had an oil change about 800 mi or so ago, but I had to have my head gasket and a new head put on my truck, so the oil had to be drained for that, but it was put back in. Should I change my oil again?
     
  4. Jun 25, 2010 at 10:40 AM
    #4
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,255
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    Take it to Autozone and see if there are any codes available to you. They should check it for free....

    Do some research - I'm thinking perhaps an oil pressure sensor or your oil pump.
     
  5. Jun 25, 2010 at 6:01 PM
    #5
    Barnone

    Barnone Guest

    I can't believe that they would put the old oil back in after replacing the head. I would change the oil immediately as it is probably contaminated.
     
  6. Jun 26, 2010 at 9:57 AM
    #6
    tacoman101

    tacoman101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Member:
    #19550
    Messages:
    1,074
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    scott
    vermont
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tacoma sr5 xtra cab 4wd
    blue led headlights, 285/75/16 grabber AT2's, custom pedals, custom shifter, flowmaster 40 series muffler, bedlinered fender flares, 2.5" lift kit via shackles and spacers, custom exhaust out the back, chrome exhaust tip, and Herculined bed, Weathertech floormats, Cabelas Trail Gear Camo Seat Covers ... Nice thing was I got the truck for $4000
    Yeah, whenever you change a headgasket, you have to put fresh oil in, because there was probably some coolant in the oil.
     
  7. Jun 26, 2010 at 10:23 AM
    #7
    kumaWRX

    kumaWRX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Member:
    #26798
    Messages:
    330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jase
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    04 Prerunner TRD Offroad
    SAW 2.0 Coilovers, Wheeler's 3-leaf AAL, Toytec 1" lift shackles, Bilstein 5100 rear shocks, aFE Stg. 2 intake, Doug Thorley headers, Magnaflow muffler, 16x8 ProComp 7089 wheels, Toyo Open Country A/T tires, Pamalu bedliner, Bakflip G2 bedcover
    Do not get your truck scanned for codes, your wasting your time because the oil light is just a "dummy" light. If your oil level is ok then it is most likely a malfunctioning oil pressure sensor.
     
  8. Jun 26, 2010 at 10:29 AM
    #8
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,153
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    X2. Depending on the milage, it could also be the oil pump.
     
  9. Jun 26, 2010 at 10:40 AM
    #9
    skytower

    skytower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Member:
    #38505
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4
    Hitch and wiring, aux back-up light, rear strobe lights, radio and underseat sub.
    +1 on pressure sensor and oil pump. Don't drive it until you figure out the problem. If it is the pump and it fails=seized engine. Take out the sensor and put a gauge on it to see exactly how much pressure you have. You could also put a tee in the line and run an extra gauge to the interior.
    Hope it's just the sensor.
     
  10. Jun 26, 2010 at 2:18 PM
    #10
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    So is the oil pressure sensor also known as the oil pressure switch? and how do I test it to see how much pressure it's getting?
     
  11. Jun 26, 2010 at 2:42 PM
    #11
    Barnone

    Barnone Guest

    Did you change the oil? The flickering light at low rpm after high speed run says you are just on the edge so fresh clean oil might make the difference.
     
  12. Jun 26, 2010 at 5:03 PM
    #12
    AKTacoma

    AKTacoma [OP] Dedicated Crew Chief

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Member:
    #38279
    Messages:
    374
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Houma, Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma DCLB
    I'm fixin to change it today, I changed it about 800mi or so ago, but that was before I had the head gasket/head replaced.. hopefully some new oil will help it out.
     
  13. Jun 27, 2010 at 7:28 AM
    #13
    skytower

    skytower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Member:
    #38505
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    virginia
    Vehicle:
    08 Tacoma 4x4
    Hitch and wiring, aux back-up light, rear strobe lights, radio and underseat sub.
    Pressure sensor is a generic term. It can be a transducer(sending unit) which sends a varying voltage to the gauge to give you pressure readings, or a pressure switch. A pressure switch, however, is made to open or close at a set pressure to turn on an idiot light.
    You can put a tee where the pressure switch is and add an electrical gauge to the cab, or just replace the pressure switch and see if it goes away.
    I would replace the switch and add a gauge, just to make sure.
     
To Top