1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Fire Alarm Keeps Alarming

Discussion in 'Garage / Workshop' started by Sport11, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. Nov 15, 2011 at 4:56 PM
    #1
    Sport11

    Sport11 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Member:
    #51187
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Kingsport, TN
    Vehicle:
    Dodge Ram 1500
    My wife and I bought a new construction house in July '09. We have a fire alarm system that is wired throughout the house to six different fire alarms.

    About 2 months ago at approximately 3 a.m., the fire alarm just starts going off. I jump out of bed from a dead sleep, then the alarm just goes silent.

    My thoughts start running wild, thinking the only way the alarm can be turned off is by pushing the button on the alarm. So my initial thought is that someone is in the house. I immediately start looking through the house, checking all doors, closets, showers, etc. I found nothing.

    Tonight, just about 20 min. ago, the fire alarm starts sounding again. Twenty seconds after it starts alarming, it turns off by itself. I check the house again, nothing, no smoke whatsoever.

    I just checked all the batteries (tongue test) and hit the test button on all six alarms. They all seem to be working fine. Any ideas on what could be causing this?
     
  2. Nov 15, 2011 at 5:02 PM
    #2
    sprgrey

    sprgrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Member:
    #54659
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grey
    Conroe, Tx
    Vehicle:
    TRD, DBL, TOYO w/KONIGS
    Many, the list goes on..
    You Have one that is faulty. Those things are actually very sensative. If you get some dust, saw dust, moisture,etc. In them It can actually cause them to alarm then reset. I had to learn that the hard way after months of no sleep. Obviously I can't say for certain but that's what happened to me.
     
  3. Nov 15, 2011 at 5:06 PM
    #3
    Sport11

    Sport11 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Member:
    #51187
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Kingsport, TN
    Vehicle:
    Dodge Ram 1500
    How did you fix your's? Replace all the alarms? Blow the dust out with that electronic can of air stuff?
     
  4. Nov 15, 2011 at 5:16 PM
    #4
    sprgrey

    sprgrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Member:
    #54659
    Messages:
    85
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grey
    Conroe, Tx
    Vehicle:
    TRD, DBL, TOYO w/KONIGS
    Many, the list goes on..
    I tried cleaning all of them with air but it didn't work. I bought a new detector and replaced it at different locations until I found the culprit. This was not my idea but had a friend that does Construction in homes and commercial and what he suggested. Trust me, many sleepless nights....no fun.
     
  5. Nov 15, 2011 at 6:00 PM
    #5
    wing103

    wing103 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7807
    Messages:
    1,130
    Gender:
    Male
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD Sport / Dark Gray
    Grill Craft upper & Lower Grill WetOK Seat Cover, Devil Horn, Bug, Windows Deflector, Side step Bar, HID 55W 8000K Headlight, HID 35W 4000K Foglight, Fog Light Mod, Interior LED Map Light Mod, Electric Tail Gate Lock, Leer Cab, Key ring light, Bed LED lights Mod, Kenwood DNX5120, Signal Mirror with Heat
    Can I ask one thing, dose the detector wired to a AFCI circuit breakers in the panel?
    Also please change out all six devices, it is cheap at homedepot, buy the Kidde brand. They last longer than the other.
     
  6. Nov 15, 2011 at 6:07 PM
    #6
    Sport11

    Sport11 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Member:
    #51187
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Kingsport, TN
    Vehicle:
    Dodge Ram 1500
    It does not have it's own circuit breaker.
     
  7. Nov 15, 2011 at 6:23 PM
    #7
    wing103

    wing103 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Member:
    #7807
    Messages:
    1,130
    Gender:
    Male
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    Tacoma TRD Sport / Dark Gray
    Grill Craft upper & Lower Grill WetOK Seat Cover, Devil Horn, Bug, Windows Deflector, Side step Bar, HID 55W 8000K Headlight, HID 35W 4000K Foglight, Fog Light Mod, Interior LED Map Light Mod, Electric Tail Gate Lock, Leer Cab, Key ring light, Bed LED lights Mod, Kenwood DNX5120, Signal Mirror with Heat
    I know it is not own there circuit breaker, but is it on a AFCI circuit breaker?
     
  8. Nov 15, 2011 at 6:33 PM
    #8
    Fever

    Fever Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Member:
    #25372
    Messages:
    114
    Gender:
    Male
    Portland, Maine
    Vehicle:
    TRD OFF RD
    TRD exhaust,remote starter, heated seats, Westin Bull Bar,TRD CAI, Weathertechs
    I am assuming it is a combined smoke and carbon monoxide detector? Hyper sensitive. One should go off before the others do. Even the ammonia from a cats litter box can set them off. Most likely faulty if you can't identify which one is going off try rotating them.
     
  9. Nov 16, 2011 at 5:53 AM
    #9
    Sport11

    Sport11 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Member:
    #51187
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Kingsport, TN
    Vehicle:
    Dodge Ram 1500
    i don't know what an afci circuit breaker is.
     
To Top