1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

GPS power wire routing?

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by swervin22, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. Sep 12, 2008 at 6:14 AM
    #1
    swervin22

    swervin22 [OP] "Obviously, You're not a Golfer..."

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Member:
    #7838
    Messages:
    355
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonas
    Chesapeake
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCLB Sport Barc. Red
    Camburg Spindles, 3in All-Pro Leaf pack, 5100's, Kenwood Stereo with super awesome Aux cable mod
    Just got a new garmin, and was wondering if anyone had run the cable up under the dash, so minimal amount of wire is showing? my current way is effective, but i keep grabbing the cord when im hunting for gears. any pics, suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thanks again.
     
  2. Sep 12, 2008 at 6:58 AM
    #2
    swervin22

    swervin22 [OP] "Obviously, You're not a Golfer..."

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Member:
    #7838
    Messages:
    355
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonas
    Chesapeake
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCLB Sport Barc. Red
    Camburg Spindles, 3in All-Pro Leaf pack, 5100's, Kenwood Stereo with super awesome Aux cable mod
    ive got it mounted directly above the radio. i do have an aftermarket radio, so im thinking to run it out the top of the radio. i was thinking about following the dash, but i dont believe the cable is long enough to go all the way around it. not sure though? thanks for the insight.
     
  3. Sep 12, 2008 at 11:09 AM
    #3
    JTDTacoma

    JTDTacoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Member:
    #4382
    Messages:
    282
    Vehicle:
    08 4X4 Double Cab TRD Sport
    just did this with my garmin and works well. Do a YouTube search for Tacoma iPod and you'll see how to easily access area in the dash by removing controls and radio area. Very simple too. The video is for an iPod install but same idea.
     
  4. Sep 12, 2008 at 12:04 PM
    #4
    swervin22

    swervin22 [OP] "Obviously, You're not a Golfer..."

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Member:
    #7838
    Messages:
    355
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jonas
    Chesapeake
    Vehicle:
    2010 DCLB Sport Barc. Red
    Camburg Spindles, 3in All-Pro Leaf pack, 5100's, Kenwood Stereo with super awesome Aux cable mod
    nice video, just wondering if there is enough room to feed the cable up behind the dash to plug it up to the gps? i guess there is only one way to find out. i'll let you know how it goes. prolly do it tomorrow before the football starts. i'll post pics if it doesnt look too stupid!! thanks
     
  5. Sep 12, 2008 at 12:11 PM
    #5
    Mingy

    Mingy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Member:
    #6164
    Messages:
    103
    Milton, Ontario
    Vehicle:
    V6 uble Cab TRX/Towing
    Lear cap.
    Is basically a straight through connection - there is no voltage regulator, etc., in the 'lighter' end. Its a strait through metallic connection. I plan on removing the wire from that end to save space. Different models of adapters may vary, however.
     
To Top