1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Fog light indicator ?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by F75gunslinger, May 5, 2012.

  1. May 5, 2012 at 1:46 PM
    #1
    F75gunslinger

    F75gunslinger [OP] Ka like a wheel

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Member:
    #75759
    Messages:
    841
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Rochester,NY
    Vehicle:
    SWB '10 Doublecab TRD Sport 4x4
    Cluster and Radio LED swap,Westin bull bar,2nd set of bed tie downs,URD SS,K&N filter,weathertechs
    Has anyone ever thought of using the headlight indicator in the gauge cluster as a fog light indicator instead ? I'm not sure if anyone has tried this or even how it's connected,but I think it would be a far more useful idea than a light for the headlights. Any thoughts guys ?
     
  2. May 5, 2012 at 1:59 PM
    #2
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,266
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
  3. May 5, 2012 at 11:26 PM
    #3
    F75gunslinger

    F75gunslinger [OP] Ka like a wheel

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Member:
    #75759
    Messages:
    841
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Rochester,NY
    Vehicle:
    SWB '10 Doublecab TRD Sport 4x4
    Cluster and Radio LED swap,Westin bull bar,2nd set of bed tie downs,URD SS,K&N filter,weathertechs
    I saw that ,and while it's not too complicated I'd rather just do some wire splicing/changing/connecting. I don't need a dash light to tell me my headlights are on.The fogs on the other hand would be nice . I appreciate it man !
     
  4. May 5, 2012 at 11:38 PM
    #4
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    FJ Cruiser fog switch uses a 6-pin connector and has an indicator light.

    You're going to find that modding or replacing the switch and/or it's harness is going to be MUCH easier than modding the cluster.
     
  5. May 6, 2012 at 12:12 AM
    #5
    whippersnapper02

    whippersnapper02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Member:
    #27905
    Messages:
    35,266
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Vehicle:
    10 MGM TRD OR 4wd Auto DCSB
    Banks Monster Exhaust, Pop n Lock tailgate lock, Hook-Ups tie down brackets, USA Spec Ipod adaptor, WO seat covers, color matched grill with Grillcraft insert, Tuffy locking bed box
    Personally I leave my fogs on all the time. To see if they are on I look at the switch. Pushed in? They are on. Headlight indicators are used because of the lighted dash. Many people get confused because of the constantly lit dash.
     
  6. May 6, 2012 at 12:30 AM
    #6
    Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,496
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    I don't get that and really don't like it.
    Been a couple of times I've caught myself running without lights when they should be on because of that.

    OTOH, the light switch could just be left on 24/7 since they shut off when you open the door.
     
  7. May 6, 2012 at 12:39 AM
    #7
    F75gunslinger

    F75gunslinger [OP] Ka like a wheel

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Member:
    #75759
    Messages:
    841
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Christian
    Rochester,NY
    Vehicle:
    SWB '10 Doublecab TRD Sport 4x4
    Cluster and Radio LED swap,Westin bull bar,2nd set of bed tie downs,URD SS,K&N filter,weathertechs
    Will the Fj switch fit in the Tacoma location ?
     
To Top