1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

gauge cluster removal?

Discussion in '3rd Gen. Tacomas (2016+)' started by ctammann, May 6, 2016.

  1. May 6, 2016 at 4:33 PM
    #1
    ctammann

    ctammann [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Member:
    #180277
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Wake Forest, NC
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD 4x4 OR DC SB Inferno
    Hey guys,

    I bought a hypertech speedo dongle to fix my odometer and speedometer after going with bigger tires. Hypertech doesn't have the install instructions posted yet for the 3rd gen. I'm not eager to guess on how to remove the cluster to install the dongle.

    has anyone removed the cluster and/or seen pictures or instructions on how to do it? I've asked Hypertech and was told they hope to have something to post next week but I'm not holding my breath.
    Thanks
    Chris
     
  2. May 8, 2016 at 3:50 PM
    #2
    ctammann

    ctammann [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Member:
    #180277
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Wake Forest, NC
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD 4x4 OR DC SB Inferno
    Nobody? That surprises me since it seems like the majority of members are running larger tires. Is the consensus that you just don't care if your speedo and odometer are off? I paid about $220 for my hypertech, you could argue the 3% correction isn't worth it, but at 100k that's 3k miles so if you are in it for the long haul it might be.
     
  3. May 8, 2016 at 3:57 PM
    #3
    aggie77

    aggie77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #167980
    Messages:
    418
    Gender:
    Male
    Georgetown, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tacoma Ltd 4x4
    Lund Nerf Bars Auto tailgate unlock
    Try these:
     

    Attached Files:

    ctammann [OP] likes this.
  4. May 8, 2016 at 4:08 PM
    #4
    ctammann

    ctammann [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Member:
    #180277
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Wake Forest, NC
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD 4x4 OR DC SB Inferno
    Thanks! It looks like the two trim pieces just pop out. I've seen a video of the piece surrounding the stereo being popped out.
     
  5. May 8, 2016 at 5:12 PM
    #5
    ctammann

    ctammann [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Member:
    #180277
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Wake Forest, NC
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD 4x4 OR DC SB Inferno
    You are the man! Those diagrams were exactly what I needed. For everyone else, yes you just pop out the center piece then pop out the gauge surround piece. Cluster held in with 4 screws. Super easy to program the dongle and plug in the cable harness for the Hypertech 730123
     
  6. Jun 12, 2016 at 10:28 PM
    #6
    kenrickv

    kenrickv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Member:
    #185190
    Messages:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    TN
    Vehicle:
    2016 Inferno DCSB OR
    Too many to list
    I am looking at the hpertech to correct for larger tires. How is it holding up? Any issues? Also were you able to install so that you do not have to remove the hypertech to update it for different tire sizes in the future?
     
  7. Jun 13, 2016 at 2:44 AM
    #7
    mthopton

    mthopton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Member:
    #178440
    Messages:
    351
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    '16 TRD DCSB 4x4
    Does the hypertech correct for calculated mpg displayed by the truck's computer?
     
  8. Jun 13, 2016 at 4:40 AM
    #8
    splitbolt

    splitbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Member:
    #32761
    Messages:
    5,890
    Gender:
    Male
    NW Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD OFFROAD DCSB MGM
    Toyota speedos come from the factory 'off'; bigger tires tends to correct it.
    Have you manually and independently checked yours?
    Besides that, Toyota changed some things around with CAN and LAN for 2016. May or may not work
     
  9. Jun 13, 2016 at 11:18 AM
    #9
    ctammann

    ctammann [OP] Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Member:
    #180277
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Wake Forest, NC
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD 4x4 OR DC SB Inferno
    Hypertech module working perfectly. I used a cell phone GPS speedo to check before and after install. It's not a huge amount, but it did correct things for me. It obviously is a larger difference at higher speeds, I also didn't want my odometer off by 3% over the long haul. After install the gps speedo app seemed to match my cluster speedo at 65mph, before the install it did not (GPS said 68-69mph)

    It was very easy to install. Pop out the console pieces, remove 4 screws holding in the gauges and the wire harness is right there. I just left mine hanging behind the cluster. There is enough room for it to fit, but not so much that it bangs around. I can't get to it without removing the cluster, but like I said it's easy to do. If I change tire sizes again it would be very easy to remove the dongle, reprogram it with a new size and plug it back in. Not the most "rewarding" purchase, but now my instruments are correct and I can modify them at any time in the future for other wheel/tire changes.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top