1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Fortin remote start with alarm

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by FormidableFoe, Oct 10, 2018.

  1. Oct 10, 2018 at 12:38 PM
    #1
    FormidableFoe

    FormidableFoe [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Member:
    #268305
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tacome TRD OffRoad
    Camper, RTT
    Hey everyone,

    I recently purchased the Fortin All with THAR-Toy6 harness along with the flash loader. I circled in green the connectors I connected and the wire I taped into, I also crossed out the things I omitted in magenta and labeled them. The car starts with the push-to-start button just fine, but I am unable to use the remote start functionality. While under the dash I did notice another box that has tapped into multiple wires on the white harness. Since I bought this truck used I am unsure what that box is, I can only assume it is an add on to the stock alarm system?

    After I had loaded the Fortin with the software from the flash loader and programming the loader to my car the Fortin box flashes blue every time I press the lock button.

    My question is, how can I make the Fortin remote start work?

    I can take some pictures of the mystery box after I get home.

    Link to the full install PDF: http://fortin.ca/download/70601/evo-all_ig_tsa_bi_toy6-tacoma_2016_pts_a_70601.pdf


    upload_2018-10-10_12-33-37.jpg
     
  2. Oct 10, 2018 at 12:46 PM
    #2
    Comb

    Comb Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Member:
    #200814
    Messages:
    1,839
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 4x4 DCSB 6MT BBP ABCDEFG
    OVTune Verified Purchase
    @Pickupman2007 has some experience with the Fortin Evo. Maybe he can help?
     
  3. Oct 10, 2018 at 5:04 PM
    #3
    Pickupman2007

    Pickupman2007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Member:
    #182547
    Messages:
    587
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kenneth
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Vehicle:
    2020 DCSB TRDOR V6 6MT 4x4 (OVTuned)
    Morimoto xB LED Headlights & fogs, MESO Total Tail S1, Fortin Evo One Remote Start, OEM Audio Plus System 500Q,, Redarc trailer brake controller, Carplay2Air wireless adapter, Custom shift knob, Electric tailgate lock, Chrome tailgate inserts, Limited fog light bezels, 2018 TRDOR Grill, Chrome door handle covers
    That's quite I bit different than my M/T Evo One setup, closer to the Evo All I installed in my dad's Colorado, but both have keys not PTS. Connections look good from what I can see. I'm curious about this mystery box, if it's some kind of alarm setup perhaps it has a starter disable? Also I believe the blue light blinking with the lock button means the Fortin Evo All is receiving the lock signal, which is good. Are your lights flashing when you try to remote start (indicating an error) or does nothing happen? Is it possible to unplug the mystery box to see if it's interfering?
     
  4. Oct 10, 2018 at 8:25 PM
    #4
    daveometrod

    daveometrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2018
    Member:
    #266025
    Messages:
    177
    Vehicle:
    18 TRD OR 4x4 DCSB Blazing Blue
    I used that harness and the evo-all. You didn't state it so I will ask, did you program the evo-all once it once in your Taco? That's in addition to what the flash link updater does. Actually I see now that you did state that. Assume you tried to reprogram it to the Taco.

    There are a lot of wires that aren't terminated. Perhaps that is an issue. I ended removing all of the unused connectors and cutting back the unused wires. Those then got shrink tubing over the ends.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2018
  5. Oct 11, 2018 at 6:44 AM
    #5
    FormidableFoe

    FormidableFoe [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Member:
    #268305
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tacome TRD OffRoad
    Camper, RTT
    Yes I did program it to the Taco, I tried multiple different configurations just in case I was programming it incorrectly. I am planning on removing the excess wires but wanted to make sure it worked before I started removing.


    The box blinks blue with every hit of the lock from the remote, but does nothing besides for those blinks. I will try and unplug the box this weekend to see if it is inhibiting the Evo-All, I was hesitant to do this from the beginning because i was unsure what the box was. I'm pretty sure it is an alarm, when I unplugged the white connector one of the mechanical splices came apart without me noticing and my truck started screaming at me that the Hood was open. I had to go in and properly solder the connection.
     
  6. Oct 11, 2018 at 9:40 AM
    #6
    ParadizeCityz

    ParadizeCityz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Member:
    #240375
    Messages:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    Richmond, TX
    Vehicle:
    2019 Toyota Tundra
    I think for Auto, you have to cut one of the wire loops on the box...it's been awhile since I did mine


    *Edit*
    Oh oops, yours might look a little different then mine.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Oct 11, 2018 at 10:20 AM
    #7
    FormidableFoe

    FormidableFoe [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Member:
    #268305
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tacome TRD OffRoad
    Camper, RTT
    How do I see the Image you posted? I've been seeing this a lot on this form but don't know whats causing it.

    upload_2018-10-11_10-20-9.jpg
     
  8. Oct 11, 2018 at 10:21 AM
    #8
    ParadizeCityz

    ParadizeCityz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    Member:
    #240375
    Messages:
    197
    Gender:
    Male
    Richmond, TX
    Vehicle:
    2019 Toyota Tundra

    275E65A2-A7CB-4DE4-A330-38E703148217.jpg
     
  9. Oct 11, 2018 at 10:24 AM
    #9
    FormidableFoe

    FormidableFoe [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Member:
    #268305
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tacome TRD OffRoad
    Camper, RTT
  10. Oct 12, 2018 at 7:54 AM
    #10
    FormidableFoe

    FormidableFoe [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Member:
    #268305
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tacome TRD OffRoad
    Camper, RTT
    I unplugged the mystery box and tried starting the car normally with the push button, it would not turn over. There were no labels or logos on the box, so my only guess is that it is a start inhibitor. Every few seconds, I could hear a relay inside of the box clicking while I was messing around with it, but would stop clicking once I stopped touching things. It must have a motion detection of some sort, plus I know it watches for if the hood is open. Not sure what other things it might be watching for.
     
  11. Oct 12, 2018 at 8:01 AM
    #11
    Taco_17

    Taco_17 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Member:
    #228615
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 DCSB MGM
    I believe you're possibly in Valet mode. Mine did that when I had it in valet mode (could here the clicking, but no joy on the remote start). I don't remember the procedure for taking it out of valet mode but I found it just by searching on google.
     
  12. Oct 12, 2018 at 8:01 AM
    #12
    Comb

    Comb Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Member:
    #200814
    Messages:
    1,839
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD Sport 4x4 DCSB 6MT BBP ABCDEFG
    OVTune Verified Purchase
    It's watching everything you do.
     
    daveometrod likes this.
  13. Oct 12, 2018 at 8:04 AM
    #13
    daveometrod

    daveometrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2018
    Member:
    #266025
    Messages:
    177
    Vehicle:
    18 TRD OR 4x4 DCSB Blazing Blue
  14. Oct 12, 2018 at 8:06 AM
    #14
    daveometrod

    daveometrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2018
    Member:
    #266025
    Messages:
    177
    Vehicle:
    18 TRD OR 4x4 DCSB Blazing Blue
    Check around under the dash for any kind of smaller switch. Could be tucked up under something.
     
  15. Oct 12, 2018 at 8:12 AM
    #15
    Taco_17

    Taco_17 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Member:
    #228615
    Messages:
    35
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 DCSB MGM
    Mine came with the switch assembly that plugs into the box. It's just a momentary contact switch. I think you have to turn the key on, tap the button 3-5 times, then turn it off and you're no longer in valet mode. I found the instructions from the fortin forum.

    To enter valet mode you turn the ignition on and press the valet switch 3 times. same thing to exit valet mode.

    Be sure you are using the valet switch and not the programming button. (THIS IS IMPORTANT, programming switch will not do it, it has to be the valet switch)

    This is for a Evo-One.
    [​IMG] answered Mar 16, 2016 by Derek (119,740 points)
     
  16. Oct 24, 2019 at 10:24 PM
    #16
    BigRedWagon

    BigRedWagon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    Member:
    #287434
    Messages:
    12
    First Name:
    Colin
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma
    I have a similar problem. 07 Tacoma EVO-one installed following the instructions provided by Fortin. then they told me I needed an RF kit so I bought that as well and now when I try to program the RF kits antena and remote nothing happens. I called customer service and they were useless. any ideas or troubleshooting tips.

    I do not have a valet switch installed and I never installed th hood bin is that part of my problem?
     
  17. Oct 25, 2019 at 8:23 AM
    #17
    FormidableFoe

    FormidableFoe [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2018
    Member:
    #268305
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    San Diego
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tacome TRD OffRoad
    Camper, RTT
    I actually just got this working 3 weeks ago, I did not install a hood pin or an RF kit. I disconnected the wire going to my ignition switch also. I believe what I was doing wrong was the setup on the computer. The latest update from Fortin added more options, i just clicked the default option and it worked!
     

Products Discussed in

To Top