1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

gauge problems

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by blkcoma32, Mar 24, 2009.

  1. Mar 24, 2009 at 9:46 AM
    #1
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    :confused:My 98 SR5's speedo, tach,odometer, and cruise cut in and out, i think it is bump related but it has done it without hitting a bump. I can sometimes smack the top of the dash and get them to turn back on but a mile down the road they quit again. They just started cutting out every now and then about a month ago and now they very rarely work, except for when i hit the dash. It sounds like a loose wire but i really don't have any idea where to start looking. Has anyone else had this happen or have any suggestions? Thanks
     
  2. Mar 24, 2009 at 7:06 PM
    #2
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    anyone?
     
  3. Mar 24, 2009 at 7:13 PM
    #3
    Toy4Life

    Toy4Life 668: The Neighbor of the Beast

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Member:
    #2566
    Messages:
    4,974
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chad
    Slippery Rock, PA
    Vehicle:
    96 Subaru Outback 2.2 5mt
    92 4Runner SR5 3.0v6 4x4(sold) 02 Tacoma SR5 TRD Offroad 4x4 (sold)
    I have nothing to add, but it sounds like a loose wire to me as well.
     
  4. Mar 24, 2009 at 7:21 PM
    #4
    dually

    dually Low and slow

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8205
    Messages:
    3,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Interstate underpass
    Vehicle:
    05 Indigo 4wd Longbed
    Not as many as the 98..
    Check your grounds.
     
  5. Mar 24, 2009 at 7:22 PM
    #5
    EnolaGaia

    EnolaGaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #9
    Messages:
    1,136
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest USA
    Vehicle:
    '01 & '04 S-Runners
    01 SR: Double Cab conversion, S/C, lowered.
    Do the temperature and / or fuel gauges 'drop out', too?

    A short or wiring fault that causes interruption of power from the 15A Dome fuse (engine bay fuse box) or 10A Gauge fuse (lower left dash fuse box) might explain it, as would an occasional interruption in a ground line.

    The power line from the 15A Dome fuse, along with a number of ECU connections, hook to the cluster unit via a common connector or junction somewhere, and a short / fault in that vicinity might also explain it.

    A bad vehicle speed sensor (or wiring from it to the cluster) might also explain it.
     
  6. Mar 24, 2009 at 8:04 PM
    #6
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    The temperature and fuel gauge do not cut out. check engine light just came on and it came up as the speed sensor code, does each wheel have a speed sensor? if so how do u tell which one is bad or has a bad wire?
     
  7. Mar 25, 2009 at 8:47 AM
    #7
    EnolaGaia

    EnolaGaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #9
    Messages:
    1,136
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest USA
    Vehicle:
    '01 & '04 S-Runners
    01 SR: Double Cab conversion, S/C, lowered.
    Which speed sensor code was it? P0500? P1700? ....
     
  8. Mar 25, 2009 at 11:14 AM
    #8
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    not sure but i will look again
     
  9. Mar 25, 2009 at 1:21 PM
    #9
    dually

    dually Low and slow

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8205
    Messages:
    3,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Interstate underpass
    Vehicle:
    05 Indigo 4wd Longbed
    Not as many as the 98..
    pretty sure the speed sensor is on the transmission.
     
  10. Mar 27, 2009 at 6:43 AM
    #10
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    It is code P0500 and autozone told me that there is a sensor on the tranny which is 90 bucks and one on the wheels that is 180 bucks, im hoping it is a loose wire!
     
  11. Mar 27, 2009 at 10:14 AM
    #11
    EnolaGaia

    EnolaGaia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Member:
    #9
    Messages:
    1,136
    Gender:
    Male
    Midwest USA
    Vehicle:
    '01 & '04 S-Runners
    01 SR: Double Cab conversion, S/C, lowered.
    I hate to break the news to you, but ....

    Code P0500 relates to the ABS (wheel) sensor and not the tranny-mounted vehicle speed sensor. P0500 is triggered when the ECM fails to receive speed sensor readings. Possible causes include:

    - short or other wiring fault in the speed signal circuit
    - something wrong in the cluster
    - the ECM itself
    - short or other wiring fault in the ABS speed sensor circuit itself
    - the ABS ECU
     
  12. Mar 28, 2009 at 12:32 PM
    #12
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    i don't think i have abs? there is no wire on/around any of the wheels, is that possible or do they all have abs? what is the ECM?
     
  13. Mar 28, 2009 at 1:33 PM
    #13
    dually

    dually Low and slow

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Member:
    #8205
    Messages:
    3,127
    Gender:
    Male
    Interstate underpass
    Vehicle:
    05 Indigo 4wd Longbed
    Not as many as the 98..
    ECM=ECU.. You probably dont have ABS
     
  14. Mar 30, 2009 at 7:18 PM
    #14
    blkcoma32

    blkcoma32 [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Member:
    #13359
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    98' 4x4 on tirty trees
    3 inch coilover and add-a leaf lift
    so why is my truck throwimg the abs sensor code when i dont have ABS?!?
     
To Top