1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

foglight wiring confusion

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by darkgohan, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. Oct 30, 2009 at 6:53 PM
    #1
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Been reading here for weeks,but not able to confirm whether my 2010 tacoma 4x4 accesscab sr5 is prewired for fogs. I did not order these from toyota,but now want them. Numerous posters seem to think that it is already a plug and play as they said truck. I looked under the fenders above the blank fog light holders but nada that I can see. Hope someone can confirm,my neck is cricked staring at this computer searching for the answer.Thank you :)
     
  2. Oct 30, 2009 at 7:17 PM
    #2
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    I think the connectors are dead ended up near the frame.
     
  3. Oct 30, 2009 at 7:28 PM
    #3
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Well that would be nice as I want to install piia 5454s when they are available,but my Toyota dealer is completely unknowledgeable,about anything I ask about this !Says he doesnt even have there own lights or a time frame on how long to install.If anyone can add to this please do!! TY:)
     
  4. Oct 30, 2009 at 7:32 PM
    #4
    T@co_Pr3runn3r

    T@co_Pr3runn3r XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Member:
    #12767
    Messages:
    11,951
    Gender:
    Male
    <----------------->
    Vehicle:
    08 RC Prerunner SR5
    ebay kit that comes with wiring harness and get the oem switch off ebay too. The switch that comes with the kit doesn't fit the dash right & not as good as the oem. lights snap into bumper holes just like oem without tools. Cheapest way out. Offroad lights could be added to a 2nd oem switch when ready to do those.
     
  5. Oct 30, 2009 at 7:54 PM
    #5
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Pretty much hooked on the piias,thanks,so really just need confirmation as to whether I am prewired.Will take your suggestion if I am not though,T.Y:)
     
  6. Oct 31, 2009 at 11:27 AM
    #6
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Well spent an hour arguing with toyota service,what a bunch of goofs. They are just plain stupid and arrogant,sat there looking at me as if I was from mars. He could not tell me anything but what he assumed,all wrong if what I have read here so far is true!! Any how I opened my hood and looked down near each foglight holder and chri4x4 is probably right as there are two connectors hooked into a block of some kind ?[deadheaded into frame.] If someone who already has the oems on their truck could look and let me know if their foglight wiring comes thru on each side of the radiator,this would confirm it .Please!! :):)
     
  7. Oct 31, 2009 at 12:29 PM
    #7
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    If the connectors you are looking at have Black and Yellow tape, those are your air bag sensors. DONT mess with those. :)
     
  8. Oct 31, 2009 at 12:36 PM
    #8
    supralight

    supralight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Member:
    #21479
    Messages:
    674
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Earth
    Vehicle:
    2013 4Runner limited
    Just looked into my truck also, since I want foglights for those rainy days. I've also spottes the 2 dead-ended connectors that the OP is talking about and I can confirm that those are air-bag connectors as per chris4x4.

    I couldn't find any other dead-ended connectors from above the hood, maybe by lifting the truck?

    And important information: as far as I can see, the relay box has no relay-free slots that are wired (that you can see wires into the plug) so that could mean that we are not wired at all?

    4 cyl. 4x4 2009.
     
  9. Oct 31, 2009 at 12:47 PM
    #9
    chris4x4

    chris4x4 With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine. Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Member:
    #6497
    Messages:
    106,192
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    FlimFlubberJAM
    Tenoe, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rubicon Unlimited,
    4.10 gears, sliders, and lots of buttons.
    The connectors should be up, and behind where the Fog Light mounting spot is. The Fuse box will have a empty spot for the fog relay. HOWEVER, if you dont find the connectors, there is a chance you dont have the wires, and would have to add aftermarket ones.
     
  10. Oct 31, 2009 at 2:34 PM
    #10
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes those were as chris4x4 said,so no other wires as other posters have said were on all V6s,unless they are stored somewhere else!! Some further searching I guess to see how to install after market ones. T.Y guys:)
     
  11. Oct 31, 2009 at 5:45 PM
    #11
    grammy

    grammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Member:
    #7158
    Messages:
    210
    Gender:
    Male
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Vehicle:
    4x4 v6 X-Cab
    You have to get underneath the front of the truck to see the fog wires. They should be there, they were there on my 09 SR5, I did not order them from the factory.
     
  12. Oct 31, 2009 at 8:07 PM
    #12
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks grammy,but I have looked every where I can above -- around-- behind the foglight locations and absolutely nothing, unless they are not located in the area immediately around that location!! Maybe they are tied back somewhere else??This is why I was hoping someone else with a 2010 and not having foglights would look and confirm or say nothing found.I am sewered until they do,as like I say dealership are hopeless.:confused:
     
  13. Oct 31, 2009 at 8:24 PM
    #13
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB - Super White
    SOLD!
    chances are you will not find a factory wiring harness for the fog lights on your truck. I am assuming that you have the 4 cyl. 2.7 liter. If this is the case, they do not come pre-wired for fog lights.

    I ended up buying a pair of fog lights off ebay for about 120USD (shipped) and you could never tell the difference between them, and the oem lights, IMO. They also come with their own harness, although I modified the original harness to my liking and used my own factory fog light switch that I had aquierd else where.
     
  14. Oct 31, 2009 at 8:54 PM
    #14
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks SC4333,but no it is a V6.:confused:
     
  15. Oct 31, 2009 at 9:02 PM
    #15
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB - Super White
    SOLD!

    Hmm. Its fairly obvious if the factory harness is present, so I would imagine that if you have looked high and low for the harness, it isn't there. Your next best thing to do would be to buy a pair of fog lights that come with a harness. Check out the fog lights on ebay if you decide to get a pair of aftermarkets. I was quite suprised by the fit and finish. There are a few writeups on here to that explain in depth the wiring and what not.
     
  16. Oct 31, 2009 at 9:44 PM
    #16
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Thank you. Have read many of the how 2s,but not real sure on my wiring skills. Got a favorite how 2 in mind please point me there .
     
  17. Nov 1, 2009 at 1:40 PM
    #17
    SC4333

    SC4333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Member:
    #11412
    Messages:
    2,190
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Grant
    San Antonio, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD Off-Road 4x4 DCSB - Super White
    SOLD!
    Here is one of them that I found useful. I would highly recommend getting a ATO add-a-circuit from amazon or your local parts store in order to tap power off an exsisting fused link at the fuse box. This will enable you to draw power without having to splice any wires at all. Just be sure to get a add-a-circuit that is for MINI fuses not regular size fuses.

    http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lighting/40006-watomi-fogs-ebay.html#post686018

    epa4wd also had a great post here, probably one of the best i've seen yet about how to wire the fogs. Really it is pretty fool proof. I just wanted to make it work a little differently, so I changed up the wiring some. Search through some of epa4wd's posts and you will find the post that I'm talking about.
     
  18. Nov 1, 2009 at 2:02 PM
    #18
    95SLE

    95SLE Starting to get cold outside

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Member:
    #20718
    Messages:
    11,861
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    09 RWD Access Cab
    Custom XM Install, Window Tint, Intermittant Wiper Install, AVS Bug Deflector, Bed Mat, TRS FX-R retrofits, CIBIE fog and spot lamps, PIAA 510 lamps, Acess LE cover, Weathertech Digital floorr mats, LED interior lighting, Pioneer AVH-2300BT HU, Boston Acoustics speakers, JL Audio Amp, shorty antenna, leather wrap steering wheel cover, Viper security system.
    I bought my 09 AC with a 2.7L engine in early August 09. The truchk was delivered to the dealer at 4 in the afternoon and I drove it home at 9. I could not find any wiring for the fog lamps by the front bumber. I also did not have the rear camera installed but it came with the plug ends if I want to remove the tailgate.
     
  19. Nov 1, 2009 at 3:03 PM
    #19
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Much appreciated my friend!!:)
     
  20. Nov 4, 2009 at 3:04 PM
    #20
    darkgohan

    darkgohan [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Member:
    #22498
    Messages:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Well I bitched enough to the dealer and finally got someone to take a comparison look at a truck with fogs and mine. No prewiring was found in case anyone else is looking for this info. ty
     
To Top