1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Feeler: Cruise Control Mod Wiring Kits for Unwired Tacos

Discussion in '2nd Gen Tacoma Parts Marketplace (2005-2015)' started by Jerry Bear, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. Mar 30, 2011 at 5:50 PM
    #1
    Jerry Bear

    Jerry Bear [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Member:
    #51743
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    I was thinking about building cruise control wiring kits for those of you who bought the parts to do the cruise control mod, but then found that your truck didn't have the wiring.

    The kits would have everything that you need to add the missing wiring. The wires would be already cut to length with the terminals crimped onto them, along with cable ties to secure the wires to the under-dash harnesses.

    It's not very difficult to add the wires. You just route them and stick them into existing connectors. Here's a link to the instructions for a Rostra cruise kit with the wires. Rostra calls them harnesses:
    http://rostra.com/manuals/250-1836_Form5188C.pdf

    There would be two different wiring kits: one for automatic transmission, one for manual transmission.

    The automatic kit would have the black, brown, and green wires as described in the Rostra instructions. It would cost US $19.95 including shipping to anywhere in the US or Canada.

    The manual kit would have everything in the automatic kit plus a harness with a connector for the Toyota OEM clutch switch on one end and the blue and violet wires from the Rostra instructions on the other end. It would cost US $24.95 including shipping to anywhere in the US or Canada.

    Just to make it clear, these wiring kits would NOT contain the cruise switch, cruise switch wiring harness (the one inside the steering wheel), steering wheel cover, or clutch switch. I'm assuming that you already bought those.

    If you would be interested in the wiring kits, please reply to this post with your transmission type (manual or auto). If there is enough interest in the wiring kits, I will buy the parts and build some. I'm not asking for a firm committment now, just an expression of interest.

    If you are thinking about buying a wiring kit from me and then buying the OEM cruise control mod parts, you might want to wait a few weeks. I've located a far East supplier who makes a replacement cruise control switch that looks just like the Toyota OEM switch. I'm waiting for a sample now. If I like his switch, I may build some complete cruise control kits for sale at a lower price than the total of the OEM Cruise Control Mod parts or the cost of a Rostra kit.
     
  2. Apr 3, 2011 at 11:22 AM
    #2
    wdinfla

    wdinfla Can't Fix Stupid

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Member:
    #50438
    Messages:
    504
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Walt
    Melbourne, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 4 cyl, 5 speed, Pyrite Mica
    Front mud flaps, Seat covers by GT Covers, Hurst shifter T-handle, debadged, 15" antenna, In channel Vent-Visors, Undercover SE tonneau cover, Weathertech digital fit floor mats, Redline Tuning hood struts, Bed mat, Intermittent wiper switch, Leather armrests, Drag DR-33 Gunmetal Grey 15x7 +40 offset, BFG Radial T/A's 255/60R15, BHLM, OEM style Fog lights on anytime,
    I would be interested. I installed my cruise parts to find out my 2011 isn't wired for the cruise control. Basically it didn't work. I have the manual tranny.
     
  3. Apr 3, 2011 at 1:23 PM
    #3
    Innkeeper271

    Innkeeper271 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Member:
    #53964
    Messages:
    34
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Terry
    Washington
    Vehicle:
    2011 SR5 DCLB
    Toyota OEM bed mat, Weathertech Digital Floor Liners, window visors & bug/stone deflector. Wet Okole seat covers front/rear, Dynolock HS tailgate lock.
    I would be interested. Just bought a 2011 DCLB 4x4 auto trans SR5. Thanks.
     
  4. Apr 3, 2011 at 1:33 PM
    #4
    epa4wd

    epa4wd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Member:
    #14828
    Messages:
    2,139
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eduardo
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD Sport
    Clazzio Seat Covers Extang Tri-Fold Soft Tonneau Cover TRD Skid Plate AMP Research Electric Steps 43% Llumar Security tint TRD Exhaust Fox 2.0 coilovers and rear shocks 16" TRD Fake Beadlocks Custom LED Cube mounts in foglight location TRD Pro Grill Wheelers progressive aal
    How do you know if you are pre-wired or not? Is there a way to visually check quickly?
    (Auto Trans)
     
  5. Apr 3, 2011 at 10:47 PM
    #5
    Jerry Bear

    Jerry Bear [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Member:
    #51743
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    Thanks for the interest.

    To see if your truck is prewired, read these instructions and look in your truck for the wires that the instructions say to install:
    http://rostra.com/manuals/250-1836_Form5188C.pdf

    If S8 already has the two wires and C9 has its wire, and the ECM connector already has its two wires, you have all the wires you need for an automatic.

    For a manual, also look in the area where the instructions say to mount the clutch switch. If you find an unused white 2-terminal plug with a light green wire and a blue/black wire, you have all the wiring.
     
  6. May 28, 2011 at 8:27 PM
    #6
    judgerebel

    judgerebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Member:
    #57398
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    William
    Whitehall, Montana
    Vehicle:
    2011 Tacoma 4WD Reg Cab
    I just purchased a new 2011 Toyota Tacoma 4WD Regular Cab AT and installed a cruise control myself, only to learn to late that it was not prewired for cruise control. I saw where Jerry Bear was considering making the necessary wiring harnesses, and was wondering if this had been done. I would be happy to pay to get the necessary harnesses to get my cruise control up and running. Any information about this problem would be appreciated.
     
  7. May 28, 2011 at 9:16 PM
    #7
    Jerry Bear

    Jerry Bear [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Member:
    #51743
    Messages:
    146
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    I decided not to build the harnesses.

    Look at the link in post #5 of this thread. It will tell you where all of the underdash wires go.

    I understand that you can order a kit with just the underdash wires from a Rostra distributor and the part number for that kit is 250-2735. I haven't tried it.

    If you want to build your own underdash wires, the terminals for the underdash wiring for a Taco with an automatic transmission are part number 6865 from www.newunitedracetech.com

    If you bought the Toyota OEM cruise stalk that doesn't include the harness from the stalk to the spiral cable, you will need to buy and install that harness.

    If you bought a stalk that does include the harness, you need to buy the Toyota stalk-to-spiral cable harness and use it instead. Or, take the 1-wire harness that was originally in the steering wheel, carefully remove the terminal and wire from the 4-pin square plug, then plug the terminal/wire into the same place on the 4-pin square plug of the harness that came with your stalk.

    To remove the terminal from the square plug, I would suggest cutting the plug open very carefully.
     
  8. May 29, 2011 at 3:12 PM
    #8
    jepeck

    jepeck New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57230
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Maple City, Mi
    Vehicle:
    11 Tacoma 4wd
    I have the Rostra 250-2735 harness on order and will post the results when I get it installed.
     
  9. May 29, 2011 at 3:16 PM
    #9
    wdinfla

    wdinfla Can't Fix Stupid

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Member:
    #50438
    Messages:
    504
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Walt
    Melbourne, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2011 4 cyl, 5 speed, Pyrite Mica
    Front mud flaps, Seat covers by GT Covers, Hurst shifter T-handle, debadged, 15" antenna, In channel Vent-Visors, Undercover SE tonneau cover, Weathertech digital fit floor mats, Redline Tuning hood struts, Bed mat, Intermittent wiper switch, Leather armrests, Drag DR-33 Gunmetal Grey 15x7 +40 offset, BFG Radial T/A's 255/60R15, BHLM, OEM style Fog lights on anytime,
    Thank-you! Will be looking forward to hear your results.
     
  10. Aug 29, 2011 at 4:52 PM
    #10
    BearB8

    BearB8 Ex-Texan, found a bigger state

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Member:
    #60500
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Handsome
    Bonner Ferry, ID
    Vehicle:
    '15 DCSB TRD Off-Road
    Did the stupid route of buying OEM cruise components, putting everything in and spending half an hour looking for clutch switch harness to realize I was not prewired.
    I cannot find where to buy the Rostra harnesses individually, and am willing to make my own. The problem that I run into is where do I get the spade connector terminals that Toyota uses to connect to the ECM and clock spring. I thought that since the OP was going to make these harnesses he might know.
    I am willing to ginuea pig and write-up the process if someone could point me in the right direction for the male terminals.
     
  11. Aug 30, 2011 at 7:17 AM
    #11
    jepeck

    jepeck New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57230
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Maple City, Mi
    Vehicle:
    11 Tacoma 4wd
    I recently purchased one from LesscoElectronics.com, but haven't had a chance to install it yet. (Rostra 250-2735 Parts Sack for MT).
     
  12. Aug 31, 2011 at 9:54 AM
    #12
    BearB8

    BearB8 Ex-Texan, found a bigger state

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Member:
    #60500
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Handsome
    Bonner Ferry, ID
    Vehicle:
    '15 DCSB TRD Off-Road
    I looked on their website and the wiring harness is listed as out of stock. I am more than willing to buy the part but I don't want to wait for months.
     
  13. Sep 1, 2011 at 5:36 AM
    #13
    jepeck

    jepeck New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Member:
    #57230
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Maple City, Mi
    Vehicle:
    11 Tacoma 4wd
    Mine was backordered for awhile and delivered a couple of weeks back shortly after I contacted and asked when it was going to be available. Apparently Lessco's supplier has them. If you want to buy one, you might call Lessco rather than relying on a Web order.
     
  14. Sep 2, 2011 at 9:39 AM
    #14
    BearB8

    BearB8 Ex-Texan, found a bigger state

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Member:
    #60500
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Handsome
    Bonner Ferry, ID
    Vehicle:
    '15 DCSB TRD Off-Road
    Sweet. Thanks for the heads-up.
     
  15. Sep 6, 2011 at 1:16 PM
    #15
    BearB8

    BearB8 Ex-Texan, found a bigger state

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Member:
    #60500
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Handsome
    Bonner Ferry, ID
    Vehicle:
    '15 DCSB TRD Off-Road
    Just called LessCoElectronics and said that can no longer get the Rostra 250-2735 parts sack for MT. I guess I have to now call Rostra and try to convince them to sell me the wiring harness separately.
     
  16. Dec 19, 2012 at 5:07 AM
    #16
    jchav

    jchav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Member:
    #91738
    Messages:
    116
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Irving Tx
    Vehicle:
    Red 2.7L 4x4 Manual
    none yet
    I can't find anywhere that will sell the harnesses separately. I did the foolish thing of buying the oem parts and not checking if I was prewired. Has anyone created a write up of how to build your own harness? I did a search but I couldn't find anything.
     
To Top