1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

fog light switch wiring

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by adamw, Mar 22, 2012.

  1. adamw

    adamw [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Member:
    #49891
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner SR5 6spd
    I have read a few different threads saying that the switch from the top is
    1.ground
    2. power in
    3. illuminaton power
    4. power out.
    but I have also read that the order goes
    1. illumination power
    2. ground
    3. power in
    4. power out.

    can anyone confirm if one or neither of these are right?
    thanks

    P0006459a.jpg
     
  2. t_e

    t_e Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Member:
    #27078
    Messages:
    558
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    miami,fl
    The common mistake is that people think the switch gives power when in reality it gives ground out to the relay.
     
  3. Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,700
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    1. Top, ground
    2. power input
    3. illumination power
    4. Bottom, power output
     
  4. caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Lurker No More

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
  5. HolyReptar

    HolyReptar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Member:
    #71259
    Messages:
    890
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bry
    Ventura
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD Sport 4x4
    caribe thank you, just showed me what wires to tab on my fj aux switch
     
  6. adamw

    adamw [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Member:
    #49891
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner SR5 6spd
    if I'm using a 5 pin relay it says 87 goes to lights, 30 to bat, 85 is a ground, 86 to switch, where does 87a go?
     
  7. HolyReptar

    HolyReptar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Member:
    #71259
    Messages:
    890
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bry
    Ventura
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD Sport 4x4
    I didn't use the 87a I capped it, not really sure when your supposed to use a 5 pin relay=P
     
  8. Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,700
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    If you don't need 87A, don't use it. 87A is powered when 87 is not. Put some electric grease over it and cap it off or get a 4-pin relay.
     
  9. adamw

    adamw [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Member:
    #49891
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner SR5 6spd
    so if I use the 4 pin relay that came with the Hellas and use the oem 4 lead switch I have pin 30 to bat, 87 to lights. it it says 85 is a ground and 86 goes to the switch. if the first lead on the switch is the ground does it go to pin 85 or get grounded? then the second lead on the switch says it gets connected to pin 85 on the relay. then that leaves the last 2 leads on the switch for illumination but I only have one more connection from the add a circuit to the switch. what does the last lead. on the switch go to?
     
  10. Pugga

    Pugga Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Member:
    #39131
    Messages:
    28,700
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Massachusetts
    Vehicle:
    '13 Ford F-150 SCREW
    F-150 Mod
    You can ground the switch anywhere, you don't have to run it to the relay's ground. The switch and relay can be grounded separately. The advantage to grounding everything in the same spot is it makes trouble shooting easier if it comes to that. Make sure you ground pin 85 to a good ground also.

    One of the pins on the switch powers the little bulb inside the switch. You want to connect that lead to something that only comes on when the headlights come on (in order to mimic OEM functionality). Look at rcbs's illuminated 4x4 switch, he shows a good way to make a switch illuminate with the dash lights and you can use that to illuminate the switch.
     
  11. HolyReptar

    HolyReptar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Member:
    #71259
    Messages:
    890
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bry
    Ventura
    Vehicle:
    11 TRD Sport 4x4
    1 goes to a ground nothing on the relay... The 2 bottom wires are tap to another switches illumination they have nothing to do with the relay.
     
  12. caribe makaira

    caribe makaira Lurker No More

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Member:
    #51121
    Messages:
    473
    Gender:
    Male
    Caribbean, Puerto Rico
    Vehicle:
    05 PreRunner TRD Offroad
    Hood Struts, My version Fogs always ON, Map & Overhead Light Mod,
    Follow this sequence; Battery-fuse-relay Pin 30 and Pin 86 - 87 to lamps - 85 to OEM switch Pin 3.

    Or; Battery-fuse-relay Pin 30 and fuse-relay Pin 86-Pin 87 to lamps-pin 85 to OEM switch Pin 3.
     
  13. adamw

    adamw [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Member:
    #49891
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    sunnyvale, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 prerunner SR5 6spd
    I have Pin 30-battery, Pin 85-ground, Pin 86-switch, Pin 87-lights
    then on the switch I have the second from the top lead connected to pin 86 and the top a ground. I am not sure which wire the fuse tap connects to on the switch, and what to do with the last wire?
     
  14. Canes58

    Canes58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Member:
    #76337
    Messages:
    482
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola
    Vehicle:
    09 RC 4x 5spd
    magnaflow - k&n - fact alum wheels - back up mirror - intermit wipers - JVC 800 w/focal 165's - oem fogs - 5100's fr & rear.
  15. Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,498
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    The difference between the two diagrams is how the relay is wired.

    The top diagram, showing the dash indicator light used, is running pin 4 to a fused, switched power source and sending power out to the relay and the dash indicator.
    This is how most people wire fog switches.

    The bottom diagram, showing pin 4 grounded and pin 3 going to relay pin 85, is using ground-true switching. In this case, pin 86 of the relay is connected to a fused switched power source and the switch provides the ground.

    Both will work, but the first one needs to be used if you want an indicator light on your dash or switch.
     
  16. Onion27

    Onion27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Member:
    #53140
    Messages:
    107
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jason
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    05 Tacoma Dbl Cab PreRunner
    I bought this switch http://www.otrattw.com/proddetail.php?prod=VVPZC4S-57V from OTRATTW to swap with the OEM Fog Light switch. I got model V1D1BN0B. It has 3 terminals. How would I wire this up? I am a complete idiot when it comes to this, but it doesn't look difficult as long as I know which wires from the OEM switch go to which wires on the new one. If I need a completely different switch with more terminals let me know. Any help would be much appreciated!
     
  17. Rich91710

    Rich91710 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Member:
    #73470
    Messages:
    16,498
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base
    Satoshi with FJ badge, factory cruise, factory intermittent wipers, Redline Tuning hood-lift struts, Hellwig Swaybar, Rosen DVD-Nav
    That switch will work fine, but without a diagram on the switch, I can't tell which terminals go where.

    One will go to ground, one will go to your relay, and one will go to your fused, switched power source... but which one I don't now, and the link to the PDF on the OTTRATTW site is dead.

    You will lose the dash illumination with that switch, but you'll gain the indicator.
    You will use the wires connected to pins 1, 3, and 4 from the OEM harness.
     
  18. Canes58

    Canes58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Member:
    #76337
    Messages:
    482
    Gender:
    Male
    Pensacola
    Vehicle:
    09 RC 4x 5spd
    magnaflow - k&n - fact alum wheels - back up mirror - intermit wipers - JVC 800 w/focal 165's - oem fogs - 5100's fr & rear.
    Thanks Rich.
     
  19. troy28

    troy28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Member:
    #68095
    Messages:
    130
    Gender:
    Male
    Capitol of Salty Roads
    Need help
  20. tacopoker

    tacopoker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Member:
    #83172
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    Taco 4 banger
    Looking for OEM fog lights for 2012 Taco. Keep hearing that 2011 and 2012 are different. Whats different? The housings or the actual lights. And will 2010-2011 fog lights housing fit 2012 Taco? Also where to get them cheap. Please advise
     
To Top