1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Fog Light Relay

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Tech96, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. Apr 1, 2014 at 5:59 PM
    #1
    Tech96

    Tech96 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Member:
    #122614
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    14 Tacoma DC
    I got my fog lights from BLOODYMARY and installed them last night. I have now found out that I need the relay. The dealer wants $57 for it. I have called a few auto parts stores with no luck. Does anyone know of a place to get one at a reasonable price?

    Bill
     
  2. Apr 1, 2014 at 6:05 PM
    #2
    moondeath

    moondeath The answer to divorce...... Tequila!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Member:
    #48948
    Messages:
    5,840
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Pa, Carlisle
    Vehicle:
    2013 TRD Sport DCLB 4x4
    5100 @ 1.75", 1.5" Icon Progressive 3 leaf, Procomp Wheels, Grill Thin Lip (Custom Car Grills Mod), Access Tonneau Cover, Pop & Lock Tailgate Electronic Lock PL8521
    Radio shack or auto parts store. It doesn't have to be an exact Toyota relay. It just needs to be the right voltage and amperage.
     
  3. Apr 1, 2014 at 6:28 PM
    #3
    1of7627

    1of7627 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Member:
    #119091
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Post Falls, ID
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCLB Ltd, '63 Corvair Spyder
    Things I need to tow.
    There's a post in the Towing forum that mentions the backup light relay for the towing package is the same as the fog light relay, and gives an AutoZone part (Duralast # 41-5465) that is comparable. Might be worth looking for.
     
  4. Apr 1, 2014 at 6:54 PM
    #4
    Tech96

    Tech96 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Member:
    #122614
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    14 Tacoma DC
    I will try that. Thanks
     
  5. Apr 6, 2014 at 8:18 PM
    #5
    Tech96

    Tech96 [OP] Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Member:
    #122614
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bill
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    14 Tacoma DC
    Got a relay at Oreilly's auto parts. Lights work great.

    image.jpg
     
  6. Dec 17, 2018 at 8:21 AM
    #6
    redcon

    redcon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Member:
    #218362
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Southern PA
    Vehicle:
    2012 AC 4x4 Base 2.7L/5MT
    (THREAD RESURRECTION) :)

    So I had a guy add an aftermarket (OEM Replica) kit to my 2012 that came without fogs (but was pre-wired). Driver side fog got water inside so I replaced with an OEM takeoff fog, but they are still not working. I checked all the fuses, and the swith lights up. I am thinking maybe the relay burned out... would the relay be mounted in the fuse box under the hood? Any clues to which one it is?
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2018
  7. Dec 17, 2018 at 9:50 AM
    #7
    obscurotron

    obscurotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Member:
    #77839
    Messages:
    710
    Gender:
    Male
    N. Nevada
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCSB 4x4
    Too many to list, and I've probably forgotten a bunch.
    If it was all pre-wired, then the relay should be underhood. I think it moved around between '12 and '14 (mine is in a small, secondary underhood fusebox). Assuming it's underhood and pre-wired, its position should be labeled (inside of fuse box). You can pull it and test it with a 12V battery (I keep a couple of serviceable home alarm backup batteries around for testing 12V stuff). In a pinch you can connect a (9V and a couple of AA's in series as your power source.

    When you apply power to the relay (+12VDC to terminal 86, ground to terminal 85), does it click? If no click, toss the relay.

    If it does click, put a meter on continuity check between terminal 30 and terminal 87. You should have continuity between 30 & 87 while you are energizing terminals 86 & 85. If click, but no continuity, toss the relay.

    Relays do burn out, but if a new one burns out soon, then you have other problems (corroded terminals in the fuse box, loose terminal connection, etc.)
     
    redcon likes this.
  8. Dec 17, 2018 at 10:23 AM
    #8
    redcon

    redcon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Member:
    #218362
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Southern PA
    Vehicle:
    2012 AC 4x4 Base 2.7L/5MT
    @obscurotron Thanks for the tips and troubleshooting advice. I do have a meter and an extra 12V marine battery so I'll check it out tonight.
     
  9. Dec 17, 2018 at 10:30 AM
    #9
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,140
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    Like so...
    upload_2018-12-17_14-29-58.jpg
    upload_2018-12-17_14-31-56.jpg
     
    PzTank likes this.
  10. Dec 17, 2018 at 10:34 AM
    #10
    redcon

    redcon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Member:
    #218362
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Southern PA
    Vehicle:
    2012 AC 4x4 Base 2.7L/5MT
    @caribe makaira I don't have that small relay box under my hood-- just the large fuse/relay box. Maybe because my '12 is a base model and has no 120V inverter, etc.?
     
  11. Dec 17, 2018 at 10:36 AM
    #11
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,140
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    So the kit was pre-wired or the truck?
     
  12. Dec 17, 2018 at 10:38 AM
    #12
    redcon

    redcon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Member:
    #218362
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Southern PA
    Vehicle:
    2012 AC 4x4 Base 2.7L/5MT
    The truck definitely had the wires tucked up under the bumper, according to my buddy that installed it. He is now deployed overseas and not answering my questions about the relay, LOL.
    He used the switch and the actual foglamps/bulbs from the kit. Now wondering if the relay is in-line?
     
  13. Dec 17, 2018 at 10:39 AM
    #13
    hx989

    hx989 Superunknown Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Member:
    #177349
    Messages:
    5,924
    Olympic Peninsula
    I'm pretty sure that the 4cyl trucks were not pre-wired. But in some cases the pre-wiring did not include relays.
    In my 07 V6 the fog light relay is in the main fuse tray46995A9F-06B6-4F4F-946D-A188AB67A77E-487-000000641118BC87.jpg
     
  14. Dec 17, 2018 at 10:39 AM
    #14
    caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    5,140
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad AutoTrans
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    upload_2018-12-17_14-39-12.jpg
    See if you have this...
     
    redcon and hx989 like this.
  15. Dec 17, 2018 at 10:48 AM
    #15
    redcon

    redcon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Member:
    #218362
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Southern PA
    Vehicle:
    2012 AC 4x4 Base 2.7L/5MT
    Great pictures! Will check it out.
     
  16. Dec 17, 2018 at 10:52 AM
    #16
    obscurotron

    obscurotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Member:
    #77839
    Messages:
    710
    Gender:
    Male
    N. Nevada
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCSB 4x4
    Too many to list, and I've probably forgotten a bunch.
    Yeah, I think the 13's or 14's started the smaller 2nd fuse/relay box under the hood. I don't think my '12 had it, either (and I did have the 120V outlet)

    The relay should then be in the big fuse box, aft of the battery.
     
    redcon likes this.
  17. Dec 19, 2018 at 5:10 AM
    #17
    redcon

    redcon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Member:
    #218362
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Southern PA
    Vehicle:
    2012 AC 4x4 Base 2.7L/5MT
    Thanks to all who responded so far.
    I had some time last night and checked everything out. The relay circled in the above pics doesn't exist in my truck, not having fogs from the factory.

    Obviously, my truck was NOT prewired, the wiring harness came from the cheap kit I bought online. He pulled the power per the kit instructions, from a wiretap to the small fuse panel behind the hinged door/pocket in the driver's compartment. The harness has it's own relay tucked in there, as well as an inline fuse that is fine/not burned out. Seems like the relay clicks when I depress the switch (also installed from the kit), and the switch lights up as it should.

    So, with all that knowledge, the lights still don't work. I've tried two sets of bulbs. Not sure where to go from here, except to rip everything out and start over with a new kit/harness. :frusty:
     
  18. Dec 19, 2018 at 7:14 AM
    #18
    obscurotron

    obscurotron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Member:
    #77839
    Messages:
    710
    Gender:
    Male
    N. Nevada
    Vehicle:
    '14 DCSB 4x4
    Too many to list, and I've probably forgotten a bunch.
    I've had cheap Chinesium relays last about 12 seconds before. They keep clicking, but they either arc and destroy their contacts pretty quickly, or the internal connections on the output terminals is shitty.

    Last test I would do us hook up the meter to the load side of the relay, push the button, and see if you get continuity. Then do it again, but testing for voltage. If both of those tests are OK, either chase down the wiring from the load side to the lights, or strip out the whole mess and make your own harness. Could also be shitty butt connectors or terminals further down the line, too. PITA this stuff is, which is why I try to build my own harnesses when time permits.
     
  19. Dec 19, 2018 at 7:47 AM
    #19
    redcon

    redcon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Member:
    #218362
    Messages:
    216
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Southern PA
    Vehicle:
    2012 AC 4x4 Base 2.7L/5MT
    @obscurotron I should be able to cut some zipties and check the relay. If it is bad, I'll check Amazon for the P/N
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2018
    obscurotron likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top