1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Got dent fixed on tailgate, business owner used 1500 grit wet set after swirl marks on tailgate

Discussion in 'Detailing' started by drade, Aug 30, 2016.

1. Aug 30, 2016 at 4:08 PM
    drade

drade [OP] BRUINS 4 LIFE

Member:
    ME
    Vehicle:
    2016 Toyota Tacoma TRD Off Road Short Cab Silver
    TRD PRO skid plate, wet kole seat covers, tint all around, red line tuning quick Lift system, paint protection film, gloss blacked out OEM emblems, electric start, heated seats.
    Hello all. I just paid someone to remove a dent on my tailgate. I am no expert with vehicles. He got the dent out. He then wet sanded the area with 1500 grit and then used what I believe a buffer tool.

Guy has been in the business for 20 years. There are swirl marks under a bright light that are noticeable.

Hard to tell without much light. Did he damage the paint, is this a normal process post dent removal?

Last edited: Aug 30, 2016
  2. Aug 30, 2016 at 4:19 PM
    NMTrailRider

NMTrailRider Well-Known Member

Member:
    New Mexico
    You may want to find someone with a paint thickness gauge (professional detailer). They could tell you how much clear was removed (rather, how much is left). Then you'll know If you can safely hit it with a DA polisher to clean it up (without burning through the clear).

My guess is the "repairman" may have used a rotary polisher. Or if he was using a DA, he just didn't get to 100% correction after sanding (maybe he was afraid to after sanding?).