1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Expedition Essentials 3TPAM Wiring Questions

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by OR4x4, May 4, 2019.

  1. May 4, 2019 at 10:19 PM
    #1
    OR4x4

    OR4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Member:
    #266625
    Messages:
    418
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2018 DCLB 4x4 TRD-OR Super White
    I am planning on installing an Expedition Essentials 3TPAM tomorrow and I have a couple questions about the wiring.

    I've seen online that the preferred location is to splice the accessory port (cigarette lighter) under the right hand HVAC controls. Would splicing the wires there cause any problems for the accessory port?

    Any problems installing the Expedition Essentials 3TPAM?

    I have the Blue Sea rapid charger that was an option if that makes any difference.

    Thanks all!
     
  2. May 5, 2019 at 5:33 AM
    #2
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Splicing there won’t cause any problems! It’s very simple wiring and turns on and off with the truck.

    Only thing is to remember that you are running everything on the mount AND whatever is plugged into that cig lighter. This typically won’t be an issue, but if you are trying to run a high-power device such as a power inverter at the same time as charging several USB devices, everything might slow its charging speed or the inverter night not come on. In that scenario, just move the high-power device to the cig lighter in the center console instead and you’re back up and running!
     
    OR4x4 [OP] likes this.
  3. May 5, 2019 at 9:22 PM
    #3
    OR4x4

    OR4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Member:
    #266625
    Messages:
    418
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2018 DCLB 4x4 TRD-OR Super White
    Got it. For me I would only ever use the accessory mount for 2 phones and a Garmin InReach. I never use the cigarette lighter. I may do 1 phone, 1 tablet, and the Garmin InReach.

    I have no cigarette lighter accessories. If I do need to use a cigarette lighter accessory there is one in the center console and in the bed.

    Would I run into problems running the 3 devices I mentioned?
     
  4. May 6, 2019 at 4:40 AM
    #4
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Nope! All good there!
     
    OR4x4 [OP] likes this.
  5. May 6, 2019 at 4:45 AM
    #5
    m603holden

    m603holden @Koditten Pirate Radio member #063

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Member:
    #140581
    Messages:
    11,458
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marteeen
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma DCSB OR MT
    Lots of sail boat fuel
    It can be a pain to install. Hope you have small hands. I personally just ran a dedicated lead to it.

    Max amps on the mentioned line is 10amps
     
    OR4x4 [OP] likes this.
  6. May 6, 2019 at 6:59 AM
    #6
    OR4x4

    OR4x4 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Member:
    #266625
    Messages:
    418
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2018 DCLB 4x4 TRD-OR Super White
    I was able to knock out the install pretty easily (at least the electrical was easy). Lining everything up for the two metal brackets was a chore. All in all, I am beyond pleased with the build quality.

    If I used the included wiring and spliced to the cigarette lighter. My max amps is 10 amps?

    How can I find out how many amps each of my devices uses?
     
  7. May 6, 2019 at 7:03 AM
    #7
    m603holden

    m603holden @Koditten Pirate Radio member #063

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Member:
    #140581
    Messages:
    11,458
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Marteeen
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tacoma DCSB OR MT
    Lots of sail boat fuel
    12v 110w on the cig cover.

    As far as the draw for devices goes they should be listed in their instruction booklets. You can also find them on the backside of the charger block normally
     
    OR4x4 [OP] likes this.
  8. May 6, 2019 at 7:22 AM
    #8
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    So in a 12v system, 10A would be 120W

    Most charges are rated for wattage or amperage.
    For example, the small little white brick charger that comes with iPhones is 5w.
    I think the BlueSeas you got is rated at 24w, so you still have plenty of room to play with
     
    OR4x4 [OP] likes this.
  9. Jan 30, 2020 at 11:26 PM
    #9
    nomadtwo

    nomadtwo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2020
    Member:
    #316640
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 Quicksand Tacoma TRD Sport
    I just installed mine and had issues getting the crumpets that came with the kit to work. Wasn’t a whole lot of real estate on the cigarette lighter wires. It didn’t work but it was getting dark out so I closed it all up and I’ll try again.

    Any tips or tricks I should know when crimping/splicing?
     
  10. Jan 31, 2020 at 12:08 AM
    #10
    deuceb

    deuceb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Member:
    #253095
    Messages:
    503
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver | Austin
    Vehicle:
    2018 Taco BBPDCLBTRDOR | 2006 Jeep LJ | 86 VW GTI
    Get something more like this https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CDWC60Y/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_i_789mEbR2GKGZ7

    I don't know why they give those shitty taps you get at home depot. There's better ones than that to, but those are cheap.

    That was the worst part of the install, and when I rate the purchase I can't decide if I'm giving 3 or 4 stars. Trying to decide if shitty taps, and the fact that there's no option to specify you want the flat USB port version, is worth taking away one or two stars.
     
    nomadtwo likes this.
  11. Jan 31, 2020 at 3:55 AM
    #11
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Actually splice the wire (military splice) and don’t use those clamp-down t-taps. They damage the copper strands and aren’t reliable long-term
     
    deuceb likes this.
  12. Jan 31, 2020 at 6:34 AM
    #12
    deuceb

    deuceb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    Member:
    #253095
    Messages:
    503
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver | Austin
    Vehicle:
    2018 Taco BBPDCLBTRDOR | 2006 Jeep LJ | 86 VW GTI
    It'll be hard to get the tools down there to do it the righter way without taking apart the whole dash, but I agree with you. The kind I linked would probably be the easiest without taking the dash apart.
     
  13. Jan 31, 2020 at 8:46 AM
    #13
    nomadtwo

    nomadtwo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2020
    Member:
    #316640
    Messages:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 Quicksand Tacoma TRD Sport
    Thank you both of you. I’ll get some of those t-taps for now until I feel more confident in tearing apart the dash. Truck is brand new so I’m being kind of a baby
     
  14. May 23, 2020 at 2:28 PM
    #14
    foote

    foote New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2020
    Member:
    #329046
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5
    Installed the 3TPAM to the cigarette, now my battery has died. Trying figure out what I did wrong on the wiring install that has caused the drain when not in operation. Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  15. May 23, 2020 at 3:20 PM
    #15
    destin_meeks

    destin_meeks I used to fix people's crappy stereos

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Member:
    #223997
    Messages:
    2,847
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Destin
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 SSM DoubleCab TRD Off-Road 4x4
    Which cig lighter? They don’t have power unless the truck is in ACC so if they are draining your battery, something isn’t wired right
     
  16. May 25, 2020 at 11:55 AM
    #16
    ClassyTacos

    ClassyTacos Wait what.

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2019
    Member:
    #306325
    Messages:
    651
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Papalote
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 4x4
    Stockish
    Here is my full install on the new flush mount version. Just in case you need anything, reach out. No issue at all with the install.

    https://youtu.be/wE9NJ3jW4Vo
     
    Grindstone likes this.
  17. Feb 9, 2021 at 3:16 PM
    #17
    andweb

    andweb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2020
    Member:
    #323161
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andy
    Leadville, CO
    Vehicle:
    2019 Cement Tacoma DCSB TRD Off-Road
    Overland Built and Outfitted. SEE BUILD PAGE
    I installed mine about a month ago now. I’ve loved it so far and it’s all worked just fine, but I got in my truck today and my fuse for the cig charger blew. Every time I replace it (with everything unplugged from the cig lighter and the 3TPAM) the fuse blows the second I start the truck. Any suggestions?? Guess I’m ripping the dash apart again when I get home to disconnect the 3TPAM wiring and see if it still blows the fuse then.

    Edit: Well, I took the top off to disconnect it and test and it worked when disconnected and didn’t blow the fuse. I then connected it again and it continued working. I noticed that last time I removed the 3TPAM to wire in my anytime camera I forgot to put tape over the connections when I put it back. So my guess is they were somehow touching and shorting out the system and my fuse was just doing it’s job. I’ll put tape over it and put it back and take the blame for this one lol
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2021

Products Discussed in

To Top