1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

flashing SRS/airbag light

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by humanoid, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. Jan 18, 2008 at 12:31 AM
    #1
    humanoid

    humanoid [OP] bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    Just got a flashing SRS/airbag light today. Does the airbag/SRS system need regular servicing? The manual doesn't state anything like that, only states that truck should be taken in ASAP if the light is flashing, I guess I'll take it in Friday or Monday to have it looked at and have some other things taken care of too.
     
  2. Jan 18, 2008 at 6:42 AM
    #2
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,253
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    One of the National Auto parts stores (Autozone, Advance, cant' remember) will read the engine codes for free. I would take it there and get the problem codes. Research a bit and find out what you're dealing with.

    It could be something as simple as a plug-in sensor (if you're lucky) that you can install yourself. Or - it'll give you a little bit of insight for when you take it to the dealer. You can tell them exactly what's wrong (for the most part) and they shouldn't try to scam you into un-necessary repairs.
     
  3. Jan 18, 2008 at 8:36 AM
    #3
    humanoid

    humanoid [OP] bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    I've got the SGII and did a scan with no codes. I've not been in any accidents either so I'm not sure what to make of it.
     
  4. Jan 18, 2008 at 9:38 AM
    #4
    Janster

    Janster Old & Forgetful

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Member:
    #1138
    Messages:
    14,253
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    Weird...you'd think there'd be a trouble code in the computer.

    The dealer will hook up to the computer to gain info on what's wrong - run a diagnostics check or something. Surprised the SCII isn't picking anything up??
     
  5. Jan 18, 2008 at 9:52 AM
    #5
    humanoid

    humanoid [OP] bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    Yeah, I was surprised too, I thought it would have picked up some sort of malfunctioning sensor of something. Anyhoo, I've made an appt. with the $tealer for Monday morning, I'll see how much he wants to rape me for... I'll bring a large jar of Vasoline too.
     
  6. Jan 20, 2008 at 7:10 AM
    #6
    99TRD

    99TRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Member:
    #4101
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    06 Tacoma SR5 TRD Access Cab Auto V6
    BHLM, Satoshi Mod, Blacked out Emblems, Scangauge II, XM Radio
    I had a similar problem with a different light. My ABS light comes on, but when it is scanned, no error codes. I always thought it was nothing, but lately, I can feel the ABS trying to engage and it can't. The light comes on soon thereafter.
     
  7. Jan 20, 2008 at 8:47 AM
    #7
    humanoid

    humanoid [OP] bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    nevermind
     
  8. Jan 24, 2008 at 4:32 PM
    #8
    humanoid

    humanoid [OP] bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    Just a little update... the $tealer found out that the driver side seat belt tensioner, which includes the whole seat belt harness, was bad and ordered it to get it put in on Wednesday. He calls me Wednesday morning and tells me the wrong parts are in, the part that came in came without the tensioner.... great. Get another call today and he says they order 2 other seat belt assemblies and both of them come without the tensioner. He says he'll call Toyota corp. and find out what the deal is. Great....
     
  9. Feb 27, 2008 at 10:02 PM
    #9
    jungleman

    jungleman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4988
    Messages:
    39
    Any update on this?
     
  10. Feb 27, 2008 at 11:09 PM
    #10
    humanoid

    humanoid [OP] bite me

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Member:
    #1932
    Messages:
    2,744
    Gender:
    Male
    Sunny SoCal
    Vehicle:
    I had a '99 Xtra Cab PreRunner SR5 V6
    Jungleman, the $tealer replaced the whole driver's side seatbelt harness. Not sure what the deal was with all the different part numbers though. When I went in to pick my rig up, my service adviser wasn't there so I couldn't ask him. The whole thing cost a little over 4 Benjis.
     
  11. Feb 28, 2008 at 6:39 PM
    #11
    SharkMan

    SharkMan Carolina Alliance: Citadel Div

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Member:
    #4600
    Messages:
    57
    Charleston SC
    Vehicle:
    2008 FJ Cruiser Play N Trade Ed
    I've got the same problem with the light. I had the truck hooked up to a gynises machine since it doesn't related to a ODII code. I talked to the dealer service manager today and made friends since he is a former marines so hoepfully I don't get raped when I go in on monday.
     
  12. Feb 28, 2008 at 7:10 PM
    #12
    jungleman

    jungleman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4988
    Messages:
    39
    Cool
    Thanks
    Just wondering what I`m looking at if I can`t clear the code myself which it`s looking like I`m not going to be able to. From all my research and talking to the dealer today it sounds like I`m not going to be able to access the airbag system with the autozone scanner, go figure.

    I did come across this though when I was looking for a couple of seatbelt clips to pop in while we`re off road to get rid of the "you don`t have your seatbelt on" flashy man.

    [​IMG]

    What caught my eye was the "disable air bag" part.
    I know there`s no way they`d do it for obvious liability reasons but it does tell me it is possible.

    No biggie........he`s been on since Aug.
    for 4 benjis he can stay on if I can`t get at him
     
  13. Feb 28, 2008 at 7:35 PM
    #13
    SharkMan

    SharkMan Carolina Alliance: Citadel Div

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Member:
    #4600
    Messages:
    57
    Charleston SC
    Vehicle:
    2008 FJ Cruiser Play N Trade Ed
    The code won't clear because its a active sensor. The guidelines say go down the list saying seatbelt pretensioner, air bag module and wire harness. I don't know about the harness but a new module is $800. Then again you can always pop the dash and remove the light.
     
  14. Feb 28, 2008 at 7:54 PM
    #14
    jungleman

    jungleman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Member:
    #4988
    Messages:
    39
    There you go.....now you`re talking
    He`s starting to get a little irritating
    at least he doesn`t flash or I`d have had to do something about it when it first came on

    I`d definately take it in and have it diagnosed first just to see what tripped it.
    Just curiosity
     
To Top