1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

got my new double din gps in today BUT!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by RDAY, Sep 14, 2009.

  1. Sep 14, 2009 at 1:30 PM
    #1
    RDAY

    RDAY [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11700
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    NY
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma SR5 4x4
    So I got the scosche kit and a double din its suppose to be 7" but when I put it in the scosche dash kit I have about 1/2" of play with out the black slider cover and when I put the black slider cover on it wont fit up and down but still have a bunch of room side to side?
    what should i do?
     
  2. Sep 14, 2009 at 1:46 PM
    #2
    rutherk1

    rutherk1 ElPhantasmo&TheChickenRunBlastarama

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Member:
    #4966
    Messages:
    814
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    09 Silver TRD 4door
    Are you using the existing metal bracket that was on your Toyota radio? The scosche unit has to be mounted to the radio itself. It does not utilize the metal factory piece. The entire plastic piece bolts to where the toyota unit bolts.

    I've used the scosche unit and the metra unit and have found that the scosche fit isn't ideal even when installed properly.

    Do you have pics of what you are looking at?
     
  3. Sep 14, 2009 at 1:51 PM
    #3
    RDAY

    RDAY [OP] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Member:
    #11700
    Messages:
    712
    Gender:
    Male
    NY
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma SR5 4x4
    oic ya i will try to post some pics 2nite
     
  4. Sep 17, 2009 at 9:24 PM
    #4
    nighthawk87

    nighthawk87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Member:
    #8434
    Messages:
    1,023
    I have the same probelm with a metra kit. It uses the stock metal brackets and the radio mounts in first, then I installed the cover. Right now I have ugly gaps on both sides, ones bigger than the other.

    Won't fit with the black trim piece....kinda crappy. Its been a while so can't return but I'm thinking about just buying a schoshe kit...
     
To Top