1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Faulty Immobilizer Switch

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Pickett, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. Jan 19, 2010 at 7:46 AM
    #1
    Pickett

    Pickett [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18417
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    06 Ink
    I've had somewhat of an intermittent issue on my 06 (now at 50K) in that sometimes when I crank it'll try for a while but will never turn over. I stop, crank immediately again and it'll start up. I've read some older posts where others had to wait 20 minutes or so before it would crank.

    At first I thought it was a battery issue because it seemed to be a likely explanation but I checked the terminals and even had the Toyota techs verify the battery was good.

    Yesterday I took it into the stealership and they said it was sending a Key Verification Fault code. Essentially the way they explained it is that the immobilizer was kicking in and wouldn't let the engine turn over.

    Long story short they are recommending I get a new key switch assembly...all told a $280 install.

    Has anyone had this issue?
     
  2. Jan 19, 2010 at 9:25 AM
    #2
    leochup

    leochup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Member:
    #27443
    Messages:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a 06 aswell that the red car of the inmobilizer is always blinking even when the car is running and most of the times it takes me a couple of tries before cranking up! I'm taking it to the dealer tomorrow and I'll let you know what the said!
     
  3. Jan 19, 2010 at 9:14 PM
    #3
    Pickett

    Pickett [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18417
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    06 Ink
    What I'm wondering is if it is a faulty key assembly, if I installed a remote start wouldn't that bypass the key assembly anyways...and thus rectify the problem?
     
  4. Jan 19, 2010 at 9:21 PM
    #4
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB - Super White
    SOLD!
    If you had your keys close enough to a powerful magnet or magnetic source for long enough you could have damaged the chip. Other than that, they can simply go bad after a while although it isn't too terribly common for them to just fail.
     
  5. Jan 19, 2010 at 9:39 PM
    #5
    Pickett

    Pickett [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18417
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    06 Ink
    The dealership never once mentioned that as being a potential problem. But the part they said that would need to be ordered was a key switch assembly...so not the key, but the switch.
     
  6. Jan 19, 2010 at 10:02 PM
    #6
    Kyouto42

    Kyouto42 Iron Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8614
    Messages:
    9,243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    BSP '10 4x4 TRD Off-Road DC
    See build thread in signature
    I kinda doubt that... I press mine up against powerful magnets all the time at work and it's yet to have any issues....

    *Note, I don't do it intentionally I just end up leaning against them working around tools
     
  7. Jan 20, 2010 at 10:37 AM
    #7
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB - Super White
    SOLD!
    Maybe it wont, but I wouldn't risk it with the cost of a replacement. A friend of mine has been a locksmith for over 30 years and specializes in coding these keys and noted that very strong magnets can damage the transponder. Now obviously I'm not talking about a refrigerator magnet. Industrial magnets, like the kind that will cut your finger off, of maim you if you get them wedged in between two will cause a problem.
     
  8. Jan 20, 2010 at 7:38 PM
    #8
    HankB

    HankB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Member:
    #24871
    Messages:
    200
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Hank
    near Chicago
    Vehicle:
    06 Preruner TRD Off Road
    bone stock
    How would I know if I have an immobolizer on my '06? Did they all have them or was it an option?

    thanks
     
  9. Jan 20, 2010 at 9:31 PM
    #9
    Kyouto42

    Kyouto42 Iron Beard

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Member:
    #8614
    Messages:
    9,243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jake
    Ahwatukee, AZ
    Vehicle:
    BSP '10 4x4 TRD Off-Road DC
    See build thread in signature
    Yea, I'm talking about very high power industrial magnets lol...
     
  10. Jan 20, 2010 at 9:55 PM
    #10
    astral

    astral On my second taco now....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Member:
    #28482
    Messages:
    278
    Gender:
    Male
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2011 TX PRO
    Do you have a second key you could try? If it is just a key that has a damaged chip I would assume that would be a cheaper replacement.
     
  11. Jan 20, 2010 at 10:03 PM
    #11
    dustin81

    dustin81 DUSTOFF

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Member:
    #16018
    Messages:
    381
    Gender:
    Male
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Vehicle:
    09 TaCo Lifted TRD
    PRO COMP 6" Lift Stage II PRO COMP 2.75" Coilovers PRO COMP MX-6 shocks PRO COMP skid plate Bushwacker Fender Flares Smittybuilt Chrome Steps KC Chrome 6" SLIMLITES Billet Custom Grill JDM window vent visors Window Tint Flowmaster TRD CAI
  12. Jan 22, 2010 at 5:49 PM
    #12
    Pickett

    Pickett [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Member:
    #18417
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    06 Ink
    Here's what I'm wondering, if it is something to do with the Key Switch Assembly, if I were to install a remote starter wouldn't that send the code directly to the computer, therefore bypassing the potential for it not being recognized in the key?
     
To Top